Customer Reviews


601 Reviews
5 star:
 (304)
4 star:
 (133)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 144 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No idea what people were expecting
I've put off watching this film for a while now as I've heard so many bad things about it but I knew I'd get round to it eventually. To be honest after watching it I have no idea what people were looking for.

It was never going to be as good as Taken due to the fact we have seen his fighting skills, we know his other abilities, we know how hard he is and that...
Published 23 months ago by Family Man

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars REVENGE OF THE SLAVE TRADERS
Based on the screen appeal of Liam Neeson and the sex slave trade in Eastern Europe, we give you "Taken 2." In Eastern Europe the action takes place shorty after Bryan Mills (Liam) went "walking tall" all over them to save his daughter in the first feature. They are burying their dead and vow revenge. Yes, slave traders love their children too. In the US,...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars REVENGE OF THE SLAVE TRADERS, 27 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Based on the screen appeal of Liam Neeson and the sex slave trade in Eastern Europe, we give you "Taken 2." In Eastern Europe the action takes place shorty after Bryan Mills (Liam) went "walking tall" all over them to save his daughter in the first feature. They are burying their dead and vow revenge. Yes, slave traders love their children too. In the US, the action takes place at some time in the future from the first film. Liam's ex-wife Lenore (Famke Janssen) is now separated from her husband and daughter Kim (Maggie Grace) with whom Bryan has built a solid relationship by rescuing her from slave traders, is slightly ungrateful as she would now rather spend time with her boyfriend Jamie (Luke Grimes) then let dad give her much needed driving lessons.

In order to make it easy on the script writers, Bryan and family travel to Istanbul. In spite of Liam's alertness, savvy, and being a lean mean fighting machine, his ex-wife is not and they are "taken" because "Kidnapped" has been used as too many film titles. Armed with a cell phone with a Turkish SIM card, a shoe lace, and some government issue grenades, Kim goes McGyver on them to save the family.

Definitely lacks the intensity of the first film. Okay as a rental.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 144 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No idea what people were expecting, 24 Jan 2013
I've put off watching this film for a while now as I've heard so many bad things about it but I knew I'd get round to it eventually. To be honest after watching it I have no idea what people were looking for.

It was never going to be as good as Taken due to the fact we have seen his fighting skills, we know his other abilities, we know how hard he is and that he won't quit, we know that the bad guys are only there for him to work his way through and we know everything will be peachy in the end. All that really left for Taken 2 was them to make another action movie with the same cast.

Personally I felt the storyline was good, plenty of action and the same cast. It was definitely better than people made it out to be but as expected it wasn't as good as Taken and I never expected this to be one of the very few movies where the sequel was better than the first one.

I've read reviews on here from would be movie directors who sit around and dissect movies. Being honest I prefer reading so if I sit back and watch a movie I generally want to turn my brain off and just enjoy what's going on. I thoroughly enjoyed Taken 2 and have no complaints. I'm only deducting 1 star as it wasn't as good as the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Taken for fools...., 8 Oct 2014
This review is from: Taken 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Firstly I loved Taken - it was a dark taut action-packed roller coaster ride, great script well acted. Didn't need a sequel and the imaginatively titled Taken 2 does nothing but remind you how great the first one is.

The 'plot' has so many holes in it and the baddies are so incompetent - are we really expected to believe that after knowing he killed so many people that they would loosely tie him up without doing a thorough check on his clothes or post someone outside the door who was clearly deaf and couldn't hear Liam having a full-on conversation with his daughter on the mobile phone he secreted...hope I'm not spoiling the plot by the way.

How he manages to let her know his location is ridiculous and in general it's just a run-of-the-mill poor sequel. Don't waste an hour and a half watching this drivel - watch the original or watch something else.

Very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's ok if you haven't got anything else to watch, 13 Feb 2013
This movie is okay, nowhere near as good as the first, very predictable, all the action rammed into the second half and about as believeable as a film about aliens ruling earth. I enjoyed it but wouldn't watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If you've seen the first Taken film, then you've basically seen the second. Some may say that's a flaw (and I suppose in some ways it is), but when the first one was quite an enjoyable action romp, then if you enjoyed it, you'll probably like this one too.

In the first film, CIA superman, Liam Neeson's daughter sets foot outside the good ol' U.S. of A. and gets kidnapped (sorry... taken) by the first gang of non-American scumbags she ran into. You'd think with that sort of track record, his family may steer well clear of foreign travel. Of course that would make a pretty dull sequel. Instead, they take a relaxing CIA-orientated jaunt back to the hell-holes of Europe and this time Liam and Mrs Liam end up getting taken by an offshoot of the first gang of scumbags, this time wanting revenge.

So, Liam must do what he does best... which is basically the same as what he did the first time round. Have a few car chases, count things and basically murder everyone he comes across.

It's all very serious. I thought that it may stray into tongue-in-cheek, as it's so far-fetched, but it never does. Everything is played straight right up until the end.

If you liked the first, or are a fan of ultra serious Bourne-style action romps then you'll probably like this one too. I look forward to seeing who gets taken in the next film. My money's on his dog.

3.5 out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Take it away......, 4 Nov 2014
This review is from: Taken 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Where to begin? Well if you begin with "Taken" then you're going to be disappointed by this by the numbers sequel. The primary strength of the original movie was the new life it breathed into the flagging action movie franchise. Liam Neeson became an unexpected addition to the pantheon of film hard men, assisted by taut directing, a brutal, unflinching level of violence and a more than passable script.

The problem with "Taken 2" is that the elements that made its predecessor strong are made so anodyne that they become cliché. The first half hour of the film is taken up with redundant tension building (after all, everyone knows that they're going to be kidnapped). Therefore the film minus one third of its running time, then has to shoe horn in a series of drab, done a thousand time in better films, action scenes that feel flat and predictable. How many times can the endless supply of stubbly bad guys be looking the wrong way when Bryan comes into a room?

Implausible levels of violence are an expectation in this kind of movie, but when the action becomes so drab and monotone, I found it hard to forgive and forget the total lack of logic in the movie's internal world. Why don't the Turkish police react for an hour to the storm of bullets and grenades? Why do they drive cars that would have looked like old bangers even in the "Sweeney"? Why hasn't Bryan noticed his daughter is clearly in her late twenties? All the glaring implausibility that faded into the background of "Taken", rush to the forefront in "Taken 2" because the action is so very formulaic.

This film could have and should have been so much better. In a world of potential enemies, why rehash the same villains of the original. Why involve the family again? Scrappy Doo would have been a less irritating side kick to the hero than his ditzy, stereo typical "teen" daughter. The original film was a tense and taut action fest. Unfortunately, this lack lustre follow up is just a by the numbers cash in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite As Taken With This Sequel, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dvd Info, Region 2.
Running time 91 minutes, Extended Harder Cut, 89 Minutes theatrical cut.

Trivia.
1)Oliver Megatron Directed Transporter 3 with Jason Statham.
2)Liam Neesons first movie sequel.
3)This grossed over $139 million dollars on a $45 million dollar budget.

Synopsis.
In Istanbul, Retired CIA agent Bryan Mills & his ex wife are taken by Kidnapper Murad Krasniqi in revenge as Mills killed his son when rescuing his daughter.

The tables are now turned as it's down to Bryan's daughter Kim to rescue her parent's from the kidnappers enabling Bryan to use his special kills in fighting & firearms in taking down the remaining thugs & killers who have put his family at risk.

Timelord Thoughts.
Well don't bother with theatrical cut it's simply 12a type action movie, Go with the slightly harder cut as it's more effective.

Liam Neeson reprises his role as ex CIA Bryan Mills & gives another good performance here as does Maggie Grace who gets a bit more to do in the action scenes as his daughter Kim in this sequel.

Famke Jansen returns as Lenore hinting at a possible reconciliation with Bryan but again her character has very little to do barring getting captured.

This film isn't as good as the original, Why? Well the maker's of Taken never thought Taken was going to be such a huge hit so they made the original brutal & choc full on hardcore action in it's fight sequences & shootouts.

With the sequel they toned down the violence to obtain the dreaded 12a rating to capitalize on the success of the original.

But what the studio's don't understand is the original film was a hit because it was brutal & hardcore that's what the audience liked, As if the original film had been a standard 12a action movie it may never have become the box office hit it eventually became.

Another issue I had with this sequel is director Oliver Megatron's fast manic cutting of the movies fight sequences, Is it to much to ask to keep the camera still so the viewer can actually see what's going on.

I don't understand the logic of toning down action films like this as it dilutes the movie as you know your not going to see anything truly shocking or gory & even the harder cut isn't all that violent but does improve some of the action sequences.

Not the worst sequel I've seen but certainly not the best, Here's hoping Taken 3 is a return to form or it maybe time to retire Bryan Mills for good.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very mediocre sequel, 18 Sep 2013
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Many sequels fail to live up to the first effort, but at least they normally try to develop the story *a bit*, or even have a new story. This is just the same thing over again, and the overwhelming impression it leaves you with is that Neeson could barely be bothered to turn up to filming each day. He doesn't seem to have made the tiniest effort to get in shape ("Welcome to the set Mr Neeson. Now, have you been getting yourself in shape for the past 3 months as we discussed?" - "Er.. (pant) nah... (wheeze) let's get on with it"). One minute he is apparently knocking the stuffing out of several assailants with lightning fast martial art skills, then the next he is stumbling around like someone's doddering grandfather, barely able to break in to a modestly speedy shuffle. He doesn't manage to convey the impression of being able to run for a bus without collapsing with exhaustion, never mind tearing around after lethal kidnapping assassins.

The first film was formulaic but fairly well executed and fun to watch. This is just second rate dire repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't like the start of the movie the loud dramatic music was off putting but stick with it as its good plenty of action, a bit Steven Seagal style of fighting but its decent.One or two silly moments but overall good recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Taken for a ride more like...., 1 Feb 2014
Bryan Mills stopped at nothing to save his daughter Kim from Albanian kidnappers.

The father of one of the kidnappers has sworn revenge and takes Bryan and his wife hostage during their family vacation in Istanbul.

Bryan enlists his daughter to help them escape.....

Taking the prize for the most pointless sequel of the year, Taken 2 is simply a blatant cash in of the success of the first one.

That was a guilty pleasure and gave Neeson a career resurgence, but he hasn't looked this embarrassed since he was in The Haunting, but he rises above the filthy script and puts in an okay performance.

It's not the casts fault, it's the fact when you are watching the badly edited action scenes, you know someone somewhere is rubbing their hands thinking about 'The Extended Hardcore Torture Filled Party Edition' blu-ray and it makes one pretty fed up of Hollywood.

The story is scrappy and way too simple, and the narrative is blunderingly silly, do we really have to see another film where the villains leave to watch football so our hero can escape? And good old professional Mills gets his daughter to throw grenades so he can hear where she is, cheers dad.

When you realise that the films most tense moment is watching Kim parallel park, you know that your in trouble.

Like Mills says to the chief bad guy at the end 'I'm tired of all this'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taken 2 - Limited Edition Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews