Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!
This is a wonderful looking Blu-Ray, I just bought a new Samsung 8000 55" TV and wanted something "BIG" to watch on it, I tried Avatar/Pixar etc and they all looked great, this was just as good. I'm a big fan of world cinema so it's great to see something as good as Warriors of the Steppe getting released over here, a typical story of the big bad guy against the little...
Published 14 months ago by Johnny Marr's plectrum

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It`s ok!
Not bad for a Kazakhstany film.....never seen one before and probably won`t again! Worth a £fiver and a night in but don`t expect much and you won`t be disappointed.
Published 8 months ago by Etonie E


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Warriors of the Steppe - Myn Bala [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a wonderful looking Blu-Ray, I just bought a new Samsung 8000 55" TV and wanted something "BIG" to watch on it, I tried Avatar/Pixar etc and they all looked great, this was just as good. I'm a big fan of world cinema so it's great to see something as good as Warriors of the Steppe getting released over here, a typical story of the big bad guy against the little good guy but with this you have the air of authenticity.

You can see that the film makers really cared about this film and the fact that it was put forward for the Oscars is not a surprise, it doesn't hang around for 4 hours like some other films of this style, it does a great job in the right time!

Well worth trying if you like the Mongol epic dramas that have been around in the last few years, this is as good as any of those
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warriors Come Out & Play!!, 30 July 2013
By 
B. SUGGS "80's rock maniac" (milpitas,CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome movie,Amazing Scenery Great plot, Lots Of action!! Remarkable part of History.Directing and extremely well produced.2 thumbs up..Highly recomended.If Love history You have to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 29 April 2013
I was lucky enough to get a preview copy of this.
I was quite excited as it carry's a large production value and have to say I was not disappointed at all. The sleeve states "Lavish Battle Scenes" well they sure are!
Good plot, excellent acting. What more do we want?
Will defiantly be ordering a finished copy for my ever expanding film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING!!!, 26 April 2013
By 
BA (South East) - See all my reviews
I was lucky enough to see a screening of this in London recently, as it's not out on DVD for a couple of weeks yet.
Wow !! the cinematography is phenomenal, you believe you're watching a $100M + production, it's that good. It also looked to have a cast of thousands (reminiscent of the old classic Swords & sandal films).
the film is the story of how one man's stand for what he believes in, can change an entire nation.
The battle scenes are epic & excellently shot & the acting is as good as anything you'll see form the best Hollywood has to offer
This was nominated for an Academy Award at this years Oscars & it's a real shame it didn't win it, if nothing else to raise the films profile, so more people will see it. An absolutely stunning film. A Must Watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something differant, really atmospheric, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Tim (far far away) - See all my reviews
This is brilliant - a film untainted by Hollywood CGI, no big name actors hamming it up (OK, in Kazakhstan they are prob famous) the scenery is breath-taking and the acting very good and wow the costumes.

Perhaps the plot is bit Saturday afternoon western (bad guys wear black hats etc) but overall a great film if you are jaded with the usual formulaic pap flooding the cinema and want to see something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It`s ok!, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warriors of the Steppe - Myn Bala [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not bad for a Kazakhstany film.....never seen one before and probably won`t again! Worth a £fiver and a night in but don`t expect much and you won`t be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable!, 14 May 2013
By 
David Dares (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
I really enjoyed this film, the action is brillant and the cinematography and landscapes are amazing. Definately worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technically excellent and most enjoyable, 19 July 2013
By 
John Chandler (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warriors of the Steppe - Myn Bala [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Technically excellent I very much enjoyed this epic in a part of the world most of us know little about. Its only flaw is the Kim Il Sung like dedication in the credits to the tyrant who rules this far flung kingdom! The scenery is breathtaking and the acting surprisingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clearly a propaganda film, 7 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The baddies are heatless killers the goodies are selfless hero's like all propaganda films of this genre .

The battle scenes are realistic if you can believe the baddies arches can't hit a barn door with a banjo.

A very predictable plot with predictable characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warriors of the Steppe - Myn Bala [Blu-ray]
Warriors of the Steppe - Myn Bala [Blu-ray] by Akan Satayev (Blu-ray - 2013)
£14.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews