Customer Reviews


761 Reviews
5 star:
 (405)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (96)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 172 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No idea what people were expecting
I've put off watching this film for a while now as I've heard so many bad things about it but I knew I'd get round to it eventually. To be honest after watching it I have no idea what people were looking for.

It was never going to be as good as Taken due to the fact we have seen his fighting skills, we know his other abilities, we know how hard he is and that...
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Family Man

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
If you've seen the first Taken film, then you've basically seen the second. Some may say that's a flaw (and I suppose in some ways it is), but when the first one was quite an enjoyable action romp, then if you enjoyed it, you'll probably like this one too.

In the first film, CIA superman, Liam Neeson's daughter sets foot outside the good ol' U.S. of A. and...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 172 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No idea what people were expecting, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Family Man (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I've put off watching this film for a while now as I've heard so many bad things about it but I knew I'd get round to it eventually. To be honest after watching it I have no idea what people were looking for.

It was never going to be as good as Taken due to the fact we have seen his fighting skills, we know his other abilities, we know how hard he is and that he won't quit, we know that the bad guys are only there for him to work his way through and we know everything will be peachy in the end. All that really left for Taken 2 was them to make another action movie with the same cast.

Personally I felt the storyline was good, plenty of action and the same cast. It was definitely better than people made it out to be but as expected it wasn't as good as Taken and I never expected this to be one of the very few movies where the sequel was better than the first one.

I've read reviews on here from would be movie directors who sit around and dissect movies. Being honest I prefer reading so if I sit back and watch a movie I generally want to turn my brain off and just enjoy what's going on. I thoroughly enjoyed Taken 2 and have no complaints. I'm only deducting 1 star as it wasn't as good as the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't like the start of the movie the loud dramatic music was off putting but stick with it as its good plenty of action, a bit Steven Seagal style of fighting but its decent.One or two silly moments but overall good recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, sequel to a distinctive thriller, 16 May 2013
Taken 2 manages to do some of the things that any good sequel should do:
It enriches the first film's plot by expanding it naturally.
Neeson's hero, Brian Mills, is fleshed out further. This time the expansion of his character isn't demonstrated by his gunplay, but by his ingrained habits and skills - obsessive punctuality, over-caution, and some fun (if slightly far-fetched) tradecraft skills such as tracking locations in original ways that add a frisson of fun to standard thriller scenes.
Janssen's ex-wife character is much the same as before, if getting more screen time. And Maggie Grace gets a lot more to do, her role expanding to include facing up to her fears, and also some badass driving during the film's exhilarating standout car chase sequence - a smashing chase through the heart of Istanbul.
The plot also grows nicely organically from the first film, and feels like a good realistic reason for a sequel, which is a nice change in a world of franchise movies with increasingly thin reasons for extending the money-train.
The bad guys are quite well played, and the fights, chases and gunplay are quite well directed. This was especially satisfying for me, as my heart fell when I heard that Olivier Megaton had been handed this film, given the tacky, throwaway job he'd done on the pretty awful Transporter 3. Luckily this time he's on far better form, his directing showing that maybe more serious tones suit him better. He still frames too close to the action, often obscuring some of the moves and creating confusion during the bigger fights, and he still doesn't know how to shoot a city so it feels distinctive (Istanbul comes out feeling very much like 'generic Islamic city' despite the frequent rooftop shots of tourist attractions). However, while the set-pieces don't feel as memorable as those of the first film, they're still fun and enjoyable. The ending is oddly hashed up, several sudden cuts and inexplicably quickly ended fights giving the impression that over-enthusiastic editors and censors have removed some more violent moments. This leaves the baffling impression of something missing, and a sense of: "surely that wouldn't have killed him?" However, despite this bungled sequence, it's still a satisfying thriller and a worthy sequel, and appears to end with a teasing hint that something isn't quite right, and setting the possible scene for a part 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ELECTRIC', 26 Feb. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
in the first film 'bryan mills' ( former c.i.a agent ) rescued his daughter
who had been kidnapped by an 'albanian' gang' in the process killing all
involved.
the families of those involved now seek revenge......this time both his
daughter and ex-wife become involved.
must admit i was a little dubious of how this would link up.......needn't
have worried.
maybe not as polished as the first,however...great action, superb car chase
............great entertaining watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If you've seen the first Taken film, then you've basically seen the second. Some may say that's a flaw (and I suppose in some ways it is), but when the first one was quite an enjoyable action romp, then if you enjoyed it, you'll probably like this one too.

In the first film, CIA superman, Liam Neeson's daughter sets foot outside the good ol' U.S. of A. and gets kidnapped (sorry... taken) by the first gang of non-American scumbags she ran into. You'd think with that sort of track record, his family may steer well clear of foreign travel. Of course that would make a pretty dull sequel. Instead, they take a relaxing CIA-orientated jaunt back to the hell-holes of Europe and this time Liam and Mrs Liam end up getting taken by an offshoot of the first gang of scumbags, this time wanting revenge.

So, Liam must do what he does best... which is basically the same as what he did the first time round. Have a few car chases, count things and basically murder everyone he comes across.

It's all very serious. I thought that it may stray into tongue-in-cheek, as it's so far-fetched, but it never does. Everything is played straight right up until the end.

If you liked the first, or are a fan of ultra serious Bourne-style action romps then you'll probably like this one too. I look forward to seeing who gets taken in the next film. My money's on his dog.

3.5 out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three stars is pushing it, 9 Oct. 2012
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Three stars for Liam Neeson, as he is a very good actor, but if you have seen the first this is very much the same, only much more tame as it has a lower certificate rating, to get more people to see it, so far less violence, although it has it moments.

Stripped back from the violence and tension of the first film, this plays like a second rate Bourne movie, yes there are fights and explosions, a couple of good car stunts, but this really feels like all involved were just doing it for the pay cheque, and not to advance the film series to anything more or different, in the action/spy genre.

This time Liam gets 'Taken' by the villains from the first films family and underworld thugs.

Not long after he escapes, and proceeds to kick the bad guys into touch, using his gun and fighting skills. Thats it in nutshell, not much emotion or even plot detail (which the first managed to pull off very well on both counts) and not much in terms of original action or filming techniques.

By no means a bad film, it is entertaining, but a very weak sequel to a very good first outing, worth a watch but a real sell out, and fans of the original may feel cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Taken 2, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too much violence to supplement a thin plot and indifferent acting. Earlier film Taken was in my estimation much better. Prompt delivery of DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very mediocre sequel, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Many sequels fail to live up to the first effort, but at least they normally try to develop the story *a bit*, or even have a new story. This is just the same thing over again, and the overwhelming impression it leaves you with is that Neeson could barely be bothered to turn up to filming each day. He doesn't seem to have made the tiniest effort to get in shape ("Welcome to the set Mr Neeson. Now, have you been getting yourself in shape for the past 3 months as we discussed?" - "Er.. (pant) nah... (wheeze) let's get on with it"). One minute he is apparently knocking the stuffing out of several assailants with lightning fast martial art skills, then the next he is stumbling around like someone's doddering grandfather, barely able to break in to a modestly speedy shuffle. He doesn't manage to convey the impression of being able to run for a bus without collapsing with exhaustion, never mind tearing around after lethal kidnapping assassins.

The first film was formulaic but fairly well executed and fun to watch. This is just second rate dire repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's ok if you haven't got anything else to watch, 13 Feb. 2013
This movie is okay, nowhere near as good as the first, very predictable, all the action rammed into the second half and about as believeable as a film about aliens ruling earth. I enjoyed it but wouldn't watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neeson is in the groove., 1 Jan. 2015
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The dvd includes the theatrical version (88mins) and the extended version (94mins),both versions have English subtitles.

I think the difference between 'Taken' and other 'women missing and in peril' plot-lines is that our hero in 'Taken' is a specialist and is always equipped both mentally and physically to combat the bad guys---in T2 he arrives in Istanbul with a full suitcase of guns and grenades just in case(airport security?)!

In Frantic [DVD] [1988] and Breakdown [DVD] [1998] Harrison Ford and Kurt Russell respectively played ordinary guys out of their depth searching for their kidnapped wives;here Neeson searches for his ex-wife while also protecting his daughter from central European slave traffickers out for revenge for Liam killing their comrades in T1---how strange that since the demise of the Soviet state and the Mafia Hollywood has found such convenient villains as illustrated in many seasons of 24 - Complete Season 1-8 + Redemption (New Packaging) [DVD] and in many other productions----often they are Muslim or central/east European or African.

Let me stick to the point which is to give an opinion on T2 as to its entertainment value.Put simply if you enjoyed the original this is hugely entertaining.Don't expect in-depth charactorization or a travalogue of the beautiful Turkish city or political correctness towards our fellow Euro members who are arriving in the UK by the busload we are told.

This is action-packed,kick-ass,comic-book stuff---avoid if you are offended by a British actor playing a Yank beating the hell out of Albanians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taken 2 - Limited Edition Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy)
£16.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews