Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it., 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Peter J. Warlow (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap of Faith (MP3 Download)
If like me you,ve been an Incognito fan at any time in the last thirty plus years, you'll probably buy this album blind.
You won't be disappointed at all if you do, with Bluey covering all bases here. Jazz Funk Soul House Latin all get the treatment. All but two tracks are Bluey and Richard Bull compositions, with (for me) the standout being the mid tempo'Take a Chance On Me'.Great vocals, wonderful chorus and a wicked bass line. Reminds me of 'Don Blackman'. The two out and out dance/house tracks are the ones not written by the pair. Bluey teams up with Ski Oakenfull for 'Ain't Nobody's Business' and Simon Grey for 'Why Did I Let You Go'. Both have their co writers signiture sound all over them. Both top quality. 'If You Really Wanna' and 'Sky' Have that Summery Latin Jazz feel.Just right for those sunny hazzy day's if they ever return. Bluey stretches his vocals on 'Keep Myself Together' with some nice falsetoes. 'Got To Let My Feelings show' with its 'Back Together Again' groove is the first single and is getting plenty of airplay on all the soul stations. All 'n' all,this will be one of the albums of the year for me and for you too hopefully. This man comes up with the goods time and time again and deserves all the support in the world. If for some unknown reason you are not familiar with Bluey but are reading this anyway, just Take a 'LEAP OF FAITH' and buy or download it.
Nuff said.
Keep the faith...
Peter Warlow. Portsmouth UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS BLUEY JUST BLEW ME AWAY, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
I totally agree with first reviewer that this album has all the hallmarks of a true professional who has learnt his craft over 30 years and knows exactly what his audience wants.
From all his incarnations as being Mr Incognito via LOTW this has it all
I just love every track and it covers every base as far as soul & funk music is concerned
Just pure genius and to use a phrase too widely used for my liking however totally justified Mr Maunick is a Brit Funk LEGEND
If you don't buy this you'll regret it forever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do I like this album?, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
Whenever you purchase an album the true test of its worth is when you play it a second time and realise that you are probably going to be playing it to death from this point onwards.

I bought this as an Incognito fan wondering what Bluey would be like as a solo artist. My opinion will be revealed at the end of my review but what I can reveal is that this feels like its full of material that isn't Incognito friendly. Basically, Bluey is a very talented musician, he knows his strengths and he also knows that producing an album in the shadow of his greatest work (Incognito) is no easy task, as he is leaving himself open to critisium. Thankfully he has put together a really good selection of great songs.

My feeling is that he is influenced by the early 90's feel of acid jazz. This is such a smooth album and so refreshing to hear. Yes it does sometimes feel a bit like his Incognito work but how can it not? However, this is a solo artist at work and it really works well.

My opinion is that this is a good album but its not just a listen once piece of work. Its good first time round but it gets better the more familiar you become with it. When I listen to it I instantly get transported to an ealier more care free time in my life. This album has it all, so take the 'Leap of faith' it really is bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality tackle, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
T. J. Toher "tomt" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
Quite a few surprises on this album and Bluey can sing! Who knew? Not a great soul voice but better than I expected. The guests though are mega and the album is well worth a listen/purchase and not as typical of Incognito as I expected either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bluey - Leap of Faith, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
What a brilliant cd! I love Incognito so I knew that anything that Bluey did was going to be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bluey from Incognito Fame, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
What you would expect from the master himself. A brilliant first solo album, loved it from first listen. Buy it its awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT album, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
I CANNOT play this album enough, I've got it on repeat and repeat and repeat. Its a must buy. Well done Bluey. MORRRREE please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take a chance, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
If you like the music off Bluey take a gamble and go for it. there are some really good tracks on this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chilled, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
I love the sound of Bluey's voice - this is an album to listen to on a Summer day with a cold drink in your hand, or after a really bad day at work, when you need to de-stress. His soulful voice will ease your troubles. Switch on, sit back, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a duff track on the album!, 23 April 2013
By 
J. Ellis (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leap Of Faith (Audio CD)
I've been listening to this album again and again, whether in the car, at home or whilst out on the mp3 player. Every track is good, there is a good diversity from the unmistakable Bluey / Incognito sound to something deeper and darker. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leap Of Faith
Leap Of Faith by Bluey (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews