Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful first novel
This is the story of a young woman , her family & friends & the hardships of the mid-west in the 1830's. It was interesting from the first page as there were some excellent descriptions , good dialogue & a very entertaining story-line. Life was tough & there was no time for self-pity as it was a case of get on with it or go under! I was only sorry when I had finished...
Published on 17 April 2011 by Maria

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like romances this is for you.
I downloaded this free for my kindle and I found it entertaining and fairly well written. I am not a great fan of romances but I do like to read novels based in the past. The storyline is uncomplicated and you can more or less guess what will happen but on the whole it's worth a read if you want something light and easy.
Published on 22 April 2011 by L. Morris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful first novel, 17 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the story of a young woman , her family & friends & the hardships of the mid-west in the 1830's. It was interesting from the first page as there were some excellent descriptions , good dialogue & a very entertaining story-line. Life was tough & there was no time for self-pity as it was a case of get on with it or go under! I was only sorry when I had finished it this book. It was another free down-load which has introduced me to to an author whose future books I will read ,( even the non-free ones).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like romances this is for you., 22 April 2011
By 
L. Morris "Avid Reader" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I downloaded this free for my kindle and I found it entertaining and fairly well written. I am not a great fan of romances but I do like to read novels based in the past. The storyline is uncomplicated and you can more or less guess what will happen but on the whole it's worth a read if you want something light and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Edge of Light, 8 April 2011
Never read this author before, just downloaded it because it was free, from page one i could not put this down, it is a delightful read. Please dont take my word for it read it for yourself. Cant wait to read more from this author now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended!, 24 July 2014
By 
Fiona Peters (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge of Light, The (At Home in Beldon Grove Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Great story, more of an everyday (19th century) life book than a romance, Molly is a young widow left with 3 children and another on the way, her brother in law leaves her with nothing to live on and she is left trying to make a living for her family without overly depending on her brother who is willing to take her in but has a family of his own to care for. Molly is a great character, a loving mother who truly mourns her husband, and when one of her children goes missing she never gives up hope that she will see him again one day, even though everyone else thinks the boy must be dead. Despite this brief synopsis this is not a depressing book, and while the romance in it is very low key and really only comes into being near the end of the book it is a happy ending. The first in a series but the other books develop other characters so there is no need to get the next book just to finish Molly's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming back from the edge, 2 May 2011
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the story of Molly McGarvie and her survival in 1838 in St Lawrenceville, Missouri where everything she holds dear and true and loves is taken away from her and her strength in human nature and god is tested.

Happily married to Samuel, with three children, James, Franklin and Louellen with another one on the way. Molly's life is somewhat perfect in her eyes. She tends to her family and their needs and has the support of Betsy who was gifted to her when she married. They are as much friends as they are mistress and servant, master and slave for Betsy is coloured and Missouri is a state where slaves cannot be free.

On the sudden death of her husband, Samuel, Molly finds that his family do not stick together and that far from helping her, Samuel's brother forces her to take stock of her life and try and build a new one elsewhere. Molly's conscious is pricking as she believes that she could have helped save her husband if she had got a different doctor to him in time. As she leaves she also has to give up Betsy as well, but is determined to buy her freedom, for her own benefit not for Betsy's.

On the journey to build a new life in a new settlement Beldon Grove, tragedy and joy are not very far away. Upon settling Molly tries to break free of the constraints of living with her brother and starts to make her own way, with the help of her loom and the cloth that she can weave and sell for cash or barter to make ends meet. Molly starts to become the local attraction for eligible bachelors both young and old but she cannot think any further than restoring her family unit and that includes Betsy.

A beautifully written book, with a beautiful background setting. The descriptions of the settlements, the vast outback, the cattle even down to the slaves and the Red Indians are all covered in detail but at its heart this book is filled with romance. Upon reflection, it has a lot of references to religion and God but for me it was not off putting and I did not feel I was being constantly preached at from the pages of the book. It fitted in the time period of the book and the behaviour of the characters and such was an asset. Although it is a romance, and predictably you can see the outcome, it did make you think about Molly's motives and actions some of the time, especially in relation to Betsy her selfish need did not make her see the bigger picture. Are we not all guilty of that at some point in our lives?

A new genre for me to discover and now I am hooked about what happens at Beldon Grove and want to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book to read and enjoy, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge of Light, The (At Home in Beldon Grove Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the story line, the characters were very convincing. Held you right to the end. A easy and relaxing read.Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of light, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge of Light, The (At Home in Beldon Grove Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Beautiful story full of action .I could not put it down ,was enthralled from beginning to end,this is a brilliant true to life story .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The edge of the light, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's the summer of 1838 in St.Lawerenceville, Missouri, when Molly McGarvie's life changes forever after her husband dies from cholera. Molly is heartbroken, but determined to take care of herself and her three children, and also her unborn child. But her unscrupulous brother in law cheats her out of the family business, and Molly has no choice but to make the dangerous journey to Illinois, where her older brother lives.

She is forced to leave behind Betsy, a slave who is also been her friend since childhood, when she finds her brotherlaw "owns" her. Molly is determined though that once she gets to Illinois, and finds a job, she is going to save her money, and buy back Molly and give her her freedom.

Molly faces tragedy along the journey to Illinois, and once there, she has to struggle to keep the family together. Betsy is also facing her own struggles; she lives under the threat that she may be sold before Molly can bring her to Illinois, and is tempted to try to escape via the Underground Railroad.

I enjoyed this story, it was well written, and the author paid a lot of attention to detail. Very engrossing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a most enjoyable read....recommended, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was delighted with this book. It was an American historical novel about a family who were loosely connected to the heart wrenching thought of slavery in the 1800s. The characters were believable, and although the ending was somewhat predictable, I felt the story was open sufficiently at the end for the follow on. I look forward to reading book two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Reading., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge of Light, The (At Home in Beldon Grove Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this story line. It has me had me hooked from the first page just couldn't put it down. Would recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews