Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding
At around 7:30pm last Saturday evening my conscious world came to a standstill for about two hours when I had my first viewing of Joe Bonamassa An Acoustic Evening at the Vienna Opera House DVD. It is quite simply stunning. Masterpieces are traditionally found hung on the walls of Art Galleries but Bonamassa has created a visual and aural masterpiece within the perfect...
Published 15 months ago by N. H. Foster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fault on Bluray disc
Love the music, shame about the faulty tracks, on all the Blu-rays apparently. not good enough Joe! Disappointing as it was a present.
Published 4 months ago by lucille Hawke


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 29 Mar 2013
At around 7:30pm last Saturday evening my conscious world came to a standstill for about two hours when I had my first viewing of Joe Bonamassa An Acoustic Evening at the Vienna Opera House DVD. It is quite simply stunning. Masterpieces are traditionally found hung on the walls of Art Galleries but Bonamassa has created a visual and aural masterpiece within the perfect setting of the Vienna Opera House.

The world knows Bonamassa is one the greatest guitarists in modern music history but that reputation is built on him being plugged in and playing at full volume. This must have been a terrific gamble and challenge for him to deconstruct so many of his best known songs down to their basic parts and put them back together. Credit the man for taking such a risk at this stage in his career. The result is much more light and space for Bonamassa to fill with his vocal, much more mature and better than he is given credit for. The songs themselves are brought front and centre and more than prove themselves to be of genuine high quality. Massive credit is also due to long time producer, Kevin Shirley for drawing together the band, for the arrangements and the vision to help Joe make the project happen. And what a band, a truly eclectic mix of world class musicians drawn from different cultures and very different genres of music. There is fellow American Arlan Schierbaum on keys and a host of other instruments, Swedish folk player Mats Wester, awesome percussionist Lenny Castro and Ireland's Gerry Connor, as adept with a Fiddle and Banjo as JB is with a guitar

So to the songs, drawn from Bonamassa's back catalogue. I must admit to wondering how Joe's more muscular, rock hued numbers would translate to a totally acoustic natural arrangement and sound, the answer is overwhelmingly impressive on every level. Every song here is given a completely different lease of life and the void left by the electric guitar solos and mammoth riffs are filled with the great man's acoustic prowess or the brilliant interpretation and improvisations of his band members. Unbelievable to discover they had never met, let alone rehearsed until 72 hours before the show.

If you are a fan of JB then all of your favourites are here from Palm Trees, Helicopters and Gasoline to Stones in my Pathway, Athens to Athens, Dustbowl, Ball Peen Hammer etc. With a show and musical prowess as skilled as this it would be churlish to identify standouts, but I was entranced at the mid set segue of Ballad of John Henry, Dislocated Boy and Driving Towards the Daylight, totally totally captivating. And what can be said of the set closer and encore of the hauntingly beautiful Mountain Time, the epic that is Sloe Gin and the scaled down beauty of Seagull. All I can say and admit, is the hairs on the back of my neck were on end and there were tears of raw emotion in my eyes.

This DVD is not just a music show it is also part music history lesson as the instruments on show command attention in their own right, Bonamassa's hugely impressive array of twelve acoustic guitars, O'Connors Banjo and Fiddle through to Harmonium, Accordian and Glockenspiel, of all things, then we have Castro's massive array of cultural percussive instruments from Africa right through to South America. Just to top it all off, Wester dazzles on a Nyckelharpa, a Swedish folk instrument. When have you ever come across such an ecclectic collection of instruments led by a Blues Rock phenomenon? Never, I think is the answe

I cannot praise Bonamassa, Shirley and the band enough for this wonderful show that we can all now share. The best I can do is say a huge thanks to all involved.

Finally just buy this, dim the lights turn the sound up and prepare to truly amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dimension To Joe, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It takes a lot of courage to strip away your backing band, and perform your songs acoustically live in an intimate setting, with 4 musicians you have never performed with before. Joe always leads from the front Live, so it must be strange not to have Carmine, Rick & Tal backing him up. Everyone who has ever seen Joe Live, will know he does his own short acoustic session, while his band takes a break, but here is, surrounded by an array of acoustic guitars, performing his usual 'Powerhouse' songs on a more softer level, very well supported by Gerry O'Connor, Mats Wester, Arlan Schierbaum & Lenny Castro on a variety of instruments. It is a 21 song set, lasting approx 1hr 45mins, and is quite frankly - AWESOME. His singing & playing is it's usual brilliant standard, but it's the way he has shown us another 'string to his bow' that has left me stunned. The standout tracks for me are: Athens To Athens (which has a bit of an Irish Jig to it). Sloe Gin ( doubt if he has ever performed it better Live), & Driving Towards The Daylight (his singing, quite superb, & get's a standing ovation). Joe is absolutely Brilliant here, & I would LOVE to see do a Jackson Browne, and tour in this form. If you are a JB fan, you will have it already, if you're not - JUST GET IT, YOU SOON WILL BE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll try not to be boring...lol, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Marcus Lidell "attilathehungry" (West Cornwall, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acoustic Evening At The Vienna Opera House [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Right. Here goes. And I'm going to keep this brief because it's probably all been said before. Musical talent is everywhere. I'm a musician myself. But musical GENIUS doesn't turn up every day. If you're into the maestro already, but you don't have this one yet, do yourself a big favour and order it at once. And if you aren't already a fan, you're the only person left on the planet who isn't! lol Stripped down like this acoustically, Joe Bonamassa's extraordinary gifts become even more glaringly obvious. Not only is he a superb singer/songwriter, but he also has a handle on the blues that very few - if ANY - ever attain. And I have nothing more to add concerning his already widely recognised and acclaimed mastery of the guitar. Just award this DVD 17 stars and BUY IT. You'll kick yourself if you don't. There! I said I'd keep it brief...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acoustic Evening At The Vienna Opera House [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wow. I can't believe I have just discovered Joe Bonamassa. He is absolutely incredible. The sound quality is excellent. I am very pleased with this DVD. I will certainly be looking for more Joe Bonamassa DVD's. What a talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to beat!, 19 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I now have all his blu ray DVD's and I only discovered him about 2 months ago because a friend told me about him!
Would highly recommend this artist to anyone who likes great guitarists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Joe Bonammasa fans, 18 May 2013
By 
Mr. G. Wood "Gary Geddes" (tarves scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent sound and picture quality in an amazing venue.
Great musicians from across the globe fronted by Joe Bonamassa at his best.
Have watched this d.v.d. many times since purchased and still seems fresh on each viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe B, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is simply superb, nothing more to add really - its shows off the versatility of JB. The recording is excellent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redefining Excellence..., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just when you think Joe Bonamassa - from those who criticise him - has saturated and then alienated his market with a string of albums year on year, both on his own, with Beth Hart and as part of the super group Black Country Communion (and he hasn't alienated this fan as they are all of the highest quality in my opinion), he redefines the genre of Blues/Rock by producing an acoustic album of such astounding quality no amount of words can really do it justice. How he has deconstructed and then reconstructed each of the songs and used an eclectic mix of talented musicians from the four corners of the globe to create a musical masterpiece is truly inspired.

Good as this DVD/Blu-Ray is, nothing beats seeing the man live. His speed and dexterity of finger along the frets has to be seen and heard to be believed. Luckily for me, I have just seen him at The Royal Albert Hall, which was a rare treat indeed; a 35 minute acoustic set similar to the concert in Vienna and then a full on set with touring band and all other musicians from the 4-night stretch. If you do one thing in 2013, see JB live...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Beck ( who I have seen live on at numerous venues ) & will go down as one of the great guitar legends, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acoustic Evening At The Vienna Opera House [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
" Talent all the way " This man is on parr with the likes of Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck ( who I have seen live on at numerous venues ) & will go down as one of the great guitar legends, he gives his best shot to the audience, do not miss this man.! "The album has something for everyone" Dougy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Bonamassa, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acoustic Evening At The Vienna Opera House [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I love Joe Bonamassa. This is one of the best concert that I saw. A special acoustic evening, a special concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Acoustic Evening At The Vienna Opera House [DVD] [2013]
19.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews