Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great forgotten film
Despite what the other reviewer said, this is a very good film and not at all dull. It shows a Britain long gone and has artistic flourishes which Hitchcock showed little of during most of his silent film career. There seems to be an knee jerk response amongst some people to compare many British film directors to Hitchock, not sure way as it is possible to assess and...
Published 23 months ago by ICB

versus
10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming
I've been looking forward to seeing this film for years. The idea of a silent film set on the Underground had me drooling with anticipation but I'm sad to report that it was a bit of a let down.
Asquith was no Hitchcock or Powell and this is hardly a classic. It's entertaining, well restored, with some interesting extras, at a reasonable price, and well worth seeing...
Published 23 months ago by R. Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots fo nice period underground train and station views., 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Well it's '20's with all the sentiments and conventions of the time. However we loved it for all the nice shots of the underground of the day and an insight into the management and conditions of people working there. I found it quite a nice film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film highly recomended, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
oustanding service from amazon uk,great film highly recomended.patrick fay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, lovingly restored with beautiful direction and great ..., 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Leslie Bravery (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Wonderful film, lovingly restored with beautiful direction and great acting. The nearest thing to time travel and very satisfying to a lifelong London public transport enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth restoring, 18 July 2013
By 
Wiliam G. Parker "Derek Parker" (Sydney, AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Extremely interesting; beautifully restored, crisp as a new apple. It is of course what it is, and there is the usual proble, if it is a problem, of extremely leisurely shots and cuts. But great to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get down there., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This will not give you The Underground as it is now.
What it does is take you out of yourself and your life, into a dream like state,when people used to say please thankyou,let women
go first and keep the baddies away so that the ladies wont know that there are such things as bad people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
R. Chapman (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I've been looking forward to seeing this film for years. The idea of a silent film set on the Underground had me drooling with anticipation but I'm sad to report that it was a bit of a let down.
Asquith was no Hitchcock or Powell and this is hardly a classic. It's entertaining, well restored, with some interesting extras, at a reasonable price, and well worth seeing but it is let down by a weak story and is no rediscovered masterpiece. Also, the title is somewhat misleading. While it is true that one of the main characters works on the underground and there are some interesting scenes set on the carriages, platforms and escalators, the other lead works in a Thamesside Power Station so it might equally be called The Power Station, except that is less exciting and makes it sound like a Soviet Film. My expectations were too high and my hopes were dashed.
Some might find three stars a bit mean but I try to resist hyperbole. If you hand out five stars like confetti, how can you possibly rate a film when something truely wonderful comes along?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As before, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Not that interesting, soon got bored watching, rather hoped it was going to be more to do with the underground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Underground (DVD + Blu-ray)
Underground (DVD + Blu-ray) by Anthony Asquith (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews