Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frightened Rabbit - An emotionally-charged spacious soundtrack
"You find out that life is just a game of inches" said Al Pacino in a memorable speech in the film "Any Given Sunday". Scott Hutchinson the vocal and song writing driving force of Scotland's finest Frightened Rabbit would recognise the sentiment. The Frabbit's career has been a stately slow burn particularly in the UK. Their debut the "Midnight Organ Fight" remains one of...
Published 20 months ago by Red on Black

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rabbits transfer to the Big League
After two proper records on the indie Fat Possum label, Frightened Rabbit have transferred to Atlantic/Warner with a big-name producer in tow. It will instantly provoke cries of sell-out and unfortunately the record does not alleviate those fears. Bland and too measured are the words that a listening exercise throw up. The best song on this release is the last track 'The...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. K. de Jong


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frightened Rabbit - An emotionally-charged spacious soundtrack, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"You find out that life is just a game of inches" said Al Pacino in a memorable speech in the film "Any Given Sunday". Scott Hutchinson the vocal and song writing driving force of Scotland's finest Frightened Rabbit would recognise the sentiment. The Frabbit's career has been a stately slow burn particularly in the UK. Their debut the "Midnight Organ Fight" remains one of the most precious break up albums ever, but its predecessor 2010's "The Winter of Mixed Drinks" didn't really stamp its full authority, languished in the play offs and the band still await promotion to the premier division.

"Pedestrian Verse" is their fourth album and as the "fingers crossed review" in the Independent smartly puts it "here's hoping they can also Elbow their way into the mainstream" (Boom boom!). The chances of this are very good as "Pedestrian Verse" is an album which shows that Hutchinson's ability to combine soaring passion with often bleak musical lyricism and mix it into powerhouse songs has increased exponentially. Just listen to the brilliant lead single "The Woodpile" a mix of massive swirling guitars and a chorus so huge it obscures the sun, as Hutchinson pleads "Will you come back to my corner?/Spent too long alone tonight/Would you come and Brighten my corner/A Lit torch to the woodpile eye". Do yourself a favour also check out the "supermarket incident" video that goes with this. The album's opener "Acts of man" again is a big anthem but underpinned by almost Roger Waters like cynicism. Thus the observation that "I see the stumbling pinstriped trouser/Flecks of sick on and off his shoe/Part out the fatty British average/Who lives in the houses around you" is actually one of the kinder lines. These are songs for Broken Britain not least "State Hospital". It starts slowly with a simple set of chords, big drums pounding in the background and Scott Hutchison's uniquely brilliant Selkirk infused voice full of equal parts heart and muscular ache. It is song of poverty, domestic abuse and set around the birth of a probably unwanted baby. As Hutchinson passionately sings the chorus "Her heart beats like a breeze block thrown down the stairs/Her blood is thicker than concrete forced to be brave she was, born into a grave" you smile broadly knowing that they are back to their very best.

"Pedestrian Verse" is a muscular album full of songs that grab you in an instance and in a vice like grip refuse to let go. Clearly spreading the responsibility of the songwriting duites across the band has assisted this proving that a dose of democracy yields benefits. The surging "Late March, Death March" is a real standout, so to the surging "Backyard Skulls", while the short and punchy separated songs of "Housing (In)' and "Housing (out)" works well. In "December Traditions" shows that the bands sojourn recording the album in the wonders of the Welsh countryside has somehow tightened them and achieved a level of focus which has sometimes been absent. It sweeps along with a great lyric and ends with the full gamut of the bands voices. For those Frabbits fans that like the bands more distinctively Scottish side the deluxe edition is a must with three extra songs. The gentle acoustics of the stunning "If you were me" harks back to the Midnight Organ Fight and is a song of shattering heartbreak; "Snow still melting" is a pounding rock song with a great melody and finally "Escape Route" ends the album with a bang; an intoxicating mix of acoustics and high drama. On the evidence of "Pedestrian Verse" Frightened Rabbit deserve to be garlanded with praise for this feisty and always emotionally-charged set of songs. It shows a band reaching their peak and like the Scottish Munro's they touch altitudes that many of their counterparts will never summit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On fire, 8 April 2013
By 
S. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant album, although took a couple of listens to fully ignite. In my mind, possibly the strongest album just after Midnight Organ Fight. It's been a lot of fun watching this band grow since I first saw them in '05. Glad to see that they're continually growing in popularity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Frightened Rabbit album to date?, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's hard to put my finger on exactly why but this is quite possibly Frightened Rabbit's finest release to date. Lyrically, they've moved up a level from 'The Winter of Mixed Drinks'. In fact there's lyrical gems to be found in every song. Gems on a par with, quite possibly the best band around at the minute, The National.

'So if we can't bring an exorcist/I'll settle for one of your stiffest drinks' from 'Dead now' is typical of Scott Hutchison's dark sense of humour. It's not all bleak though and despite the fact that it doesn't retain the reborn again optimism of 'The Winter of Mixed Drinks', there's an optimistic streak running throughout 'Pedestrian Verse'.

When the Talking Head's inspired 'Dead Now' reaches it's climax, the chorus of 'There's something wrong with me' doesn't sound self-pitying but something triumphant along the lines of The National's 'Abel'

Sonically too, they're stretching themselves further and they've found a wonderful collaborator and producer in Leo Abrahams, a frequent partner of Brian Eno these days. He adds a spritely sense of urgency to some of the songs whilst lending deft sonic touches to some of the mid tempo songs recalling some of Brian Eno's best production work.

Rather inevitably, people who are fans of FR will ask if this is better than 'The Midnight Organ Fight'. I can't answer that at this point as 'TMOF' means an awful lot to a lot of people, including me. I think it just might be though.

One thing is for sure, Frightened Rabbit are in a league of their own and I'd be hard pressed to compare them to any other band out there at the minute. They're able to create anthemic songs without sacrificing integrity or sincerity - A lot like The National to be honest and certainly Scott Hutchison gives Matt Berninger a run for his money in the lyrics department. Sonically and tonally, there's not a lot of comparison. Hutchison's 'voice like a gutter in a toxic storm' certainly sets the two bands apart.

'There is light but there’s a tunnel to crawl through
There is love but its misery loves you
There’s still hope so I think we’ll be fine
In these disastrous times
Disastrous times'

Frightened Rabbit have moved up to a bigger label and thank God, they've not lost their bite. They're still biting and tearing away at life without losing that wonderful sense of realism,humility and hope that makes them totally unique. I love this band and I love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer class!, 6 Mar 2013
Tremendous album full of fRabbits excellent songwriting & emotion. Buy it & buy all their previous material as it all contains some of the finest music you'll ever listen too! Travesty they arent getting recognition they deserve here in uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: Pedestrian Verse (Audio CD)
I am big fan of Frightened Rabbit and, like many, was disappointed by Winter of Mixed Drinks. However, I am very glad to say that, after a lot of listening, this is a different beast entirely. I cold go into detail but won't as you should just buy this and enjoy figuring out why it is so good yourself. Yes, it maybe isn't as wonderful as Midnight Organ Fight but that was a 6/5 album which surely ranks as one of the best albums I've heard in the last ten years so we need to judge this on its own merits. In that respect, this album is a solid 5/5 and will no doubt be among my favourite albums of this year, last year and possibly next. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant record from Frightened Rabbit, 17 July 2014
This is a great record from Frightened Rabbit. While some say it doesn't quite meet the standards of The Midnight Organ Fight, whether that's true or not does not detract from how well written and performed the songs on this album are. From the catchy, upbeat "Late March, Death March" to the more chilling "Nitrous Gas", this album is worth the price, and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pedestrian Verse [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Excellent album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent album..........., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite up to the brilliance of their last couple of studio albums in my opinion but in Holy I think they have written their best song to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it is the correct thing to say, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seen a review and thought that I would like it, better than I anticipated. definitely recommend this music to aeveryone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Frabbits, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Midnight Organ Fight is still my all time favourite album ever, but Pedestrian Verse comes close. Very close. If you're a fan of beardy Scottish folk bands, you'll love Frabbits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pedestrian Verse [Explicit]
Pedestrian Verse [Explicit] by Frightened Rabbit
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews