Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Realy good read didn't want to put it down, first read with this author but am now reading another one of hers
Published 13 months ago by Tina wallace

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good debut attempt
This one didn't turn out to be quite as interesting as it sounded from the synopsis, but it was a fairly entertaining and enjoyable historical romance. A plot that's been done many times before, but with a few tweaks here and there - mainly the details about Crystal having to learn how to run the cattle ranch and pay off her aunt's debts. The majority of the issues that...
Published on 11 Dec. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good debut attempt, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one didn't turn out to be quite as interesting as it sounded from the synopsis, but it was a fairly entertaining and enjoyable historical romance. A plot that's been done many times before, but with a few tweaks here and there - mainly the details about Crystal having to learn how to run the cattle ranch and pay off her aunt's debts. The majority of the issues that kept the two characters apart involved a lack of communication, a major pet peeve of mine when it comes to romance novels, so that drops the rating a bit for me. However, I did love the descriptions of Colorado. Although I got bored during the sections about the cattle drive, I drank in the wonderful scenery. While the descriptions of Colorado flowed wonderfully, I did find that the author "head-hopped" a lot, jumping from one person's thoughts to another without any scene changes or paragraph breaks to show the change of perspective. Despite the whole book being told from third-person point-of-view, this still gave it a choppy feel and was quite distracting.

I think this is a good debut attempt from Maggie Brendan, and while I didn't find her book particularly original and think that she could work on her writing technique a little, I would definitely read more from her in the future as I think she has potential and I was intrigued by the teaser for #2 in the series. I'd recommend this book for Christian historical romance fans looking for a book they can rely on to provide them with all the facets that make a pleasurable reading experience. Overall, this book gets 6/10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars started out really good but then became intolerable, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This started out really good - very enjoyable. But towards the end it was sanctimonious, repetitive and shallow,

Crystal Clark - pampered genteel southern belle with all the airs, graces, manners and social finesse of a City and the South. She's determined to learn the customs and hard work of her aunt's ranch and she does. Initially her character was well developed and it was interesting and amusing to see her well-mannered and personable character encountering the hillbilly ranch hands.
However, towards the latter part of the book - the interaction between Crystal and April (Luke's fiancée) was one dimensional and a parody/ caricature. Crystal is constantly shown (and thought of by Luke) to be The Most Beautiful Woman In The World, and of course The Most Caring. And Hard-Working, and all godliness.
It was sanctimonious (particularly all the preachy Christian parts was very judgemental, smug, self-righteous, holier-than-thou rather than modest and friendly).
Crystal was of course a paragon of Virtue who didn't want to encroach on April's man - but it was a case of "the lady doth protest too much" and very self-righteous. She also strings guys along and then acts holier-than-thou because her victim isn't a Believer.

Luke - tall, dark handsome playboy - wants to marry April McBride because her daddy is rich and will give him a plot of land in exchange. This of course doesn't (for some reason) reflect badly on him - but somehow on April who is considered to be materialistic - talk about sexist misogyny
He 's always comparing April to Crystal and of course April is fund lacking because she's mean, spoilt, rich and un-Christian.

April McBride - rich, spoilt, bitchy and insecure (she hates competition particularly Crystal). She eventually becomes engaged to Luke but of course despite him being the gold-digger - it's April that's the evil baddie (some how?)

There are lots of other characters and the author was very good in detailing them and building their characters with affection.

Plot - overall would have been good but Crystal is shown to be this Miss Perfect - but eventually she turns into a sanctimonious, self-righteous, holier-than-thou, preachy, SMUG annoying character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Romance based in the 1800's ranching USA, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Pleasant easy read. Predictable from the start. Romance between Southern girl forced by circumstances to move west & ranch foreman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has been well written and has everything you could want. It's romantic without being graphic and adventurous a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A good easy reading book with a good story, a mixture of sadness and happiness . I will pass the name of book and author on to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Realy good read didn't want to put it down, first read with this author but am now reading another one of hers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit boring, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I found this book really hard to get through. It was a bit like chewing a really tough piece of meat. The author's writing style in this book reminded me of reading a newspaper, very matter of fact and abrupt. It didn't flow nicely at all. And like a previous reviewer said, there was a lot of "head hopping". It was hard to distinguish who's perspective you were reading from paragraph to paragraph. The plot was pleasant enough and could've made the story really good if only it flowed better. I finished it anyway but it was very dull reading I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Well written a lovely tale really enjoyed reading this novel. Will look out more from this author would have happily paid for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No place for a lady, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting Iv not read anything like this before really enjoyed it. I will be reading more of it books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blessings To reading, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This book has been a real blessing to read. It shows you that if you stay faithful to God He will stay faithful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews