Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper Aeroplanes - A hidden gem, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Little Letters (MP3 Download)
Little letters is the brilliant new album from Welsh duo Sarah Howells and Richard Llewellyn. Paper Aeroplanes have been described as one of the best up and coming UK bands in 2013 and it's not too hard to understand why. From the instantly catchy and uptempo "Red Rover", When the Windows Shook" and "Palm of your hand" and the title track "Little Letters" through to the the heartfelt ballands of "Multiple Love", "At the Altar" and the beautiful "Silence the bells", "Sleeper Train" and "Fable", it has something for everyone. The feel of the album will remind you of the The Sundays, Cranberries, Corrs, KT Tunstall, Amy McDonald, Florence and the Machine and Fleetwood Mac, but Paper Aeroplanes have a unique sound. With excellent heartfelt song writing from both Richard and Sarah and vocals to die for, this is an album that you will love more on every play.

Paper Aeroplanes have a fantastic back catalogue, so please check out "The day we ran into the sea" and the "We are ghosts" albums as well. The "Time to be" EP (currently a steal at 2) is also worth buying. Most of their music is on the Paper Aeroplanes website. If you want to hear the full version of the songs first, rather than a short clip on Amazon (which often doesn't do the song justice) head there first. The website also has some videos of their live performances. On the videos you may recognise one of my favourite double bass players, John Parker (one half of Nizlopi), who also played on the album.

They are also amazing live, please go and see them as I did, if they gig near you.
Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy heartfelt music for your soul, 13 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Little Letters (Audio CD)
Paper Aeroplanes latest release, Little Letters, is their most accomplished and rounded album to date. Sarahs voice lends itself beautifully to the songs she and Richard write together, that say so many of the things we feel in a way that most can't express. If you like folk music, don't hesitate to buy this. All the years of touring and releasing their music has culminated in a brilliant and polished album.

Do yourself a favour and find a quiet room, and listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be the 'breaker'!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Letters (Audio CD)
The latest album from Paper Aeroplanes and this should be the one that thrusts them into the limelight! The same beautiful vocals as previously with wonderful lyrics but now with a 'proper band' backing them up. It sounds great. Buy it, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent album, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Little Letters (MP3 Download)
Bought the CD whilst at their gig. They were brilliant live, and all of their CD's are special too. The songs are memorable and the singing clear and lovely. This album is slightly "louder" in places than previous ones but this is good I think. Sarah Howells also sings with Al Lewis on his Cd's, (he was at the gig too) and if you like this then you may like his music too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Letters (MP3 Download)
Discovered paper aeroplanes whilst looking for new music to listen to and only wish I'd have found them sooner - what a great little band I love them and their music and now have bought all their albums lol this album is wonderful and I will continue to listen to it for ever haha very very good - buy it ;))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best album I've heard in a long time, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Letters (MP3 Download)
For me this is one of the best albums I've heard in a long time which catches a particular time in your life as its one that you play, and you play and you play and you never seem to get tired of it. This will always remind me of the hot summer days of 2013. This is definately their best album to date for me there is at least 4 excellent tracks and the rest are really good which is very rare as normaly you have one tune on an album that you really like and then the rest just make up space and are just mediocre.
This album is alot punchier than "The day we ran into the sea" although I ,liked a couple of tunes on that album the quality production music lyrics are just better on "little letters. What makes this better than the other albums is that you connect with the lyrics/ music than on previous albums. We just enjoy Sarah Howell's haunting/melancholy vocals and oviously Richard Llewellyn can play which is a rare thing these days so the music is well written played and sung. Its well produced and its my find of the year
So if you like good easy listening music you cant get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite album, 18 Aug 2013
By 
S Tilbury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Letters (Audio CD)
I just love this album, which keeps on giving on every single listen. So many beautiful songs. I feel like I could listen over and over again and never get tired of it. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Letters (Audio CD)
I love this band. Having seen them live in Oxford a few months ago I immediately bought this and their other two albums, The Day We Ran Into The Sea, and We Are Ghosts. There are many good young bands and artists around these days, and this band is my favourite amongst them. Great tunes, lovely harmonies and thoughtful lyrics, when at a loose end Paper Aeroplanes is who I switch on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Letters (MP3 Download)
First heard this band on a late night Radio 2 program (track 'Palm of your hand') and then downloaded 'Red Rover' as a free MP3 from Amazon. That was enough to get me to buy the album. Superb set of songs, great vocals and thoughtful lyrics. Next stop - catch Paper Aeroplanes at a live gig. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Little Letters (MP3 Download)
Lovely voice and music. Bought it without knowing them just because it was on offer and had good reviews. Very glad I did. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Letters
Little Letters by Paper Aeroplanes (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews