Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Realy good read didn't want to put it down, first read with this author but am now reading another one of hers
Published 9 months ago by Tina wallace

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good debut attempt
This one didn't turn out to be quite as interesting as it sounded from the synopsis, but it was a fairly entertaining and enjoyable historical romance. A plot that's been done many times before, but with a few tweaks here and there - mainly the details about Crystal having to learn how to run the cattle ranch and pay off her aunt's debts. The majority of the issues that...
Published on 11 Dec 2011 by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good debut attempt, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Rachel (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one didn't turn out to be quite as interesting as it sounded from the synopsis, but it was a fairly entertaining and enjoyable historical romance. A plot that's been done many times before, but with a few tweaks here and there - mainly the details about Crystal having to learn how to run the cattle ranch and pay off her aunt's debts. The majority of the issues that kept the two characters apart involved a lack of communication, a major pet peeve of mine when it comes to romance novels, so that drops the rating a bit for me. However, I did love the descriptions of Colorado. Although I got bored during the sections about the cattle drive, I drank in the wonderful scenery. While the descriptions of Colorado flowed wonderfully, I did find that the author "head-hopped" a lot, jumping from one person's thoughts to another without any scene changes or paragraph breaks to show the change of perspective. Despite the whole book being told from third-person point-of-view, this still gave it a choppy feel and was quite distracting.

I think this is a good debut attempt from Maggie Brendan, and while I didn't find her book particularly original and think that she could work on her writing technique a little, I would definitely read more from her in the future as I think she has potential and I was intrigued by the teaser for #2 in the series. I'd recommend this book for Christian historical romance fans looking for a book they can rely on to provide them with all the facets that make a pleasurable reading experience. Overall, this book gets 6/10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Romance based in the 1800's ranching USA, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Pleasant easy read. Predictable from the start. Romance between Southern girl forced by circumstances to move west & ranch foreman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has been well written and has everything you could want. It's romantic without being graphic and adventurous a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A good easy reading book with a good story, a mixture of sadness and happiness . I will pass the name of book and author on to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Realy good read didn't want to put it down, first read with this author but am now reading another one of hers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice long story!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good long story and enjoyable to read. A long to get to romance but worth sticking with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit boring, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I found this book really hard to get through. It was a bit like chewing a really tough piece of meat. The author's writing style in this book reminded me of reading a newspaper, very matter of fact and abrupt. It didn't flow nicely at all. And like a previous reviewer said, there was a lot of "head hopping". It was hard to distinguish who's perspective you were reading from paragraph to paragraph. The plot was pleasant enough and could've made the story really good if only it flowed better. I finished it anyway but it was very dull reading I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Well written a lovely tale really enjoyed reading this novel. Will look out more from this author would have happily paid for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No place for a lady, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting Iv not read anything like this before really enjoyed it. I will be reading more of it books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blessings To reading, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Book #1): A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This book has been a real blessing to read. It shows you that if you stay faithful to God He will stay faithful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews