Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Second Novel in the Kane Chronicles
Fans of Rick's Percy Jackson series will more than likely have stumbled upon this gem of a new series featuring the Egyptian Parthenon. Beautifully written with vivid stand out characters the readers will love the overall arc and goal of our two heroes (Sadie and Carter Kane) who take the reader on a whirlwind adventure through the Duat as well as all over the Earth as...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still just as good...
After reading the first book I was a little apprehensive on purchasing the second but I did anyway.
If you have read the first book then I do recommend the second book, it has a new story line but it is a lot like the first.
If you haven't read the first book then you still can catch up and understand the characters.
I chose star rating 3 because in the...
Published 19 months ago by Hattie Waring


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Second Novel in the Kane Chronicles, 9 May 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fans of Rick's Percy Jackson series will more than likely have stumbled upon this gem of a new series featuring the Egyptian Parthenon. Beautifully written with vivid stand out characters the readers will love the overall arc and goal of our two heroes (Sadie and Carter Kane) who take the reader on a whirlwind adventure through the Duat as well as all over the Earth as they seek to free Ra from his imprisonment to save the world from the coming of Apophis.

Add to this cracking dialogue, characters that the reader can associate with and finish off with top notch pace that allows the reader to grab their breath in the lulls and power through the high octane adventure which clearly demonstrates how well the author knows his market. All in, this is a real gem of a second title and one that will hopefully lead to many more in this inventive series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book of Ra, 5 May 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If there was a problem with "The Red Pyramid," it's that too much of the action took place in dreams and visions. Fortunately Rick Riordan scales back on that in "The Kane Chronicles, Book Two: The Throne of Fire," a tighter, more action-packed adventure tale filled with cinematic monsters, mythological battles and an impending apocalypse. Fun stuff!

Things seem to be going fairly smoothly for the Kane siblings, despite a disastrous mission to capture one-third of the Book of Ra. Unfortunately, Carter and Sadie soon learn that not only has the House of Life sent its third-most-powerful magician (known as "Vlad the Inhaler") to destroy them, but that the god Apophis has almost escaped from his prison.

Unfortunately, the only god who can possibly stop Apophis is Ra, and the only way to summon Ra from his eternal sleep is to use the Book. Soon the Kanes are on a perilous quest across the world, running up against evil gods (and an endearing taxi-driving one), demons and treacherous magicians. But the price of victory may be a steep one...

"The Throne of Fire" is a somewhat steadier adventure than "The Red Pyramid." It's still not quite as instantly engaging as Riordan's Grecian-inspired fantasies, but it's still action-packed, sleek and full of flashy action sequences. I mean, a basketball game is interrupted by a giant three-headed serpent -- does it get cooler than that?

Riordan's prose is solidly descriptive, and he does an excellent job melding ancient Egyptian myth with modern-day sensibilities. His dialogue is solidly snarky -- at one point, the dwarf god Bes announces that, "I'm not going to call myself the god of vertically challenged people." But there's a much darker dimension to this story -- some spectacularly horrible things happen to some characters that Riordan has made you like.

And don't worry: while visions-dreams reveal a lot of important information, they don't overwhelm the story.

I find it a little hard to warm up to Sadie and Carter, but Riordan does do a solid job of fleshing them out with their new responsibilities and problems (particularly since some of their mistakes get people hurt). And Riordan introduces some very likable new characters -- in fact, I liked some of them better than the main characters -- particularly Freak the griffin, Tawaret, Mad Claude and Bes (who eats a chocolate head of Lenin).

"The Throne of Fire" is a somewhat darker, steadier second volume in the Kane Chronicles -- lovable gods, lots of action, and plot threads left dangling for the third book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We need more! We're reading too fast.., 10 May 2011
We had pre-ordered 'The Throne of Fire' so that we would receive it on May 4th. My son was waiting on the postman every morning until it arrived and...kerching!
What a book..."awesome" in my sons words! He loved it. Following Red Pyramid he could not wait for the next installment . He has absolutely loved every page, so hurry up Rick.......we need more!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and involving read, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another real page turner, loved it. The mix of ancient and current worlds, characters you start to care about and situations vividly described make it more of a film In words, it's as if you were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the red pyramid!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another whirlwind adventure from the young god of myths and magic. More twists than Agatha Christie, a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as brilliant as the first book, amazing story line and relationships between Sadie anubis and walt! I'm team anubis all the way :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, compulsive book, could not put it down, was completed in quick time! Thoroughly recommend this and the rest in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...again, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surprise, surprise, yet another amazing book by Rick Riordan. I loved this book, hated putting my kindle down when I was reading it. It was a great second book in the series and now I'm off to get the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, highly recommended, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Complete escapism! Once I started reading, very difficult to put down - pacey and fast moving from the start. Compelled to read rest of series, in fact can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book by Rick Riordan:), 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book love it great words used Sadie and I agree with you too falcon head Carter sounds frightening. one of the best books I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews