Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monster Hunter is still in fine form!
Ever since Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate was announced, I've been itching to get my hands on it and sink hundreds of hours into it. This game is definitely a system-seller for the Wii U and, having purchased a Wii U just to play this game, I can safely say that it is worth the money.

-----
Story
-----

For anyone who's played a Monster Hunter...
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by Game Reviews

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shiny new ness
Basically this is the old WII game with new graphics and the odd new feature. If you've played these games before and you are not a fan boy theirs not a lot to keep you playing as you would have seen all this before. If you not played these games before would recommend you give it a try especially in multiplayer which can be a laugh with friends.

I do like the...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. A. R. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monster Hunter is still in fine form!, 25 Mar. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Ever since Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate was announced, I've been itching to get my hands on it and sink hundreds of hours into it. This game is definitely a system-seller for the Wii U and, having purchased a Wii U just to play this game, I can safely say that it is worth the money.

-----
Story
-----

For anyone who's played a Monster Hunter game before, you'll know there isn't much of a story behind it all. Across all games released so far the story consists of a few tutorials and then you're told to just go and kill big, angry things. Similar to Monster Hunter Tri, you begin the solo game as a new monster hunter. You arrive in a village that is being struck by strange earthquakes and, as a monster hunter, it's your job to discover what's causing these quakes and, ultimately, stop it. As far as story details go, that's it. After that, it's getting a few mediocre, perhaps even tedious quests out of the way before you've given access to some of the bigger, badder monsters.

-----
Graphics
-----

Whilst this game is essentially an update of Monster Hunter Tri that was released on the Wii around three years ago, CAPCOM have done a good job ensuring that the game looks and plays really well. Making good use of the Wii U's graphics, monsters look as realistic as they ever have, monster animations are really smooth and fluid and your hunter moves, attacks and reacts in a much better way overall. Players who experienced the Wii version will definitely notice how much more vibrant the colours are and how the monsters look.

Still, it's not without its faults. Despite being re-vamped onto the Wii U, you can clearly see in some areas that no extra detail was added. Backdrops in some areas (noticably the desert zones) are faded, colourless and bland. It's not THAT much of an issue but I couldn't help but feel that it does take away from the overall experience in comparison. However, the areas that you DO get to venture around in and hunt are wonderfully detailed and bring that zone alive. The sandy desert areas sport cactuses, hills and stretching landscapes that go on forever whilst the deserted island zones sport waterfalls, trees and wildlife. Little things like this really help to make the world you're in feel alive and colourful but, as I said, it's not without some small faults.

-----
Gameplay
-----

Monster Hunter games don't have a story to follow or plots to discover. In Monster Hunter, it's very simple - choose a weapon and go and kill very big monsters. To anyone who's ever played a Monster Hunter game before (especially the latest, Monster Hunter Tri) this game will make you feel right at home. Without making it sound like a negative point, it's much the same game as the one that was released on the original Wii. That is in no way a bad thing though as hunting monsters over and over with different weapons, armours and skills are what make Monster Hunter! However, I'm getting ahead of myself here! There might be people reading this who've never played Monster Hunter before. If you are one of those people, let me fill you in on what you've been missing.

***If you've played Monster Hunter/Monster Hunter Tri before, read below***

MH3U might be a new game on a new system but for all intent and purpose, MH3U is essentially a better version of Monster Hunter Tri. If you have a Wii and Monster Hunter Tri, you might be wondering why you should go out and potentially buy a brand new console and this game if it's the same. Well, there are a few changes now and MH3 Ultimate offers you more weapons, armours, items, monsters and areas to explore than ever before. There are new monsters to fight (some from older games make an appearance, like Silver Rathalos and Plesioth) to bring the total number of monsters available to hunt and kill to a massive fifty-one! Sadly though, you WILL have to start from fresh even if you played Mh Tri as there is currently no way to transfer your data over. Honestly though, that's not a bad thing as, even though this game is basically Monster Hunter Tri, it has enough new content and changes to be considered a brand new game. Starting over won't feel like a chore with all the new stuff to play with.

Four weapon types have been added into the game as well - Dual Blades, Bow, Gunlance and Hunting Horn. Fans will remember these from the PSP verisons of Monster Hunter and they now make a welcome return to MH3U. Combine this with hundreds more items, armours and weapons to craft and upgrade, it's hard to fault. If you sunk a lot of hours into Monster Hunter Tri then prepare to sink a whole lot more into this game! Buy it!

***If you've never played Monster Hunter before, read below***

You start the game off in a small, quaint village that is being struck by strange earthquakes. There's a lot to get used to and for the next two to three hours you'll be staring at tutorials that try to ease you in gently. You'll learn things like where the spots to gather materials are and how to fight and dodge. It helps to repeat these tutorials if you need to as you won't be getting many reminders after that and the game does get much harder and more punishing in thelater quests! The thought of loads of tutorials is frightening indeed but trust me, you won't actually need them all. After an hour or so of play, you'll have virtually everything you need to know to progress confidently.

Whilst there's no story to the game, the idea is that you progress up through the ranks by completing numerous quests. At first, you only have access to the lowest level quests which limits what you can do. However, stick with it and you'll soon unlock the next level of quests and with that, new monsters to fight and areas to explore. You might be thinking that fighting one monster over and over is boring and repetitive. I can't deny that Monster Hunter games are repetitive but that's the fun of the game.

There are twelve different weapon types to play with througout the game and you can change/choose between any of them whenever you like. The greatsword is slow but heavy whilst the dual blades offer fast, precise strikes whilst allowing you to easily dodge enemies. The hammer can knock monsters out, allowing you more time to attack them or, if you're more of a range kind of player, you can try your hand at using the bow, light bowgun or heavy bowgun weapons. You're bound to have a favourite weapon type but don't let that stop you from trying out the others! That's what hunting monsters is all about!

So, you've read this far but you want to know how to kill those monsters and progress? Once you've defeated a monster, you can carve it to obtain various pieces of it. Scales, hides, horns, tails and loads more items can be obtained. Heading back to the village with your new items in your bag, you can dash to the blacksmith and see what new armours and weapons you can make. This is where you're going to rack up the hours on Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate. There are HUNDREDS of weapons and armours to create and combine, each with their own skills and abilities. Each weapon or armour piece requires a certain amount of materials and, if you don't quite meet them, you need to go and find them if you want that weapon or armour piece. This is where the grinding/repetitive element of Monster Hunter comes into play. Invest enough time into the game and you'll soon be hunting the biggest, baddest monsters you've ever seen in the hopes of making awesome armours and weapons out of it!

You might think that fighting monsters over and over is going to get boring eventually. With all the different weapons and armours you can mix up and try, it's hard to see how anyone can get bored whilst playing this game. However, if you feel like you need an extra pair of hands (or three) you can hop online and head into the Tanza Port area to meet up with other hunters and take down those monsters. It goes without saying that playing online is where you'll be spending most of your time. Hunting with friends and other people will simply make time fly and it never, ever gets old or boring! I strongly recommend hopping online when you feel comfortable! You will easily sink hundreds of hours into this game.

The Wii U's GamePad can be used to play the game but whilst the game utilizes the GamePad's interactive touch-screen, I feel that it isn't that useful. Whilst playing with the pad, you can look at the small screen and see things like your inventory, the map and other helpful accessories. In theory, this is a good idea that makes the most of the Wii U's technology but for me personally, I don't use it. Having purchased a Wii U Pro controller, I find that it fits more comfortably in my hand. There's no denying that the GamePad is comfortable but with the distance between the buttons and the analogue stick positions, I found the controller more appealing. Give the GamePad a try though, you might really like it!

Fans of the series will lap this game up and squeeze hundreds of hours of enjoyment out of it. Newcomers will be pleasantly surprised at how accessible the game is but there's still a chance they may be put off by the repetitive nature of the game. It goes without saying that Monster Hunter games will never change their nature and if you dislike the grinding/repetitive elements of the game then you won't find that Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is any different from the others. Graphically, it looks and plays great on the Wii U but it's a shame there is some visual blandness in areas and backdrops. Don't be scared by the nature of the game - stick with it. Monster Hunter is not a game you can pick up, play for an hour and have everything unlocked. It demands A LOT of your time. If you want to jump into a game with hundreds of hours of content whilst killing monsters with insane weapons and armours whilst chatting to friends then buy this game. It will not let you down!

PROS
+ More monsters to slay, items to collect and stuff to make
+ Added customization
+ Easily accessible to new players
+ Challenging at the later levels
+ Online capabilities keep the game fresh and active
+ Can transfer your data to your 3DS copy and vice-versa

CONS
- Slow to start (but it gets better!)
- Graphical capabilities of the Wii U could have been pushed more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible game, great addition to the Wii U, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is a game with hundreds of hours of gameplay. It is a game about hunting monsters ranging from man sized to mountain sized creatures, and using all your wits, abilities, supplies and weapons to take them down. With hundreds of quests, dozens upon dozens of different monsters, and more than 10 different weapons(each of which dramatically change the way you engage any monster), there is a chance to get a sense of accomplishment unlike any other game.

Hunting is what you're here for, but that's not all this game has to offer. To improve your equipment and keep plenty of supplies, you're going to need materials, and Monster Hunter has always had an abundant of ways to get these vital materials, but never has it been so convenient here. Farming, sending ships out to distant shores, preparing meals, gathering quests, all help get materials, which in turn allow you to upgrade the literally hundreds of totally unique weapons and armors.

This game has a steep learning curve, all to do about learning what you need to stay alive to fight a monster, mastery of your weapon and learning to predict monster attacks by subtle movements. So, if you are in a volcano zone, you'll need cold drinks to stay alive long enough to even find the monster. When you do, what if they have poisonous attacks? You need antidotes then. But a limited travelling inventory means planning ahead is vital for success. As for mastery of a weapon, knowing what attacks can be easily chained together for big damage, how long they take and when you can block or roll out of danger are a must to survive any encounter, but to know when to block means you have to know which attack is coming. So, the subtle movements of monsters could mean the difference between a quick turn to face you, or two small turns to face you. The difference could be a charge or a fireball attack. Knowing what comes allows for a swift and possibly decisive counter-attack.

The games environments are separated into multiple zones, each with their own VERY short loading screen. This is both in tradition of older Monster Hunter games, but also allow you never be in a pointless environment, every area is key to something at some point, likely multiple times.

Another interesting dynamic is swimming combat, adding a whole new layer of strategy to hunting monsters. At first it may feel slow and difficult to control, but in no time, you'll be dipping and dodging around the multiple monsters that haunt the water.

But this is only the beginning of the expansive content, as Monster Hunter truly takes it's greatest strength, multiplayer. With the Wii U, you can join any other Monster Hunter in the Tavern and join forces to fight a particularly brutal monster. Actually, why stop at one partner, when you can have 3? 4 player online co-op allows you to hunt the toughest this game has to offer, and the Wii U gamepad allows voice chat without the extra cost of a mic.

Worth a buy, definitely. Look for the demo available to see if the gameplay interests you, and if so, prepare to enter the world of Monster Hunter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes up all your spare time. Be carefull., 1 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Never played any of the series so the game was a complete fresh quest for me. Can I say its pain staking to get into for the first 4-6 hours & I wondered if I had made the right choice a couple of times. control of player is a little clunky to start with but after playing zombie u for months you could say I was sort of used to that anyway LOL. You will get used to it & I recon if you persist like I did then the whole idea of the game will sink in & you will be hooked for sure. played the game just over a week & going to bed & work seems to be getting harder every day. its one of them games that gets better the more you play it. you can not take on the bigger monsters until you have the now how & weapons to do it. a big learning curve is in for anybody who is fresh to it like me but hell its worth it. complete the many tasks that are ahead & the rewards are worth it. recon this game might go on for months. hope so.
*Nice Graphics
*Very in depth/challenging gameplay
*Extremely rewarding
*Commitment needed in droves
*Not for the young kids
well all I can say is buy it if you think its the right game for you to play!!! if you are a casual player maybe it is not the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Hunting, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I recently got Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate as a free download after purchasing Mario Kart 8 for my son from amazon, I had been wanting monster hunter 3 for some time and when I saw this offer I thought great, why not!
I own Freedom Unite on the psp, which itself is a great game but Ultimate on the Wii U is superb. You can tell from the environments and textures that it was made for the Wii originally, but that said it now has the lovely sharpness and clarity of HD and actually it does look pretty nice, the best a monster hunter title has anyway. The monsters themselves are what this game is all about and here Capcom have done a fantastic job, they look amazing and their animation is superb this makes hunting a giant monster a joy, at first you just want to get a good look at them! The monster AI is great too making battles a truly epic affair, the need for advanced planning before you set off on a hunt is essential.
Game pad integration is excellent, with many customisable layouts and options, I haven't tried them all yet but there are options to suit your choice of weapon type.
A great gaming experience, I have yet to try online multiplayer but I know that this is all I'm going to be playing for the next few months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I've put hundreds of hours into this game over the last year and I never get sick of it. This game alone convinced three of my friends to buy Wii U's. It's not everyone's cup of tea, a steep learning curve and difficult battles may turn off casual players, but there's a great sense of reward and accomplishment in hard earned victory after great preparation and teamwork that you can't get with many other games. Any fans of the Phantasy Star Online series should feel right at home here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time player - awesome!, 4 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Each monster you fight feels like am epic final boss fight. There is no health on the monster and you have to go by how injured it looks to give you some indication on how long is left until it dies or to capture it.

You can play single player offline quests - It's took me 40 hours to get to the end of the offline quests. There are also online quests called guild quests where you can play with people online or if you choose to, by yourself with 2 npc helpers. The monsters are also harder in online mode but you get more rewards.

This was my first time trying the game, so to anyone who is in my position, I suggest giving it a few hours until you get into it. I wanted to play with my girlfriend straight away so we went to the guild quests instead of offline, it was hard but very rewarding when you actually beat your first monster.

Pros:
Lengthy game - you can spend well over 100 hours on this.
Epic monster fights with each one different than the other.
Craft weapons/armour/items made from monsters you hunt and you end up looking like them.
Can play with your friend who has a 3DS version of the game for local play

Cons:
A little bit hard to get into if you are first time player like myself, just bare with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD Monster Hunter Tri, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Runeweaver - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
If you have played MH tri on the wii you know what your getting with MH3U its the same set up,the village is the same the quests are the same.
The graphics have been brought upto date,they arnt amazing in comparison to other current gen games,but compared to MHT on the wii they are a major improvement

They are a few changes for instance the online quests can be done offline as well,and you download event quests and can keep doing them whenever you want, rather than the quests changing every few weeks.

There are a few new areas and monsters,though most of the monsters are just slightly modified versions of older ones,for instance the Wroggi are poisonous versions of the Jaggi,but it does make the game more interesting.

Overall the game is just a polished version of TRI,but that isnt a bad thing,the controls are near perfect and the monsters are challenging without becoming impossible,though its likely you will find one or two that are a major problem for you,normally dependent on the weapon you use,I prefer the lance and gunlance so anything that can get behind me quick or has an unblockable attack are a pain,but you just have to find you own tactics to beat them.

This game is the reason I bought a Wii U, and with the 100s of hours im going to be playing it over the next few months its money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty fun game, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
A gaming style of its own, monster hunter series -and this wiiU ultimate version- is a unique playing experience. Inheritating both previous versions of Wii and PSP, better parts of them I tsay, t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Great game. This is my first Monster Hunter game and it is really good fun.

After the first few hours I felt the game was simple and a bit dry. However, when you start proper hunting and dipping into the online play the game really ramps up.

I have played about 30 hours and am still on a very low online level of play but still the game is so fun to go on a hunt with players from all over the world with the outcome undecided until the final few seconds is a real thrill.

As there are not many Wii U games out there it is fantastic this game has a huge amount of content that will last several months. A must buy and I would strongly recommend getting the system to play this game as for me it is the best online multiplayer you could experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game on Wii u, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
If your a big monster hunter fan like i am you will know what to expect from this game. Giant monsters and loads of weapons and armours to make out of them but to the review at hand.

Monster hunter 3 ultimate is if monster hunter tri and portable 3rd had a baby. It would make this game its tri plus alot more extra features like a giant add on pack. Most stuff is from portable 3rd.

Gameplay
The game play is exactly like previous monster hunter games. Dodging monster, sprinting, gathering, and attacking all done on the wii u gamepad or another control thats plugged in. The controller is awkward at first to use but once you get used to it your be a pro hunter in no time. You can also customize your panel on the touch screen or if somone wants to watch the tv then you can just switch the game onto the wii u gamepad to enjoy in your hands. Plus you got the HD graphics and resolution which is amazing on this game.

The bad things about this game.

they took out co op arena which i thought was silly i really enjoyed playing that with friends.

They could have added loads of new monsters to the game most of them are just subspecies and there's only a couple of new monsters

the bad thing about these games is when they make them they take out monsters and put in others they cant keep both of them in for unkown reasons.

the online is a hit and miss it needs to be updated most the time your disconnecting.

The good things about this game

G rank is in the game.

A new element (Slime).

it plays well on the wii u.

it gets DLC and updates every so often.

But yeah monster hunter 3 ultimate is a fantastic game and i do recommend it for the wii u its worth the money and it will bring hours of joy Thanks for reading this review and if you do purchase the game i hope you enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate  (Nintendo Wii U)
Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii U)
£34.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews