Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
23
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2015
A very good movie not really my cup of tea, but well done. This movie deals with the brutality of war, making this a brutal movie. This includes village massacres and children murdered. I do like that fact that there is a lack of gore in the movie it is usually one strike or an arrow to the kill.

Sarti see his village and parents killed he manages to save one child and a girl. Now seven year later he is leading a small Kazakh raiding party against the Mongols. Killing Mongol soldiers, stealing horses and freeing slaves he has become a legend to his people, (but the jealousy might turn one of his best friends against him), and an annoyance the Mongol leader, that is till it becomes personal. Now with the Kazakh people banding together to make a military should he become another soldier in the army or continuing leading his small bad as he sees fit. The fight and action scenes are great (if sometime very brutal), and a great story of the human spirit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This is a wonderful looking Blu-Ray, I just bought a new Samsung 8000 55" TV and wanted something "BIG" to watch on it, I tried Avatar/Pixar etc and they all looked great, this was just as good. I'm a big fan of world cinema so it's great to see something as good as Warriors of the Steppe getting released over here, a typical story of the big bad guy against the little good guy but with this you have the air of authenticity.

You can see that the film makers really cared about this film and the fact that it was put forward for the Oscars is not a surprise, it doesn't hang around for 4 hours like some other films of this style, it does a great job in the right time!

Well worth trying if you like the Mongol epic dramas that have been around in the last few years, this is as good as any of those
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I was lucky enough to get a preview copy of this.
I was quite excited as it carry's a large production value and have to say I was not disappointed at all. The sleeve states "Lavish Battle Scenes" well they sure are!
Good plot, excellent acting. What more do we want?
Will defiantly be ordering a finished copy for my ever expanding film collection.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Ravishing Kazak landscapes with magnificent horses roaring across the endless steepe flanked by snow capped mountains, oh and mountains of slain corpses.Those kazaks do like nation building epics . Very timely as yet another enemy masses on their boarders in 2015.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Forget Borat... This is a great Kazakh movie...
If not the greatest...

The acting is very natural, and the action is
great too...

If you are into these movies, this will not
disappoint...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Awesome movie,Amazing Scenery Great plot, Lots Of action!! Remarkable part of History.Directing and extremely well produced.2 thumbs up..Highly recomended.If Love history You have to see it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Technically excellent I very much enjoyed this epic in a part of the world most of us know little about. Its only flaw is the Kim Il Sung like dedication in the credits to the tyrant who rules this far flung kingdom! The scenery is breathtaking and the acting surprisingly good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
I was lucky enough to see a screening of this in London recently, as it's not out on DVD for a couple of weeks yet.
Wow !! the cinematography is phenomenal, you believe you're watching a $100M + production, it's that good. It also looked to have a cast of thousands (reminiscent of the old classic Swords & sandal films).
the film is the story of how one man's stand for what he believes in, can change an entire nation.
The battle scenes are epic & excellently shot & the acting is as good as anything you'll see form the best Hollywood has to offer
This was nominated for an Academy Award at this years Oscars & it's a real shame it didn't win it, if nothing else to raise the films profile, so more people will see it. An absolutely stunning film. A Must Watch!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
I don't usually enjoy films with sub titles, but that did nothing to detract from this wonderful film. Beautifully shot, fantastically acted, incredible emotions, and amazing history. Wonderful, wonderful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
The baddies are heatless killers the goodies are selfless hero's like all propaganda films of this genre .

The battle scenes are realistic if you can believe the baddies arches can't hit a barn door with a banjo.

A very predictable plot with predictable characters
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)