Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 August 2013
This clever and decidedly flamboyant film still works well over 30 years since it's release. Travolta gives a stunning performance and his partnership with Nancy Allen is surprisingly effective, comic and ultimately very moving. The labyrinthine plot - reminiscent of Hitchcock and paying homage to other several sources too - is very hard edged and delivers an unexpected punch at the carefully orchestrated climax. This blu ray transfer is probably the best you will ever see this film and though the definition and black levels are far from perfect that is a problem of the source material not the disc. The audio is of a surprisingly high quality and although the track is only a simple 2.0 stereo the definition is excellent.The accompanying booklet and video extras are of high quality and make this Arrow release a "must have" for film buffs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
In the early part of his career, Brian De Palma was one of those filmmakers that made films for film fans. Everything from Hitchcock to rock operas, De Palma was one of those filmmakers who went for broke in the secular mainstream world of Hollywood and tried to leave his mark on the moviegoers mind. Sure his earlier work divides many, including myself, but there is no doubt that De Palma's films are both rich in intertextuality and in suspense and excitement. Hitchcock fans may baulk at De Palma's lurid homage, the great man himself even tried to dissuade De Palma from making the homage fests.

Obsession was De Palma's risque debt to Vertigo. Dressed to Kill was his lurid, misogynistic and brilliant take on Psycho. But having said this, Blow Out maybe his masterpiece and is the last film (pre-Scarface) in an era where he truly did go for broke.

The film itself is a suspense filled ride that guides the viewer down false paths, murky political corruption, and how important the right scream is in a cheap horror film. An uneven balance that works beautifully, and is dutifully aided by one of Travolta's best performances and backed up by Pino Donaggio's haunting piano melody. Not to mention the film is a homage to both Hitchcock and of course Antonioni's Blow Up.

This blu-ray is a real treat, and with Arrow's upcoming releases of Dressed to Kill, and Sisters, De Palma's back catalogue looks set for a revisit.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
First of all, this is one of my favorite films and this edition does it justice. De Palma was a great director in his day and Blow Out shows why, the camerawork, the split focus widescreen shots, John Travola, Nancy Allen and John Lithgow!! You can't go wrong.

The Blu-Ray transfer is the same approved transfer that Criterion used for the U.S. Blu-Ray and the extras are from the French edition, which sported an older inferior transfer.

Overall, whether you have seen it or not, give Blow Out a go. A classic and a fantastic Blu-ray.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Horror film sound recordist Jack Terry is forced to get some new stock library sounds when he decides his are old hat. So he heads out one night and whilst recording some wind, he sees a terrible accident take place. A car careers off a bridge, but Terry just manages to jump in and save one of the occupants, a young lady. But by the time they get to the hospital, evidence is already beginning to be covered up and in Jack's mind the accident is starting to look less accidental by the minute...

Really solid, early 80s, paranoia thriller this from De Palma. Travolta (who I don't normally care for) does a great job and nails his part, and it's always good to see both Lithgow and Franz in anything. Nancy Allen's 'Sally' character didn't quite work right for me, but I suspect that was De Palma's fault for not reigning Allen in and directing her properly, not that she ruins any of the proceedings by any means. Some of the set pieces are a joy and are cleverly woven with a fine eye to detail. The ending is really good, although it may not suit all viewers.
The Arrow Blu Ray looks great with the fireworks at the end looking fantastic. I hadn't seen this since the early~mid 90s and was surprised at just how much better it was than I remembered. Most certainly worth another viewing and a high point in De Palma's career.
4.25/5
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Blow Out is one of the best, if not the best, De Palma film in my opinion. Less showy and groteque than some of his other films like Body Double and Dressed to Kill and shorter and punchier than Scarface, it is an excellent addition to the canon of 70s conspiracy films. It's like a melange of Parallax View, Klute, All The President's Men, Three Days of the Condor and The Conversation (all excellent in their own right), with a pinch of Blow Up, while feeling original and compelling. It is also one of John Travolta's best films.

The Blu Ray transfer is outstanding too. Pin sharp with vibrant colours, it is beautiful to watch, particularly the gritty street scenes in Philly and the night shots are sharp and grain free too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
I saw this years ago and remembered it was very compelling to watch.

Seeing it again , I thoroughly enjoyed it. The way Jack (John Travolta), a sound recordist who witnesses and records a car crash by chance, pieces together evidence is clever and the way sound is focused on throughout the film reminded me of Berberian Sound Studio.

A good watch. Compelling to the end. Recommend. One of Brian De Palma's better films
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I bought this to while away a Sat night when my GF was away on holiday. It was a terrific piece of entertainment. I don't know how this film slipped under my radar all this time, but it did. It also has a very effective ending and a coda which is full of the blackest humour given what the viewer has been watching for 110 mins. I really enjoyed and I hope you will too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Blow Out Blu-ray. Always a long standing favourite of mine. Now So improved picture & sound quality it is truly outstanding the work & effort that has gone into making this film so special by Arrow. No problems recommending it. Story is good too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
One of my favorite films finally on blu-ray in my region. Picture and sound are perfect! Also enjoyed the switchable sleeve design
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
One of De Palmas best. an underrated classic thriller full of trademark De Palma camera moves and an excellent score. One of Travolta's best pre Pulp Fiction renaissance performances
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.