Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The revenge of the damned
Cold, Cold Heart is an old story that came to life anew thanks to the eBook single format. This is the story of Pam, a lonely woman and a teacher, who's heading to California from Georgia, to deliver something. But, if you want to know what, and to whom, you'll have to read the tale.

Pam is one of those unfortunate souls, whose lives look at best cursed. She's...
Published 22 months ago by Lakis Fourouklas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lillibell
Prefer Will and Sarah Linton stories in Georgia. But this passed an hour and was quite entertaining, the story line was different and interesting
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. E. Winter


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The revenge of the damned, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Cold, Cold Heart is an old story that came to life anew thanks to the eBook single format. This is the story of Pam, a lonely woman and a teacher, who's heading to California from Georgia, to deliver something. But, if you want to know what, and to whom, you'll have to read the tale.

Pam is one of those unfortunate souls, whose lives look at best cursed. She's never had enough joy, and she's never lived up to her potential, and for that she mostly blames, her ex, and now dead husband, John. The latter had a complete control of her life during their twenty years together. He set the rules, and she followed. He ordered, and she obeyed. She was a good woman, and he was a bad man. And yet, he was the one that was destined to live the big life; a life we learn about through her mental journeys down memory lane.

As one would expect Pam feels wronged, and bitter. Everything could be different, better, if she had the courage to stand up to him, to make him realize that he wasn't the centre of her universe, or of any universe when it came to that. But she didn't, and things just followed a downward spiral for her, an upward for him.

However, right now, and for the first time in ages, she's in full control of her life. She's changed, the smiles have returned, and even though she's over fifty, she feels rejuvenated. What was it that changed everything? A simple act; a spontaneous reaction to some facts which gave her the opportunity to have the last laugh, when it came to her relationship with John.

His cruelty, his superiority, his sarcasm, had followed her for many years, but right now it's payback time, and whether things go right or wrong, nothing can change that; she'll have her revenge.

This reads as a quite plain story at first, but as the narration moves on it becomes more and more interesting, and the final twist wraps everything up in a brilliant way, taking the reader by surprise; just the way it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent digital short, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Curiosity Killed The Bookworm (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Pam and her husband split up after their son died. But now he is dying and he requests her presence in his California home, the home bought with the money he made from her misery. He wrote a book and didn't paint Pam in the best light. Yet she still goes to him, she can't wait to see the smirk wiped off his face...

Cold, Cold Heart is a long short story which shows off Karin Slaughter's wicked streak. It's a battle to have the last word and a peek into the mad ideas people get to prolong their life. Whilst it's not necessarily crime, it's twisty and turny in Pam's mind and the perfect reading material for a lunch break. No having to put the story down before it finishes! Karin's shorter works always seem to have fairly unlikable characters but I still find a side to take. I wonder if she does this because she knows we wouldn't stay with them for a whole novel, but a short story is just the right amount of time before you get annoyed with them.

Cold, Cold Heart was originally published in the First Thrills anthology and is published for the first time by itself in digital format. I personally love this idea as I always want to read everything my favourite authors write but don't always want to buy a whole anthology just for one or two stories.

Review copy provided by publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karen Slaughter, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
I like Karen Slaughters books this short story was very good and I would read more of her short stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
I never liked crime novels until my daughter gave me 1 of karins books. Now I can't get enough of them. The Will Trent series is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Karen Slaughter book., 26 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Barry J. Belton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting writer who is able to keep the readers attention. I would recommend this author to those who enjoy a good mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent short read, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Have read all of Karen rose's full novels and enjoyed .thought I would give her short novels a try.
They are as exciting and fast paced as you expect from this great author. Her characters and story lines are still strong.
If you enjoyed her longer novels then you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Leave It Out In The Cold, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
I do like Karin Slaughter but this was not my kind of story. Only finished because was short story. Disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book review, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
this was good book enjoyed it very much .iv brought a lot of her books ,she is one of my best loved writers her books always keep me going right to the end .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Low cost book, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Not up to the standard of Karin Slaughter's Will Trent or Grant County series of books. This is a low cost book but is it even worth buying I wouldn't recommend any of her short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cold cold heart, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Cold Heart (Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
A great read and disappointed when I realized was the final page. Definitely recommend as a short read to all Karin Slaughter fan's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Cold Heart (Short Story)
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews