Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto for Everyone
A Grand Theft Auto environment that kids can enjoy. My son absolutely adores it, whether progressing the story (well acted and with good jokes), or just travelling around finding cunningly hidden secrets in the free-to-roam environment. Further abilities and areas open up as the game progresses - not just buildings but whole new regions of the world. Good use of the...
Published 10 months ago by Starbuck Powersurge

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Wii U's best exclusives has some of the worst loading times.
The loading times in this game can last from thirty seconds to a minute, and yes, I've timed them to see how long exactly it'd take then there's the other "problem" that the game can only be played on a TV because if I wanted to just play the entire game on the GamePad such thing is not possible as it doesn't allow to.

GamePad's screen is used as a GPS device...
Published 5 months ago by P. Marck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto for Everyone, 24 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
A Grand Theft Auto environment that kids can enjoy. My son absolutely adores it, whether progressing the story (well acted and with good jokes), or just travelling around finding cunningly hidden secrets in the free-to-roam environment. Further abilities and areas open up as the game progresses - not just buildings but whole new regions of the world. Good use of the GamePad - early on you are introduced to interactive maps, videocalls and a movement-sensitive scanner that you use to look around for secrets.

I enjoy it as a gamer, and even more so as a parent (its a good game to explore together with a child, and has buckets of longevity).

Wii U owners - don't let it slip under your radar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, Entertaining Police Type Adventures, 30 July 2014
By 
G. Bright "chronically sedulous" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
If you enjoyed "The Lego Movie"'s sense of humour, you're certainly going to have an entertaining time with this. Set in the absolutely massive world of Lego City (and quite a few surrounding locations) - you take on the role of Chase McCain in his bid to track down an escaped criminal at large, Rex Fury. This you'll do by exploration, smashing up lots and lots of stuff, building other stuff and wearing disguises each with their own special abilities.

POSITIVE
- Not too hard, not excessively easy, making the playthrough a pleasant and involving experience.
- The immersion is increased with the reams of audio - characters hold conversations with one another that you can listen into, and Chase McCain himself often comments about the experiences he is going through during levels.
- Travelling the expansive, free-roaming world is thrilling and never gets old.
- The plot is full of humourous dialogue, situations and great characters. I have laughed out loud quite a bit!
- The game lifespan is very strong. I've been playing it for quite a few hours now and haven't even reached 10% yet.
- The Lego aesthetic is played into in a fun and clever way.
- The Wii U gamepad is also incorporated in a clever manner, and doesn't feel surplus or unecessary.

NEGATIVE
- Loading times are pretty painful (especially the one for loading the Lego City map itself) but it is to be expected with maps that large and you'll get used to them with a little patience.
- The game autosaves, but not your location. If you turn the game off you'll always start from outside the Police Station. Really annoying if you were partway through a mission that's far away from that point. Best to play a mission all the way through to get around this.
- The game can be a little too hand hold-y at times, and there doesn't seem to be an option to turn the guidance notes off.
- You can't add your own comments when posting game snapshots to Miiverse.
- Can't skip cutscenes if you've already seen them.
- Maybe this is deliberate, but trying to control vehicles is tricky. They swing around all over the place and make it hard to avoid obstacles.

Despite these downsides, the lovable feel to the game and the fun I've had playing it helps me to look past the irritating aspects and give it top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and entertaining!, 8 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
In a way I'd describe this as a kiddy GTA, apart from your a cop and made of Lego. The gist of the game is you run around the city solving crimes, chasing bad guys with the main agenda of catching an escaped prisoner called Rex Fury. As far as this game goes, it's not hard in the least; It's just really fun, some great comedy moments and some cool film references also. The graphics are really slick and the game makes great use of the WiiU gamepad. It's quite a long game and to kill time you can also free roam the city, jumping into cars and finding ramps to fly off. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We are both in our thirties and we enjoy playing the game together, 15 Oct 2014
By 
K. Wong (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
purchased a download copy of this via the Game website and started playing it yesterday. We are both in our thirties and we enjoy playing the game together. It is a single player game but it is nice to have someone look out for clues etc together.

I also own Pikmin 3, MK8, Wonderful 101, ZombiU, Wii U Party, Child of light amongst others but City undercover is my favourite so far. Pikmin and Wonderul 101 are good too but they take too much time/attention. MK8 is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On a par if not better than Mario 3D, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Buy it - £40 well spent. Months of Game play. 5 year old loves it (as do Mum & Dad). I'm a huge Mario fan so if Mario were 100% this would be 99%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Wii u game, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Buy this game if you have children / Grandchildren, they love the game, so much action in it, some days they just love driving all the collections of transport ...you can use a scanner to look for keys etc needed to go onto next level..
Even with the new Movie Game, they love this game more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 13 Feb 2014
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game is a must buy people with awesome missions and crashes it is a DEFINITE must buy PEOPLE OF EARTH!!

LOL =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every ps4 owner should get a wii u!, 3 Feb 2014
By 
N. Moore "Neco" (St Albans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Such a great game! I have a ps3 & ps4, I hated the xbox one so sold it! Took a chance and got a wii u and have not looked back! This game is funny, fun and taxing! Love it! Reason to own a wii u!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This game proves that travellers tales can make lego games not based off movies., 2 July 2014
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game proves that travellers tales can make lego games not based off movies.It has a cool Grand theft auto feel that is family friendly,since you're a cop and running people over won't kill them.Plus it uses the gamepad so well. in the game itself,your character uses a portable device that nearly looks like the gamepad (it's even the same colour as the basic pack's one) and you can use it as a gps,video caller and use it as an x-ray camera of some sought.
Overall,it's a great,challenging and humerus game. if you're new to wii u,i highly recommend picking up the lego city bundle wherever you can,and it's quite cheap as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Wii U's best exclusives has some of the worst loading times., 1 Jun 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
The loading times in this game can last from thirty seconds to a minute, and yes, I've timed them to see how long exactly it'd take then there's the other "problem" that the game can only be played on a TV because if I wanted to just play the entire game on the GamePad such thing is not possible as it doesn't allow to.

GamePad's screen is used as a GPS device but even then games like GTA have always had the information in one screen so it just goes to show that this game could've worked, however, the devs of LCU didn't do it or had the time to. Last tech issue, the graphics while they're very good it just doesn't seem to hit Wii U's potential graphically quality and the framerate at times isn't too consistent but more likely than not you won't be having FPS problems.

Aside from the technical issues, the game is great, it's quite long and funny but the main character is a pretty goofy cop which doesn't seem to know what he should do as a police officer or if people ask him to do tasks he shouldn't need to as, you know, he's a cop so priority should've been given to him although I'll admit that'd make the game shorter, yeah. Even though the Wii U won't have a GTA game, this is as close as it'll get and in this regard it's pretty great whether for kids or adults, I'm enjoying the game and I'm 24 so despite its kiddy-look this is for anyone who wants a fun quality game. Lego City Undercover also has DLC available for it through the LEGO City 60007: High Speed Chase pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U)
LEGO City Undercover (Nintendo Wii U) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii U)
£44.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews