Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film and Blu Ray quality, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow Out [SteelBook] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Blow Out is one of the best, if not the best, De Palma film in my opinion. Less showy and groteque than some of his other films like Body Double and Dressed to Kill and shorter and punchier than Scarface, it is an excellent addition to the canon of 70s conspiracy films. It's like a melange of Parallax View, Klute, All The President's Men, Three Days of the Condor and The Conversation (all excellent in their own right), with a pinch of Blow Up, while feeling original and compelling. It is also one of John Travolta's best films.

The Blu Ray transfer is outstanding too. Pin sharp with vibrant colours, it is beautiful to watch, particularly the gritty street scenes in Philly and the night shots are sharp and grain free too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound as a pound., 6 Oct 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blow Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Horror film sound recordist Jack Terry is forced to get some new stock library sounds when he decides his are old hat. So he heads out one night and whilst recording some wind, he sees a terrible accident take place. A car careers off a bridge, but Terry just manages to jump in and save one of the occupants, a young lady. But by the time they get to the hospital, evidence is already beginning to be covered up and in Jack's mind the accident is starting to look less accidental by the minute...

Really solid, early 80s, paranoia thriller this from De Palma. Travolta (who I don't normally care for) does a great job and nails his part, and it's always good to see both Lithgow and Franz in anything. Nancy Allen's 'Sally' character didn't quite work right for me, but I suspect that was De Palma's fault for not reigning Allen in and directing her properly, not that she ruins any of the proceedings by any means. Some of the set pieces are a joy and are cleverly woven with a fine eye to detail. The ending is really good, although it may not suit all viewers.
The Arrow Blu Ray looks great with the fireworks at the end looking fantastic. I hadn't seen this since the early~mid 90s and was surprised at just how much better it was than I remembered. Most certainly worth another viewing and a high point in De Palma's career.
4.25/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Operatic homage!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blow Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This clever and decidedly flamboyant film still works well over 30 years since it's release. Travolta gives a stunning performance and his partnership with Nancy Allen is surprisingly effective, comic and ultimately very moving. The labyrinthine plot - reminiscent of Hitchcock and paying homage to other several sources too - is very hard edged and delivers an unexpected punch at the carefully orchestrated climax. This blu ray transfer is probably the best you will ever see this film and though the definition and black levels are far from perfect that is a problem of the source material not the disc. The audio is of a surprisingly high quality and although the track is only a simple 2.0 stereo the definition is excellent.The accompanying booklet and video extras are of high quality and make this Arrow release a "must have" for film buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tour de force in suspence and homage, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In the early part of his career, Brian De Palma was one of those filmmakers that made films for film fans. Everything from Hitchcock to rock operas, De Palma was one of those filmmakers who went for broke in the secular mainstream world of Hollywood and tried to leave his mark on the moviegoers mind. Sure his earlier work divides many, including myself, but there is no doubt that De Palma's films are both rich in intertextuality and in suspense and excitement. Hitchcock fans may baulk at De Palma's lurid homage, the great man himself even tried to dissuade De Palma from making the homage fests.

Obsession was De Palma's risque debt to Vertigo. Dressed to Kill was his lurid, misogynistic and brilliant take on Psycho. But having said this, Blow Out maybe his masterpiece and is the last film (pre-Scarface) in an era where he truly did go for broke.

The film itself is a suspense filled ride that guides the viewer down false paths, murky political corruption, and how important the right scream is in a cheap horror film. An uneven balance that works beautifully, and is dutifully aided by one of Travolta's best performances and backed up by Pino Donaggio's haunting piano melody. Not to mention the film is a homage to both Hitchcock and of course Antonioni's Blow Up.

This blu-ray is a real treat, and with Arrow's upcoming releases of Dressed to Kill, and Sisters, De Palma's back catalogue looks set for a revisit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic thriller, great Blu-Ray, 14 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Blow Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First of all, this is one of my favorite films and this edition does it justice. De Palma was a great director in his day and Blow Out shows why, the camerawork, the split focus widescreen shots, John Travola, Nancy Allen and John Lithgow!! You can't go wrong.

The Blu-Ray transfer is the same approved transfer that Criterion used for the U.S. Blu-Ray and the extras are from the French edition, which sported an older inferior transfer.

Overall, whether you have seen it or not, give Blow Out a go. A classic and a fantastic Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant edition of a brilliant film!, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of my favorite films finally on blu-ray in my region. Picture and sound are perfect! Also enjoyed the switchable sleeve design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a buy, 30 Dec 2013
By 
S. Turner "simon" (Timperley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this to while away a Sat night when my GF was away on holiday. It was a terrific piece of entertainment. I don't know how this film slipped under my radar all this time, but it did. It also has a very effective ending and a coda which is full of the blackest humour given what the viewer has been watching for 110 mins. I really enjoyed and I hope you will too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80s thriller, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of De Palmas best. an underrated classic thriller full of trademark De Palma camera moves and an excellent score. One of Travolta's best pre Pulp Fiction renaissance performances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blow Out [SteelBook] [Blu-ray]
Blow Out [SteelBook] [Blu-ray] by Brian De Palma (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews