Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music For A Quiet Night Indoors
A perfectly lovely collaboration between Danish producer Robin Braun
and Canadian singer/producer Mike Milosh. Comparisons with Sade are
not entirely unwarranted but listen beyond the obvious and there truly
are some cracking tunes here. Laid-back, mellow and soulful in a languid
long-shadowed-summer-Sunday-afternoon kind-of way; undemanding but...
Published on 17 Mar. 2013 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss
Some beautiful tracks on the album, but I find it hard to listen to all the way through. Milosh's vocals grate ever so slightly on certain tracks, where I felt like I wanted him to sound less 'whiney'. It reminds me of other albums where the singer has a very distinctive sound (Lambchop comes to mind) which acts as an instrument as well as a vocal - it becomes a little...
Published on 31 Mar. 2013 by B. Douch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music For A Quiet Night Indoors, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Woman (Audio CD)
A perfectly lovely collaboration between Danish producer Robin Braun
and Canadian singer/producer Mike Milosh. Comparisons with Sade are
not entirely unwarranted but listen beyond the obvious and there truly
are some cracking tunes here. Laid-back, mellow and soulful in a languid
long-shadowed-summer-Sunday-afternoon kind-of way; undemanding but pure.

The biggest surprise is Mr Milosh's voice. Before I had done a little bit of
research I was quite certain that the voice I was listening to was female.
It's an extraordinary instrument; seamless from its upper falsetto register
down to its lower smooth and sultry tones. Seductive and effortless in equal
measure. I'm quite sure that it's one of the finest new voices on the block.

'Woman' is a wholly leisurely affair. I doubt if anyone broke even the
slightest sweat during the recording of its ten captivating compositions.
If I had to pick a couple of tracks for my desert island mix I'd plumb
for the beautiful harp-embroidered '3 Days' (the most jaunty invention in
the set) with its ethereal supporting vocal harmonies and 'Major Minor Love',
a haunting number a tad redolent of Maxwell at his most lyrical and lush.

Candles lit. Sofa cushions plumped. Decent Burgundy uncorked. Replay.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lies And Lullabies, 5 May 2013
This review is from: Woman (Audio CD)
It arrives cloaked in enigma and ambiguity, yet you only need a couple of listens to be sure: come December, this will be among the best debut albums of the year.

A Canadian / Danish duo (Mike Milosh / Robert Braun), Rhye offer a gliding take on blue-eyed pop-soul with bossa nove, Bacharach and disco leanings. It will leave you deeply entranced and rather surprised.

"Woman" is impeccably produced and arranged, strings and brass stylishly embroidering glinting, mostly mid-tempo opal-smooth beats. Think the Chic-Steely Dan-Avalon Roxy Bermuda Triangle: are you ready to disappear in there?

Yet all of this would be (nearly) nothing if two further elements would not add an extra twist to the tale of this minimally sleeved record.

Firstly, the lyrics are not typical. Given the musical ingredients, you would expect some schmaltzy gibberish about how your baby is the sunshine of your life and so on and so forth. Not here: the lyrics are indeed about love and sez, but they deploy laconic, effective imagery to convey their transience, implicit disappointment and not so metaphorical cannibalistic nature. The wordanto "3 Days" andf unger" are apt examples of this; when coupled with their elegant backings, they produce an off-beat mix of chic-driven cruelty.

And soon it becomes clear: the whole album is about love's corruption and man's fall from it, a pessimistic parable that very much resemnles life itself. If it sounds too depressing, never mind; the music will soothe all of your hurt.

The music, of course, AND the voice. Mike Milosh is apparently the singer on this project, yet what you hear is so utterly Other that it seems impossible that the owner of this instrument should be burdened by a detail as trivial as gender. Anyway, the quavering iridescence of this voice becomes the perfect glue that holds the hazy obsession of the music together. It is compelling, addictive and really pure in its sense of decay. It is also the best new voice so far this year.

"Woman" is a round white pebble on the river bank of tour memory. Pick it up, caress it slowly; it will tell you lies and lullabies that you thought you had forgotten. From that moment on, they will stay with you forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite records from 2013, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic record of minimalistic, sophisticated and sultry alternative R&B. Milosh's voice is the most immediate and striking feature, but Rhye furnish every track with interesting sonic flourishes. There are slinky synths, sublime strings, a couple of killer bass riffs and I could swear there is a harp in there somewhere too. There is a lot of open space in the sound and it is superbly engineered; so it sounds great with headphones. Whilst I think the record is incredibly consistent and there isn't a bad track, opener 'Open' and the second track 'The Fall' epitomise Rhye's fantastic formula. There is something about the repeating piano riff on 'The Fall' which just can't be put into words...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Woman by Rhye, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Really nice album. I am building my vinyl collection after taking my LP12 out of storage. This is great album both from the music and also from the quality of the pressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hmv sale 99p, 7 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Woman (Audio CD)
another triumph in the worth a punt for 99p stakes. cool laid back vibe in the Dido chillout area. Ideal wind down at the end of a busy day. Don't know who they are or why they did it, but glad that they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sade meets lana, 29 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Woman (MP3 Download)
This is a good album. Hadn't heard of her before. Picked up track in cafe Nero and went from there. Good, moody, thought provoking music. Listen to by candlelight with a glass of good wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 12 July 2013
By 
J. Araceli (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman (Audio CD)
I had heard a couple of songs from the album but the quality of the rest is just as good! Great soundtrack froma relaxing evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden pleasure that must be discovered!, 26 April 2015
By 
J. MOORE (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman (Audio CD)
Simply fab- cannot stop playing it- saw them in Tokyo a couple of weeks ago and they hit the spot! Spin it a couple of times and you get hooked- not a bad track on it- very talented group!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
B. Douch "Ben Douch" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman (MP3 Download)
Some beautiful tracks on the album, but I find it hard to listen to all the way through. Milosh's vocals grate ever so slightly on certain tracks, where I felt like I wanted him to sound less 'whiney'. It reminds me of other albums where the singer has a very distinctive sound (Lambchop comes to mind) which acts as an instrument as well as a vocal - it becomes a little too 'instrumental' in the feel of the track.

It's worth buying for 3 or 4 great tracks, but you might want to mix up your listening experience with something a little different sounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman (MP3 Download)
This is a great album, very chilled but emotive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woman
Woman by Rhye (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews