Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding replacement for 128GB SSD found in Samsung ultrabooks, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Richard Lewis "reeshar" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
This is one of the fastest SSD replacement drive on the market and a slot-in replacement for the Sandisk 128GB SSD found in several ultrabooks, including my Samsung Series 9. Windows 7 boot time from cold start to login prompt is now around 8 seconds. If you read about the drive on the Net you will also find that it is one of the most heavily tested before leaving the factory which should mean it is one of the most reliable.

To copy across the file system I clipped the new SSD into a "Syba mSATA SSD to 2.5 inch SATA Adapter" (also from Amazon) and put it into an external USB SATA drive enclosure which I then connected to the ultrabook. I then created a bootable USB memory stick containing Clonezilla and used that to boot the uptrabook and mirror the entire contents of the internal 128GB drive onto the external Plextor drive.

If you have a Series 9 then opening the case is relatively easy - undo all the visible screws on the base then gently lift away prising very gently close to the back plastic hinge which is held in place by small plastic clips which pop release. Remove the sticky damping pad from the Sandisk drive, unscrew the drive and substitute the Plextor,and finally replace the damping pad. The laptop booted straight up into Windows and simply required a reboot once it had recognised a change of drive.

The only remaining issue was how to create a new drive letter. As Samsung had created four primary partitions (the maximum) the only choice I had was to delete one partition. I chose to delete the recovery partition as I already have a full backup of the original drive configuration and the Sandisk drive itself as a backup. I could then create a new 140GB partition. And that was it. One faster SSD drive with substantially more data capacity.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for use in an Intel BOXDC3217BY Barebone Mini-PC (Intel Core i3 3217U, Intel-HD) with Ubuntu 13.10 installed and it worked first time with no problems at all. Allows Ubuntu 13.10 to start and shutdown in around 5 seconds. Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great SSD in a proper price, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
For me, the best purchase for my computer. It's a really good SSD for a proper price. Received it on time and without any problem. Easy to install as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant SSD, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
I bought it for my Samsung series 9 15" ultrabook.. It worked well and I really recommend it... . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
I bought for my Acer w500 tablet upgrade from 32gb was perfect with window 8 very high windows index 8.1 now I got ultra book very fast smooth touch screen worth every penny .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most likely fastest mSATA drive as of Sept 2013!, 6 Sep 2013
By 
L. Nguyen (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
Got the drive, put it in my Y580. USB Boot and installed Windows 7 Ultimate without a problem.

I leave the whole drive as one 250GB partition and ran ATTO benchmark immediately
My previous setup is 7200RPM HDD with 32GB mSATA SSD drive for Intel Quick Response caching (or some technology that puts the frequently used files on the SSD so it was already very fast after 1 week of use. But when I get this SSD I mean it is FAST!

Read/Write speed increases gradually from 0.5Kb to 65Kb transfer size. From 512 to 8Mb transfer sizes the READ/WRITE speed saturates at 438Mb/s WRITE and 535Mb/s READ. Yes, that's as close to advertised as you can get and quite close to saturating the SATA III bandwidth also

I am very happy with the purchase of this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Drive, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
Using it now, installed without a hitch, works great, runs fast, and not had any problemos, windows 7 ult x64 runs fine on it, didnt need any additional drivers, just plug and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
Bought this to upgrade the 128GB drive that came with my Samsung 13inch Ultrabook. Works very well although when I tried to use the Samsung migration software that kept giving an error code. However the Samsung disk copy software worked spot on so all's well. Very fast drive boot up time from scratch to Windows is about 5 seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect item, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
Easy to install on an Alienware 14 laptop (2 screws included in package, but only 1 needed). Works very well with windows 8, boot time is around 2 seconds. Increases your overall score with windows and you can definitely tell de difference between an application (game or otherwise) ran on a SSD and one ran on a HDD. Best thing I've ever bought on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 JEDEC MO-300/Ultrabook Internal SSD (Accessory)
Plextor PX-256M5M 256GB M5M Series mSATA 6GB/s 512MB DDR3 - the best mSATA SSD on the market, reliable, very fast, great benchmark results... Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72f5618)

This product

Only search this product's reviews