Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music from the Olive Frontier
For this project Christina Pluhar and her group L'Arpeggiata explore music from the 'olive frontier', an area comprising a small part of France, Turkey and North Africa, as well as Jordan and Portugal (honorary members even though they have no actual Mediterranean coastline).

As with previous albums such as La Tarantella - Antidotum Tarantulae /Galeazzi ...
Published 16 months ago by JB

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No a patch on the earlier albums
This album was disappointing in comparison to all of the other Pluhar / L'Arpeggiata material, which I am literally ecstatic about. It could be the material, but the album lacks the depth and detail of the other albums.
Published 9 months ago by Si


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music from the Olive Frontier, 6 Mar 2013
By 
JB (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
For this project Christina Pluhar and her group L'Arpeggiata explore music from the 'olive frontier', an area comprising a small part of France, Turkey and North Africa, as well as Jordan and Portugal (honorary members even though they have no actual Mediterranean coastline).

As with previous albums such as La Tarantella - Antidotum Tarantulae /Galeazzi Beasley L'Arpeggiata Pluhar and All'Improvviso - Ciaccone, Bergamasche e un po' di Folie... /L'Arpeggiata Pluhar, the instrumentation is slanted towards the ancient, even though the material may not necessarily be so. On this recording we have instruments as diverse as the baroque theorbo (played by Pluhar herself), the harpsichord and psaltery, as well as more exotic examples such as the saz and qanun from Turkey and the lavta from Greece.

Rising above the pulsating haze of the plucked instruments, the vocalists - from Portugal, Greece and Turkey - sing of the joys and despair of the human spirit and of love's lost hopes and dreams. Often referencing the profound mysteriousness of the great sea itself, these frequently overclouded texts shouldn't imply that the album is a depressing listen; it isn't, and when the sun breaks through it's dazzling, any black thoughts swept away in a festival of colour and celebration.

The recording was made in the Salle Byzantine, an opulent private theatre built in the nineteenth century by the Parisian Countess de Béhague, a friend of Rodin, Proust, Valéry and Sarah Bernhardt. This extraordinary hall saw performances of operas and concerts by Fauré, Wagner and Bizet in its time, but was closed in 1939 and has lain largely forgotten until very recently. You can get an idea of its splendour in the DVD which comes as part of the package.

If you've enjoyed other recordings by this band, or the forays into Mediterranean and Middle-Eastern territories by Jordi Savall, then this is a guaranteed winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean Magic, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
I anticipated a good hour's listening when I ordered the CD, but this has knocked my socks off! Glorious vocals and superb musicianship throughout. Ms Pluhar has done it again in blending old and new together and L'Arpeggiata has another triumph under it's collective belt. The bonus DVD is a REAL bonus, too. Buy without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realmente muito bom!, 8 Mar 2013
By 
peter insley (earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
Since receiving this compact disc in the post I have listened to it every morning before going to work. So far I have enjoyed every listen and have not wanted to skip tracks or switch it off at all. I haven't got round to watching the DVD part of it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
Fantastic - beautiful music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
Very happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediterraneo by L'Arpeggiata, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
Another great recording by L'Arpeggiata. It bought some sorely missed sunshine into a very long winter! I can thoroughly recommend this recording to my friends and family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No a patch on the earlier albums, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
This album was disappointing in comparison to all of the other Pluhar / L'Arpeggiata material, which I am literally ecstatic about. It could be the material, but the album lacks the depth and detail of the other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars from me..., 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (MP3 Download)
This album is a joy, even if the subject matter of some of the songs is not... Sem Saber, for example, cannot be said to have the cheeriest of lyrics! But, like the album's namesake, the tide of music sweeps the listener along and the glorious vocals surge to wash away the cares of the world. Their best album since La Tarantella, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christine Pluhar deserves a medal, 5 April 2013
By 
Bruce Adams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
I'm giving this 4 stars because 5 stars is a matter of objective taste. Christine Pluhar has ploughed through scores and scores of scores and each time she come up with something quite unique and rarely not interesting. This CD has with it a DVD with quite a representative number of songs. Christine Pluhar, as is usual with many of her albums, has invited guest performers.The songs come are Portuguese, Greek, Neapolitan, Turkish, Catalonian and Mallorcan - to name just a few song types and there is a distinct flavour to this CD which Christine Pluhar has recorded before but not exactly like this. If you're interested then sample the tunes on the Internet first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting music very good recording, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterraneo (Audio CD)
I liked it because music is original and well performed
It is as appreciable as 'all'improvviso' and as 'los impossibles'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mediterraneo
Mediterraneo by Christina Pluhar
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews