Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2010
Rhetoric sounds dubious. Is it concerned about convincing people of what you think is right for you but not necessarily good for the person you want to convince. Is it about selling your ideas to gain power or wealth by overwhelming your audience with false arguments convincingly presented?
Aristotle tries to solve this dilemma insisting that all persuasion should be with the intention of making a contribution to happiness by furthering virtuous behavior. He also presents the methods you should use to convince people to believe you. I find the book useful from both points of view.
Aristotle explains very clearly that to be persuasive you have to be rational and have the ability to understand and arouse emotions of the audience in your favor.
The book was written as a kind of handbook to be used 2400 years ago. Most of it, but not all is still valid to day. It has become a common practice to use PowerPoint presentations to convince people. The method of Aristotle is about content, structure, logic and emotions. Some slides may still be useful, but if you really want to be successful you better focus on the content using Aristotle type argumentation. All people that have to make speeches or presentations will find a wealth of ideas in this book. I found it a pity that the book does not contain complete speeches of Aristotle. The book should be of special interest to politicians and leaders in business that have to address large audiences with somecritical and skeptical members.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
It's a difficult read for the most part, but it's certainly worth the effort and perseverance. It's a very solid very impressive guide to public speaking, debate, persuasion. Everyone reading this should give it a go. It will improve any bookshelf instantaneously and has the power to transform your career. Seriously - better than any career self-help book, you really should buy yourself a copy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
If you don't read this book you just miss the point... As in the Poetics, in The Art of Rhetoric, are the foundations of western writing and argumentation... It is were all begun... kind of genesis of persuasion...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this insightful master piece, its definitely a book which needs to be chewed thoroughly before one is able to swallow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
I teach documentary radio. Thought this might come in handy for theory lectures. If it does, I'll let you know!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Great job, would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
If you fancy being a cabinet member, say a Secretary of State for Education, try reading this book and you can talk about nothing endlessly, even if you know little about the subject under discussion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Excellent quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Well I tried to read this but found it too be, well disjointed and frankly I did not understand it. before you claim I am an ignoramus I do hold an LL.B (Hons) and I have done a bit of high level study in my time. Aristotle may have been a great thinker but it is the people who interpret his ideas and report upon them that teach us, not the man himself.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)