Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any new George Shearing CD is worth buying...a must for George Shearing fans
Having been a fan of George Shearing for decades and having seen him just once in concert & with Mel Torme I was excited to hear about this new CD. I heard a track played on a radio show a few weeks back and decided to hunt the CD down.
All of the inimitable Shearing style and wit are to be found in these recordings that were made at him home. My favourite because I...
Published 13 months ago by C. FULLER

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not he best of george shearing
poor quality recording

this non studio recording suffers from a lack of distinct notes and good balance between the instruments. I have a George shearing studio recording solo piano which is out of this world - totally sublime
Published 6 months ago by john david clapson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any new George Shearing CD is worth buying...a must for George Shearing fans, 16 Aug 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Home (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of George Shearing for decades and having seen him just once in concert & with Mel Torme I was excited to hear about this new CD. I heard a track played on a radio show a few weeks back and decided to hunt the CD down.
All of the inimitable Shearing style and wit are to be found in these recordings that were made at him home. My favourite because I feel it is a definitive performance has to be that of "Laura" but there are so many lovely tunes and performances to be heard. I just wish Alan Dell had still been alive and presenting a radio show as he would have featured this many times.
Pricewise a bargain...a must for George Shearing fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you should buy this, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Home (Audio CD)
One of Georges's best. Very relaxed and unrestricted. A joy to listen to. Beautifully recorded. You will not be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Shearing At Home, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Home (Audio CD)
A beautiful record. To get two matters out of the way first, the recording quality on my copy, unlike one of the other reviewers, is fine, but the cardboard sleeve is a little flimsy and will not offer much long term protection to the disc.
After the quintet finally went, Shearing's favoured format seemed to be the duo. He had a number of very good discs and live sessions with various bassists, and this is one of the best of them. It dates from 1983, and purports to be an informal session recorded in Shearing's New York living room. Be that as it may, both recording and playing are impeccable.
Don Thompson, the bassist here, is both light and fast fingered. He lays down a supportive beat when needed, produces dexterous solo work and interplays as an equal with Shearing as part of the group. These are genuine duets and not simply piano accompanied by bass.
Shearing, as ever, has a beautiful sound on the piano, and couples it with an impeccable choice of tune. Most of the tunes are attractive ballads, both old ('Laura') and new ('A Time For Love'). but it is a varied programme, with a couple of modern jazz classics in 'Confirmation' and 'SubconsciousLee', and an old favourite of George's in 'The Skye Boat Song'. All are treated with respect and affection.
George wasn't always taken seriously by the jazz critics in the days of the quintet, but you realise, on listening to much of his later work, and this is one of the best, that he really was a class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not he best of george shearing, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Home (Audio CD)
poor quality recording

this non studio recording suffers from a lack of distinct notes and good balance between the instruments. I have a George shearing studio recording solo piano which is out of this world - totally sublime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The goods where all as described and delivered in good order.I can recommend the goods as delivered so you can buy with some confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece to add to my collection, 12 July 2013
By 
Music lover (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Home (Audio CD)
I like anything by George and this one is excellent. The only gripe I have is the presentation in a cheap cardboard sleeve. Surely the extra expense of a jewel case is warranted. The playing on this CD however is excellemt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Home
At Home by George Shearing (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews