Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthemic!
I'd heard a lot of things about this cd, not all good, but since it arrived it's not been off my cd player. 6 cover songs that sound awesome with Joey Belladonna suiting the sound much more than John Bush. "Crawl" I already had from Worship Music and the remix of "Crawl" was something else. Either buy it as it comes or go out and get it as the...
Published on 5 April 2013 by Mr. P. J. Maginn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Covers!
What to say. As a longtime ANTHRAX fan i have to be a little Disapointed. Mostly by most of the songs chosen. Ac/Dc and Thin Lizzy covers are good. The rest just OK. But it`s just for fun , or???
Published 22 months ago by BEAR!


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthemic!, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
I'd heard a lot of things about this cd, not all good, but since it arrived it's not been off my cd player. 6 cover songs that sound awesome with Joey Belladonna suiting the sound much more than John Bush. "Crawl" I already had from Worship Music and the remix of "Crawl" was something else. Either buy it as it comes or go out and get it as the complimentary 2nd cd of Worship Music. It's awesome. New to Anthrax, give it a whirl. It's inexpensive and great. Don't listen to Professional critics they haven't a clue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great release-More info for the costumers please!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
This a very good release. The choice of songs is brilliant! Anthrax covering Journey, Boston, Rush & Cheap Trick, I think is very great, but then again they've always chosen "different" bands than the usual ones to cover.
The only thing that bothers me here, is that you only get ONE artwork with this edition (within a slipcase of the online shown cover) , and apparently you don't get to chose the one you want (I got Journey, where I would have prefered Cheap Trick...). I'm not sure what you get when you buy Anthems as a bonus disc of Worship music, but it seems like you get artwork cards of each song-which in a way is why I keep buying the physical cd instead of a download...I think those illustrations are pretty cool.
More info about all that would be welcome for the costumers!
Otherwise, musically speaking a cool release, along with Adrenaline Mob's covers Ep Coverta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An anthemic little EP, 3 April 2013
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of Anthrax or the thrash metal genre that bands such as Anthrax ply their musical trade in.
But give them classic songs that suit their modus metallicus operandi and it's a whole different ball game as Anthems, the band's classic covers EP, most certainly proves.

The one-notch-louder, one-notch-heavier approach to the songs works extremely well, instilling a metal-tinged energy to numbers by Rush (Anthem), AC/DC (T.N.T.), Boston (Smokin'), Cheap Trick (Big Eyes), Thin Lizzy (Jailbreak) and Journey (Keep on Runnin').

While the numbers covered are all faithful, heavy rock renditions of the anthemic classics the surprise is how well some of the songs come across, especially those that would appear to be too far removed from the Anthrax musical template to work.

Case in point is 'Big Eyes,' although that particular Cheap Trick song (from the band's seminal 1977 power pop-rock release In Color) is one of the band's rockier numbers.
Here it's a perfect fit, carrying a big, ballsy beat and edgy guitars that emulate Rick Nielsen's own angular six-string work.

The star of the show however may well be Journey's fast-tempo, energy-driven number 'Keep on Runnin'.
It's another faithful interpretation, but Anthrax bring a grittier level of rock and roll energy to the table, which suits the song perfectly.
To such a degree that (classic-era Journey fans look away now) it actually edges the original.

'Keep on Runnin' also vocally highlights Anthrax front man Joey Belladonna, who returned to the fold in 2010.
Belladonna's clean upper range and strong note-holds on 'Keep on Runnin' will never convince the Steve Perry faithful but he does a great job, while on 'Anthem' he switches to an intentionally thinner falsetto-like vocal to give it that early-era Geddy Lee touch.

As Anthems proves, Joey Belladonna is far more than your average thrash-metal singer.

The final song, 'Crawl,' is an original number from the band's 2011 studio album Worship Music and appears here in two flavours - the album version and a more symphonic remix.

'Crawl' is one of the strongest songs on Worship Music and the slow-building, mid-paced and pulsing riff-edged number is a solid signing-off statement on what is a great little EP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
great album, great price, quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent covers album, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
Particularly liked the cover of Rush's Anthem. Works surprisingly well for a thrash band doing an early prog rock sock, albeit pretty much one of the best of both genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get it just for Big Eyes, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (MP3 Download)
As a massive Cheap Trick fan it was a must for me, good to hear a different take on one of my all time CT songs, I love ACDC and Journey to, so again for the price of a pint on download, get it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Covers!, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
What to say. As a longtime ANTHRAX fan i have to be a little Disapointed. Mostly by most of the songs chosen. Ac/Dc and Thin Lizzy covers are good. The rest just OK. But it`s just for fun , or???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in some cases better than the original, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
Anthrax deliver as they always do. They could make a living as a covers band as they seem to be able to cover other bands songs, in some cases better than the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smokin !, 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
Great covers , essential if your a fan !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems (Audio CD)
Rousing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthems
Anthems by Anthrax (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews