Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ston(e)kingly good album, 3 Feb 2010
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
For the uninitiated, the first shock on listening to this is discovering that it was recorded in 2008, and not some eighty years earlier. The second is that the artist is, in fact, a young Australian and not a grizzled Delta bluesman holed up in some southern swamp.

Perfectly capturing various musical styles and moods of the twenties and thirties without the slightest hint of pastiche - field holler, calypso, blues, voodoo and folk are all brilliantly represented - the album is a joy from start to finish and is even better than Stoneking's stirring debut 'King Hokum'.

The likes of Ry Cooder and Taj Mahal have been here before, but whereas Cooder in particular had the unerring knack of uncovering and reviving precious gems from a long-gone era, here with the exception of Wilmoth Houdini's 'Brave Son of America' these are all original compositions by Stoneking that you'd bet your mortgage had been around for generations, such is their apparent authenticity and uncanny attention to detail.

'Jungle Blues', 'Jungle Lullaby', 'The Love Me Or Die' and the Houdini cover are simply inspired, the real standouts in a truly striking collection.

It all sounds remarkably like the soundtrack to a retro movie that's just waiting to be shot. The man's a true original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 17 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
Even better - if that's possible - than his debut, King Hokum.

There's something that should be incredibly uncomfortable about a white Australian in his 20s singing in the style of those granular delta blues recordings from the 1920s and 30s, but this is pure genius - with no element of pastiche: somehow this is the real thing.

Jungle Blues seems a darker, less comic album than King Hokum, but has even greater variety - the high points for me being the cover of Wilmoth Houdini's Brave Son of America, the title track, and the wonderful Jungle Lullaby.

Don't miss this. A real original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you "get" this you will love it, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
What a strange record! It is a true throwback to the 20's and thirties and I absolutely love it. If you've been to New Orleans you will have seen bands and artists like this perfoming in bars and clubs all over the place. This album will appear to young blues aficionados and those who are in to Mumford and Sons and the like, but I could give this to my mother and she'd love it as well. I just hope the PC police keep their paws off this as I have heard rumblings of dissent about a white Australian in his mid thirties recreating this sound with a deep "negro" voice. This doesn't appear to be a pastiche, he really means it and I'd recommend an interview in Word magazine to prove it. I sense someone who really loves this sort of music and is trying to make it as authentic as possible. Or are we all being gulled?

Anyway, as it stands this album is fascinating and fantastic and a cult hit in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leicester Bangs Review (2010):, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Leicester Bangs "words-R-us" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
C.W. Stoneking - Jungle Blues (King Hokum)
C.W. Stoneking is a young, white Australian bloke who shouldn't be bringing out records like this. "Jungle Blues" is definitely a blues album; one that sounds like it was beamed in from another age, when old country and jazz were equally important influences. His old timey style brings to mind musicians who would have been found on street corners a century ago, as well as reasonably well known performers such as Louis Armstrong (when the trumpet kicks in) and Jimmie Rodgers when he's yodeling.

Stoneking and "Jungle Blues" doesn't really sound like either them, but if you're a fan of Dr. John's "Gris Gris", or Tom Waits' early records, you owe it to yourself to at least have a listen. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 19 Nov 2010
By 
Dean Calculator (newport, gwent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
Saw this guy on "Later with Jools Holland" ,and my brain couldnt compute what i was hearing. A white 30 something Aussie guy sounding like a black 60 year old american blues singer
This album is brilliant ,5 or 6 great tracks on here .I love "early in the morning" and"brave son of america" and the brilliant "jungle lullaby"

My favourite this year ,where does Jools Holland find them ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mistah Kurtz, he sing, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
I've heard some strange albums in my time, and this is among the strangest. The sleeve notes and constructed authenticity have an air of Dr John's Gris-gris while Stoneking's voice - an incongruous "he's never white!" mix of Louis Prima and gravelly while still young Ralph Stanley - sounds like it's been conjured from a sharecropping plantation deep in the Louisiana swamp. Not a single weak song on an album that proves that the format isn't quite dead yet through sheer force of character. A wonderfully textured study of the Southern Macabre with just a hint of Conrad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Blues, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
I saw this band by accident on the Jules Holland programme and was blown away. The slightly eccentric presentation may have had something to do with the appeal - think Temperance Seven - but it is obvious that he has a real feeling for blues music and the fact that he has written all tracks bar one - Son of America - shows C W's involvement. The arrangements and band's musicianship is on a par with the blues and New Orleans bands of old - trumpet and trombone especially - and the authenticity of his feeling for the blues sticks out a mile. BUY THIS CD IF YOU LIKE BLUES AND OLD FASHIONED JAZZ!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
Feels like new orleans, feels like blues, feels like steamboats, trains and cotton pinking. Stoneking has his unique style, and shows perfection in what he does. Even though very strongly influenced in early blues and jazz his songs are still unique. Divine vocals. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Madness!, 6 Oct 2009
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
I saw a short clip of C.W.Stoneking on a recent television show and was captivated by the structure of his band and the style of music that he performed. If 'twenties jazz is your cup of tea, this is for you. All the tracks bar one are by CW but all lean heavily on New Orleans and the Delta for their content. Buy, try it, enjoy it for its simplicity and the happiness it will bring.

Mick Bramich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jungle Blues (Audio CD)
Just great and where did he learn to sing like that in the land down under well worth a listen it will stick with you throught out the rest of your life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jungle Blues
Jungle Blues by C.W. Stoneking
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews