Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scavengers Daughter
Wasn't sure if I was going to like this but, couldn't put it down and cant wait for the next release on kindle. A good storyline. touching & emotional in parts and explored a subject that I had not given enough thought to.
Published 4 months ago by Rosalyn Green

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Kay Bratt Novel
This had all the makings of a fascinating read, but somehow it just missed.
The story should have been enthralling with the prologue setting the scene for the difficult life our character Benfu later endures. He is forced to scavenge among the rubbish to recycle and sell in order to support his adopted family. This family comprises his wife and girl babies he finds...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. B. W. Haynes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scavengers Daughter, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Wasn't sure if I was going to like this but, couldn't put it down and cant wait for the next release on kindle. A good storyline. touching & emotional in parts and explored a subject that I had not given enough thought to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant book! It was an eyeopener to read about the goings on in China in the very recent past. I now know things I never dreamed of that were going on in the world ,while I lived my comfortable life in the west.
Read this book, to follow the life of a very remarkable man who refused to accept however little one has, one can still make an enormous difference to the lives of others. I was also, having two much loved daughters myself, upset to learn how female children were abandoned just for the accident of their gender.
This was so the parents could try for a son (this was the time of the one child only, law in China). A lovely book I'm about to start on the sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Mary Katherine Conaghan (Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
This book in its own way introduces the reader to life in China during and after Mao's reign . It is absolutely mindboggling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scavenger's Daughters, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. Beautiful writing. Haven't enjoyed a book as much in a long time. Can't wait to read the next two instalments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scavenger's daughters, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
I found it to be a moving story and easy to read.it was fairly predictable but nevertheless enjoyable. I can recommend it to anyone wanting a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Kay Bratt Novel, 15 July 2013
By 
Mr. B. W. Haynes "b & e haynes" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This had all the makings of a fascinating read, but somehow it just missed.
The story should have been enthralling with the prologue setting the scene for the difficult life our character Benfu later endures. He is forced to scavenge among the rubbish to recycle and sell in order to support his adopted family. This family comprises his wife and girl babies he finds on his rounds and subsequently adopts. What's not to love?
Maybe it was just the mood I was in at the time, but, there appeared to be no depth in what could have been a literature prize winning contender. Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A dull read, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
This book has an interesting and exciting opening - but for some inexplicable reason the writer jumps from this story into the present and from that point on the novel looses all impact and intensity. I couldn't finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read and would recommend it, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
this novel is a wonderful book and I am very much looking forward to reading more by the author. The story is well paced and left room for additional exploration of many of the characters in further books.
Each daughter is presented with unique story and brings to mind the fate of many young girls born in a country where males are the most desired child to have in a one child policy. The imbalance of too many males in a society will bring a sad turn of events if there are not enough brides to go around.
I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Eventually a very entertaining book to read. It took along time to really get into, but went along very nicely after that, I thought at first that we would have a bit more depth to his escape and the follow up from there but maybe that is for another book. Reasonably well written but a tame if not feel good factor ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good story spoiled, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scavenger's Daughters (Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
This book is interesting in that it gives an insight into the China of the past and the present. However it was spoilt for me by the poor language - it was full of American anachronisms and very poor grammer. I read it to the end but would not read the sequels as it made such irritating reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Only search this product's reviews