Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Steamy and Romantic
Kara Crawford has lots of experience when it comes to not being good enough. She could never be exactly what her parents expected her to be, although she gave up her dream of being an artist for them. And her last boyfriend left her as soon as she shared her kinky fantasies with him. By this stage in her life she has accepted that she will never live up to whatever...
Published on 5 May 2013 by Marleen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Again good read - but repetitive to book 1
Read both books available Pleasures Edge and the second Desires Edge.

This booked is based on two different characters, Dante (who was best friends with Alec in book 1), the experienced Dom and Kara an old school friend. They both meet at a friends party and re-aquaint themselves. Alec and Kara have an instant attraction to each other and they soon jumping in...
Published on 9 April 2013 by Sal P


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Again good read - but repetitive to book 1, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Read both books available Pleasures Edge and the second Desires Edge.

This booked is based on two different characters, Dante (who was best friends with Alec in book 1), the experienced Dom and Kara an old school friend. They both meet at a friends party and re-aquaint themselves. Alec and Kara have an instant attraction to each other and they soon jumping in to bed.

Again this book is focused on BDSM and the club scene, which (as in book 1) is exciting and sizzling.

Unfortunately I found the story line too similar to the first book, and the intimate sex scenes just to repetitive (although well written).

The two characters from book 1, are mentioned briefly when they meet by chance at a restaurant and there is scene with Alec and Dante in the pub. Other than that, there is not much connection/continuation from the first book.

I wish the story could have elaborated on the relationship or provided a bit more drama outside the BDSM scene - just to give the story some more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steamy and Romantic, 5 May 2013
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Kara Crawford has lots of experience when it comes to not being good enough. She could never be exactly what her parents expected her to be, although she gave up her dream of being an artist for them. And her last boyfriend left her as soon as she shared her kinky fantasies with him. By this stage in her life she has accepted that she will never live up to whatever expectations others may have of her. And if that means giving up on the dream of love and security, so be it. Not chancing her heart has to be better than having it broken. So when she meets Dante De Matteo, years after she last saw him in high school, she is happy to admit to the heat between them, delighted to give into the pull of that attraction and ecstatic when it turns out that his sexual desires mirror hers exactly. With him she can live out her dark fantasies without risking her heart. Or so she tells herself.

Dante De Matteo has his own reasons for never allowing his heart into the relationships he has. He needs to be in total control of everything and everybody in his life. This makes him the perfect Dom when it comes to casual relationships and playing out scenes with willing subs in his local BDSM club, The Pleasure Dome. But he doesn't do love, doesn't believe in commitment and all the risks that carries with it. And casual pleasure is enough; he doesn't need anything more. Or so he tells himself.

When Kara and Dante meet by coincidence during a housewarming party it doesn't take long for the heat between them to ignite. Neither does it take them long to discover that they are erotically made for each other. Dante loves to give what Kara aches to receive. And so they find themselves drawn to each other; incapable of denying the pleasures they bring each other, even if it does mean conducting a more or less secret affair.

But while their bodies and their heads are more than willing, their hearts are unable to play ball. While neither of them is looking for love and both of them are convinced that they are unable of truly committing to another, neither of them can stop their feelings from growing stronger. These feelings however could tear them apart just as easily as they might bring them together. What happens when the fear of love and commitment is as strong as the need to be together?

This was a charming and very erotic romance. Kara and Dante are interesting and strong characters. Both of them have plausible reasons for being afraid of love and commitment, and for the most part the way their relationship develops - or fails to develop depending on how you want to look at it - makes perfect sense. I liked the fact that for most of the story these two characters managed to find a way to communicate with each other, despite their fears. Maybe they weren't completely honest with themselves or each other but that fitted perfectly into the story and didn't upset me.

"Don't think about it. Just enjoy it. Enjoy him."

A very large part of the story in this book is told through the sexual encounters between Kara and Dante. Their relationship builds through their kinky encounters, their characters develop as a result of the discoveries they make while they're engaged in steamy scenes and the story is pushed forward by Kara's introduction into the world of power-play and Dante's discovery that maybe there is more to intimacy than just that. I'm in awe that Eve Berlin managed to write a predominantly sex-based story that delivered so much more than just tantalising scenes. Because it's not always about the sexy descriptions; sometimes the beauty of a story is in simple sentences like:

"He was so comfortable with her."

It was the small things I loved; the way Dante, in all his Dominance, just wants to please Kara, make her experience all the sensations she had only been dreaming about until then. I adored the way they both opened up to each other almost despite their better judgments. Neither of them thinks they are ready for or want a relationship beyond wonderful sex. Both of them think they have perfect reasons for avoiding a relationship. And yet, they find themselves establishing one without acknowledging it, to each other or to themselves.

"And he was so full of s***. Because for the first time in his life, something was happening that he didn't entirely have control over. And that something was Kara Crawford."

Because this story is told from both Kara's and Dante's perspective the reader has a wonderful opportunity to see how both of them change and grow into the relationship neither of them thought they wanted. I find that when a story is told in this way it is easier to get caught up in the story, easier to connect with the characters in question and understand what is happening.

Overall I enjoyed this steamy and very romantic book tremendously. My one, minor, objection to this book? There is one point in the development of the relationship that is just too similar to what happened in Pleasure's Edge. It seemed to me that the reaction of both characters and the way they felt and behaved afterwards was almost a carbon copy of what I had read before. Mind you, this won't stop me from reading the third book, Temptation's Edge, in the very near future. I do hope though that I won't come across that particular development again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
What a great story i loved Dante and Kara and it was nice for Alex and Dylan to come back into the story. Would recommend this trilogy and can't wait for the third book Temptations Edge and Mischa and Connor's story. well done Eve Berlin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another good book it's worth a read. With lots of detail and also gives you ideas to help your sex life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't buy all 3, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Good book with fairly good story line but a little predictable in places. I would recommend read one of the trilogy but not all three. These books are about 3 different couples so you really wouldn't miss out on what happened next basis. Story lines are all pretty similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars desires edge, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book but I missed the 2 characters from book 1. But still good story and some really good saucy scenes. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book, however very similar to the first book, it just focuses on different characters from the first, Dante and Kara, although Alec and Dylan are mentioned. Worth the read for the next instalment to the first but was a little disappointed about the similarities .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me on the edge, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic story can't wait to read the next book,that's why I gave this book a five star rating I would recommend it to anyone who wants a really great story to read, I could almost feel the power struggle between the Dante and Kara over there true feelings for one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars desires edge, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
great story line well writen characters brillant very entertaining story keeps you on the edge of your seat well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire's Edge (The Edge Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Dome series, I cant wait for the final part to come out. Highly recommended most enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews