Customer Reviews


2,690 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,888)
4 star:
 (348)
3 star:
 (205)
2 star:
 (112)
1 star:
 (137)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!
I'm not a complete Bond fan, but this was really good viewing. It didn't seem to have as many of the typical Bond "gizmos" which was actually quite refreshing!
Published 19 months ago by dj26green

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT the best Bond movie ever, but not the worst
Being an avid Bond fan, I bought this excellent Steelbook version of Skyfall, even though I was disappointed with the film at the cinema. The film itself is sometimes excellent, sometimes awful and sometimes messy in terms of plot. The Steelbook blu-ray + DVD + Digital pack, however, is very very nice and good value.
Published 20 months ago by seizeseptember


‹ Previous | 1 2269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT the best Bond movie ever, but not the worst, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall - Limited Edition Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) (Blu-ray)
Being an avid Bond fan, I bought this excellent Steelbook version of Skyfall, even though I was disappointed with the film at the cinema. The film itself is sometimes excellent, sometimes awful and sometimes messy in terms of plot. The Steelbook blu-ray + DVD + Digital pack, however, is very very nice and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a complete Bond fan, but this was really good viewing. It didn't seem to have as many of the typical Bond "gizmos" which was actually quite refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'ENTERTAINING 007 PRESENTATION' (GREAT PERFORMANCES FROM BOTH 'DANIEL CRAIG AND JUDI DENCH'), 23 Feb 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'James' is given an assignment despite failing the fitness and reaction tests.
When M16 is attacked and the department re-locates, 'James' is really the
only 00 available, and the only person 'M' feels she can rely upon, as the
agency is compromised from within and beyond.
007 finds himself pitted against the ever mysterious 'Silva'(Javier Bardem)
Again great action, super gadgets, and great stunts, as always making it again
superb entertainment.
Great performances from 'Judi Dench' as 'M' and 'Daniel Craig' growing into
the 'Bond' role superbly.
Maybe not quite the equal of the brilliant 'Casino Royal' however still a must
for '007' fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TAKE THE SHOT, 19 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
An unknown bad guy (Javier Bardem) has obtained the list of all NATO nation covert operatives working inside terrorist cells. As he threatens to release them, an aged Bond (Daniel Craig) who appears to have lost a step, must go to Shanghai and appear in the obligatory casino scene and attempt to get back the computer file. This feature has the standard Bond lines, killer title track, sensual scenes, over the top chase action, as well as a return to Bond's roots.

Judi Dench as "M" was superb. Adele singing the title track, who else? The Bond series has kept up with the times as expected and leaves sequel possibilities open. Good action flick, although I do not consider this to be the best Bond film ever or even close. It lacked the fun gag names that makes for great spoofs, but did use Silva, the name of our bad guy from the urban dictionary: Silvas are typically the most handsome men one will ever come across in person. A silva is a strong, sexy, and successful individual that doesn't need anyone but himself.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, sensual scenes that implied sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall, 15 Jan 2013
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It's more like a traditional Bond than anything in years but is also nothing like any Bond film we've seen before. It has more invention in every scene than all of the 90s and 00s films put together and almost every set piece is as good as the parkour scene in Casino Royale. It's beautifully directed and really puts pretty much every Bond film ever to shame in that department, it's bloody hilarious while taking its subject matter completely seriously, and Daniel Craig IS Bond. It's like they looked at Quantum of Solice and thought "Yeah, you know that film nobody liked. Let's make the COMPLETE opposite of that".

There were so many wonderful moments. The entire opening teaser (I especially liked how it began with its own spin on the gunbarrel). The title sequence. The scenes of Bond trying to cope living on an island and trying to recapture the thrill of his job with the scorpion drinking games. The reveal that Bond didn't pass the tests but M took him back anyway. The scene in Shanghai where Bond grabs onto the bottom of a flipping lift as it's going up and then witnesses an assassination and gets into in a punch-up in the shadows, all against the surreal backdrop of the reflected Shanghai skyline. The Q-Branch scene which brings back all the sorely missed elements of Bond and Q's relationship yet still feels like a completely new take on the character (certainly more than Cleese). The casino scene complete with a dangerous pit with a man-eating Kimodo Dragon (slightly dodgy CGI aside), which contains the great moment where the underwhelming isomorphically-controlled gun turned out to work just as well as any of Q's gadgets should. Silva's island, a brilliant spin on the classic Bond Villain Lair with considerably more creepy undertones due to the whole ghost-town vibe. The introduction of Silva himself. ("What makes you think this is my first time?"). The twisted shooting contest between Bond and Silva. "It's from Q-Branch. It's called a radio". Silva taking his jaw out. The moment where Q realises he's been had. The whole Tube chase, which was my favourite bit of the film and full of so many wonderful little moments that I'm not even going to bother listing them. The rather sinister scene where Silva strolls into the courtroom dressed as a policeman a starts shooting the place up, which is made even creepier once Bond shoots out the fire extinguishers. The DB5. The DB5! I actually clapped in the cinema when it turned up. That's a way to acknowledge the past with for the Anniversary without going into fanwank overdrive like Die Another Day, and I loved that the ejector seat was confined to a knowing little gag. The assault on the house, as a small army rounds on an old building containing three people with a couple of shotguns; it's got a bare-bones, nothing-but-me-and-the-elements feel to it but still manages to feel like an inventive Bondish action scene (my personal favourite moment being M's light-fitting bombs). "I hated this place!" The fact that the epic climax of the film which Bond has to stop is simply one raving man running across a field after an elderly woman, yet it still manages to feel epic and climactic due to the hellish glaze it's seen through.

I loved every minute of the film, it just felt right - it felt Bond. Casino Royale was a great film, but I don't think any part of it besides the Parkour chase and "That last hand... it nearly killed me" made me grin like Skyfall did. It's got that intangible quality that only a Bond film can have, but without any of the sameyness that pervades even some of my favourites in the series.

The Bond series is in a good place. I genuinely can't wait to see what Craig, Harris, Whishaw and Fiennes get up to next. It feels like Bond is back, back where he should be. But at the same time, I don't think the franchise has ever felt so new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars twisting plot, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Dramatic chases and CGI images make a dramatic story, Daniel Craig continues to be a good Bond.Javier Bardem is a superb villain but the story didn't grip me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this today & watched it straight away. was unable to see it at the cinema unfortunately which i'm sure would have been awesome but just fantastic on blue ray anyway. Great action as usual, MUCH better than quantam of solace and as good as casino royale but for different reasons. much more character driven for bond and M and even the villain (a marvellous Javier Bardem) particularly, rather than humourous which makes it more than your standard Bond film. Highly recommended all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as CR but 100 times better than QOS, 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Skyfall 3 times at the pictures and the big difference between watching it there and in your living room is the light. It sounds funny but you cannot watch this during the day (unless you have blackout curtains). A lot of the locations are shot at night and unless you watch it with very low lighting in the room you'll be struggling to make out what's happening. That said, its a great film. I don't agree with all the "Best Bond Film Ever" quotes, that honour goes to Casino Royale as it made everyone look at 007 in a different way after years of cheesy one liners, gadgets and unbelievable storylines. Lets hope they make the next one soon before DC gets past his prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I have seen it and was extremely disappointed. The producers are running out of original plots ..., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for a friend. I have seen it and was extremely disappointed. The producers are running out of original plots and milking the Bond name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best intro to a bond movie ever......, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I know not everyone will agree with this but I have never been more impressed with any bond intro then Skyfall. I went to see Skyfall on the day of release in the UK and the cinema was totally packed out. I really enjoyed the movie, it had a good plot and the action was brilliant. The intro just stood out completely for me, the way the opening scene transcended to the intro just blew me away. The Skyfall theme by Adele was fantastic aswell, it just came together really well and seeing it in the cinema just enhanced it even more. It usually takes a lot for me to be impressed when I go to the movies and this has to be by far the best movie I've seen this year (especially after seeing that DREADFUL paranormal activity 4 ;) I am definately pre-ordering this and for anyone who hasn't seen this, BUY IT, you won't regret it, but I know there are a few bond fans who will think Casino Royale is better, you might spend the rest of your life debating that question but will see how good the next movie is. Five stars ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews