Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Game - dont believe the negative reviews
I dont understand why the "official" reviews of this game were so poor. It almost makes me wonder if there is some conspiracy against CAPCOM? I had the original game on the X Box 360 and thought it was good and played about 30 hours on it. Then I heard about this version including the Bitterblack Isle. I bought this "enhanced" version on the PS3 and I have to say I am...
Published 9 months ago by Metalmonster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best. fills a bit of time
it starts out really good with quests galore. you get some companions and can hire many other companions along the way. you can also choose what class you are but can change classes along the way and try and max out all the stats. i was really enjoying it but it's a bit samey and there's nowhere to go to really. there's about two main places to go where they have shops...
Published 9 months ago by stingub40


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Game - dont believe the negative reviews, 28 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
I dont understand why the "official" reviews of this game were so poor. It almost makes me wonder if there is some conspiracy against CAPCOM? I had the original game on the X Box 360 and thought it was good and played about 30 hours on it. Then I heard about this version including the Bitterblack Isle. I bought this "enhanced" version on the PS3 and I have to say I am so glad that I did.

The original game was good but the Bitterblack Isle expansion makes this game truly epic and is definitely worth buying again. The weapons, armour and attributes you can unlock there are amazing!!!

I am a level 83 Sorcerer fighting my way through the Bitterblack Isle and I am absolutely hooked (I dread to think how many hours I have spent on this game)! The graphics are gorgeous and being able to clamber up enemies to chop away at their heads with a sword are really fun. Also you can take in game photos to share with your friends.

I was playing Skyrim but when this arrived it hasnt been out of my PS3 since.

I played D&D as a kid and I cannot recommend this game highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game - great price!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is quite a rare gem. In my opinion it's underrated and relatively undiscovered.

It comprises the whole of the base game as well as the expansion - with the expansion improving quite a lot on the base game (with caveats!). Running around with your own custom party (all under your control) is great fun, though sometimes also frustrating as the control of the other characters is a bit vague and nebulous.

The positives (for me):

- There are lots of items and item sets to collect.
- A fully hand-crafted world.
- Interesting enemies to fight with different strategies used to take them down.
- A pretty lengthy and branching story campaign where your choices (of missing something or acting in one way) can remove or add many quests to your experience.
- The ability to play through the game again with the same character and equipment (New Game+)
- Good replayability.
- Ability to use characters crafted by your friends or the community in your team and the same for yours.
- Deep character creation and skills/gameplay styles.
- The expansion island presents a really different art style and game play ideas and is also much harder so good content for higher level characters.
- Improved numbers of fast travel points.

The negatives (for me):

- Poor voice acting (It's quite comical but I don't really mind)
- Lack of clarity on what your choices do.
- Inability to easily have more than one save and thus character (you can copy your save files to an external device and start a new game and then switch between the two but it's not that great a workaround).
- The greatest bonus (the eternal ferrystone) is reserved for people who owned the original, base game.*

*This is a really good feature and was one of the reasons for me to buy the game+expansion after already owning the base game. It allows unlimited fast travel in the game between a couple of pre-set points as well as player set points. Unfortunately, to be able to get it you need a save file from the base game to be converted to the new game+expansion.

I don't know if there is a workaround whereby you copy someone else's save file and then make your own character (never tried this!) but I can't imagine the game without it. Especially at higher character levels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played the original I was a bit iffy on whether I wanted to get this. After purchasing it I was very happy to be thrust back into this world dragons and all and had a new area to explore. New players beware though the new area is not for the faint of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated RPG out there, 7 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
These days it's very difficult to take a chance when parting with you hard earned when it comes to Video Games. With so many titles to choose from it can be a bit of a minefield. I scoured the internet for reviews, ratings and impressions on the original Dragons Dogma when it was released in 2012 and from these reviews decided not to buy it. Now a year later I have decided to give the Dark Arisen version a chance and i am really glad that i did. This is a solid title that incorporates elements from games like Dark Souls, Skyrim and Shadow of the colossus to create a new and interesting addition to the western style of RPG's. The main thing that stands out is the value for money on offer here. The game itself is massive and you will easily spends 60+ hours in the main world of Gransys. There is even a new area to explore but i would only recommend exploring it after completing the main game as the enemies are very strong and you will be punished.

Now onto the individual elements

1. STORY AND WORLD 6/10 - As dark souls has proved an RPG does not need to have an engaging and elaborate story or even interesting NPC's to be good. The story in Dragons Dogma involves Something about a dragon taking your heart and you come back to life as "the arisen" etc. etc. Compared with a elder scrolls or a fallout game DD:DA has a very limited story and one dimensional characters but this does not affect how enjoyable your adventure will be. The game world and map markers etc. are not as well done as they are in other games but they are sufficient. NPC dialogue is repetitive and can get annoying (especially the guy at the inn in the capital city) and this is another area which is lacking. There are also glitches with regards to doing quests in a certain order and i would definitely recommend buying a game guide or consulting the online wiki guide to see where to go etc.

2. RPG ELEMENTS 8/10 - Let's begin with the character creator which has a lot of depth and is very professionally done. You can pick a name and fully customize your appearance for both you and your main pawn (i'll get to the pawn system later) The classes on offer here are excellent and there are some nice combinations such as a mystic knight which is a melee fighter who can enchant weapons and shields with fire, ice etc. The real bonus is that you can change your characters class completely once another class has been fully maxed out. I dont think this has been done in any other RPG i have seen and it offers a lot of versatility. The quest and leveling system are very familiar if you have played other RPG's and not particularly extraordinary but they are decent nonetheless. The game is massive and there are mini boss battles and ambushes dotted throughout the wilderness. This can be annoying if your character is at a low level and does limit the amount of exploration early on. One major gripe people had with the original release was the lack of a sufficient fast travel system and the amount of backtracking that had to be done. In Dark arisen this has been addressed by inclusion of cheaper ferrystones (used to fast travel) and you can now place ten port crystals anywhere on the map (these are used to set fast travel locations).

Another fantastically original addition is the pawn system and this raises the bar compared with other RPG's. Pawn's are the other individuals in your questing party of which up to four can be chosen. This is where the online component comes in as you can chose other player's pawns to join your group. One main downside of the pawns are that they DON'T SHUT UP and repeat their lines over and over and this can be annoying.

3. COMBAT SYSTEM - 9/10 This is where the game really excels and in many ways the combat here is better than it competitors. Each class has a set of special attacks and enhancements that can be unlocked for you and your main pawn and these really make the combat system feel deep and very tactical. you can order you team to attack, retreat or help and this is very good when in a difficult situation. The addition of the pawns make you really feel part of a team when fighting enemies and generally speaking the pawn AI is very good and not as frustrating as you'd expect. The boss battles are fatalistically done as well and due to the fact that you climb bosses make the whole experience more interactive. This game has the best combat system in any sword and sorcery RPG that i have played

3. QUEST SYSTEM 7/10 - The main and side quest's are fairly basic in terms of story, characters etc. but as the combat system is so good this really does not matter. It is important to make sure you have done all of the quest's in a certain area before moving on to another as if you progress too quickly certain side quests will automatically fail and this can be annoying.

4. GRAPHICS 8/10 - The new Dark Arisen version of DD looks very nice but your not going the find the jaw dropping moments you would in other RPG's. The graphics are slightly better than Dark Souls but not as good as Skyrim (especially on PC)

5. AUDIO 8/10 - There is a nice genre fitting soundtrack in the Dark Arisen version of the game and the j-POP main menu theme has also been replaced. All in all the sound is good even if the NPC lip syncing is a bit off.

OVERALL 8/10 - This game has far surpassed all of my expectations so far and Ive barely scratched the surface. At 17 it's an absolute steal and i would even recommend paying 39.99 for it as it's just that good. What will keep you coming back is the combat system and variety of enemies on offer and the deeply customizable RPG elements. Definitely the most underrated RPG out there and if you love games like skyrim, oblivion, demons souls, dark souls or shadow of the colossus I would highly recommend DD:DA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fixes many of the issues people didn't like about the original, 1 Jun 2013
By 
D. Williams "dwilliams" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
Essentially the same game, but they have improved the fast travel accessibility and added some new tougher areas to keep people busy.

My main criticism of the original still stands though - after a certain level is reached, most of the land becomes rather easy to explore because the same creatures tends to be used throughout. So not quite enough progression for my liking but the combat is still great fun and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon's Awesomeness, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
By far one of the biggest, funniest and most entertaining games i've ever played.

You take Shadow Of The Colossus, Dark Souls, Skyrim, Dragon Age and blend it altogether.
The result is this incredible game, a must have if you're a fan of rpg and WAY too underrated.

Forgot all the lacks the original dragon's dogma had, Dark Arisen fixes nearly every problem it had.
Fast travel is not a problem anymore, the end - game contents are MASSIVE just like the original game PLUS the incredibly deep and challenging bitterblack isle.
The story itself is beautiful, even though it requires a little bit of dedication to fully grasp everything.

Do you like to be thrown in a vibrant world full of monsters? where it's fun even to just run around? Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen is the game for you.
You like an RPG that's not constantly telling you how to play it? Dragon's Dogma is exactly what you need.

I repeat, MUST have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best. fills a bit of time, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
it starts out really good with quests galore. you get some companions and can hire many other companions along the way. you can also choose what class you are but can change classes along the way and try and max out all the stats. i was really enjoying it but it's a bit samey and there's nowhere to go to really. there's about two main places to go where they have shops and smiths etc.. but the rest of the map is merely forts with enemies inside and they're all pretty much the same. i freaked out initially when i saw some of the big enemies you come across now and again when you reach certain places but they tend to respawn and fighting them sometimes becomes a chore. this game didn't go far enough in the adventure stakes but it wiled away a few hours and i did really enjoy it at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance., 27 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a must ave game for any RPG-er, the game has great customisation, loads of replay value, the combat is great, The pawns system in interesting and a beautiful world to explore! A must have! Also, it has a screenshot feature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite PS3 Game, 18 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the best RPG I've played in terms of gameplay and story. Dark Souls had extremely challenging gameplay but a weak story (at least story telling). Games like Final Fantasy have a wonderful story but the gameplay quickly becomes repetitive.

Dragon's Dogma is how I imagine a real fantasy rpg, with lots of classes, skills and other stuff (I'll only mention lightning whip). Graphics are good, though surely not the best I've seen. The only thing lacking is online or at least local multiplayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most addictive Rpg ever !!., 14 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought the original Dragons Dogma and finished the 1st playthrough(I missed and messed up certain quests ! and was determined to correct my mistakes.)
Received DD Dark Arisen and to my enormous pleasure it allows you to carry on with all your gear and stats from the DD original game intact(Well Done Capcon)
This for me is simply the best Sword fantasy game ever released on X Box 360
It's fair and very challenging(Unlike Dark Souls).
Nuff said just play it and lose your life for a while !!.You won't want to sleep.
A truly addictive gaming experience.
And without doubt the BEST Combat system ever.
A joy to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3)
Dragons Dogma: Dark Arisen (PS3) by Capcom Europe (PlayStation 3)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews