Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrow blu-ray/DVD combo
Black Sabbath is a stunning horror anthology from Mario Bava (Black Sunday).

Boris Karloff presents three stories of the macabre which are all shot in luscious colour with beautiful set and costume design.
'Telephone' is a tense giallo thriller where a call girl is hounded by threatening calls from her ex pimp. This is a scary economic thriller with a good...
Published 14 months ago by Blood Freak

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of horrors
Mario Bava's entry in the Cormanesque compilation horror stakes, The Three Faces of Fear aka Black Sabbath suffers the format's common problem - the variable quality of the individual stories. In this case, in the Italian cut at least, that's somewhat exacerbated by having the best of the three in the middle of the picture, leaving it somewhat anticlimactic. The stories'...
Published on 22 Dec 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrow blu-ray/DVD combo, 14 May 2013
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Black Sabbath is a stunning horror anthology from Mario Bava (Black Sunday).

Boris Karloff presents three stories of the macabre which are all shot in luscious colour with beautiful set and costume design.
'Telephone' is a tense giallo thriller where a call girl is hounded by threatening calls from her ex pimp. This is a scary economic thriller with a good twist.
'Wuldavak' is an excellent twist on the vampire genre with Karloff at his most menacing. The photography is beautiful and the horror is really melodramatic in this one. It's lovely.
'Drop of Water' is about a nurse who tries to steal the ring off a dead witch's finger. This is scary and nicely builds to a shocking climax.

Arrow's release has 3 discs: 1 blu-ray and 2 DVDs.

On the blu-ray: Italian and rare American versions of the film both in 1080 HD. They look brilliant, much better than ever before. LPCM mono, optional English subtitles. Audio commentary by Tim Lucas and half hour featurette on the differences between the two films.

On the DVDs: all of the above plus interview with co star Mark Damon, trailers and introduction by Alan Jones.

Also includes double sided cover and collector booklet with archive interviews.

A superb purchase for any horror fan.

Blu-ray is region B. DVDs are region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, 5 Mar 2004
Black Sabbath is a magnificent film, whether dubbed or subtitled, and I can't disagree more with the other reviewer. The DVD transfer is astonishingly detailed, and adds far more than it detracts: the film is shown in the correct sequence for one thing, and the (new) opening story is uncut and finally makes sense. Perhaps best of all is the newly restored versions of 'The Wurdalak' and 'The Drop of Water', each of which throw up more shadows and atmosphere than in almost any other colour horror film. Bava himself often spoke of this as his masterpiece and it is easy to see why. The issue of subtitling is, of course, one of personal taste but it's only fair to point out that originally only one of the three stories was filmed in English, and therefore the original GB theatrical release suffered from appalling dubbing, which (to my mind) can be just as annoying. Admittedly it's a bit strange to hear Boris Karloff spouting Italian but, that aside, the subtitles don't make too much of a difference. Black Sabbath really is a masterful film, even the English language version is good (and has some extra Karloff introductions) but the picture quality is nowhere near as detailed. The DVD version is truly like looking at a new film. If you don't mind subtitles (in fact even if you do) you should treat yourself to this astonishing collection of horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrow bd/dvd Superb, 16 May 2013
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a quality film!!! Three stories The Telephone, Wurdalak and Drop of Water. Arrow here present a glorious hd master of two versions of the film, The Italian version with English subs and the American International Pictures dubbed release. The stories run in different order depending on which version of the film you watch, with different introductions by Karloff, different editing, different scores (as usual Les Baxter takes the helm on the AIP release), also with the story "The Telephone" the versions differ in the sense that the AIP version offers a more supernatural take as opposed to the more giallo flavour of the Italian version. There are also different colour gradings on each of the versions which were undertaken by the studios themselves. I cant recommend this film (and edition) enough. The extras here are good also, although not a comprehensive list are split over 3 discs which is a little annoying but I understand why that is done. The best of these imo is the side by side comparison of the two versions of the film. Its easy to see what the differences are and believe me there are plenty. The "Telephone" and "Drop of Water" work very well as short stories, but its "the Wurdalak" a Russian vampire tale by Tolstoy which would have deserved to have been a film to itself. I loved it. Arrow presents the bd/hd with an extremely good hd master, the Italian version slightly better in terms of clean up as the AIP has a few specks and scratches occasionally. Reversible sleeve art too. Overall another excellent release by Arrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arrow hits the target again, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
what do you get when you have a movie made with three story a few actors and no blood the answer is a fantastic one at least when mario bava makes it.this movie was made very soon after black sunday and called black sabbath in the states to cash in on sundays box office hit.what we have here is a 3 disc set which is full of extras other companys take note and both the american and italian version.i saw this movie just after it came out in the 60s and have loved it ever since and have it on dvd italian version only of course. but after this arrow release will be getting rid of the dvd .this blu-ray shows bava fantastic use of light and color and its a must for horror fans.please arrow can we have bava planet of the vampires lets hope so keep up the good work arrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DEFINITIVE BLACK SABBATH, 14 Sep 2013
By 
G. Jones (NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Many people argue over which version of this film is better the English or the European . This set has both versions restored on Blu-ray so you can decide for yourself. I have an all region blu-ray player and live in the US. I love being able to watch and own both versions. If you like films of this era and genre you can't go wrong. This is the best I have seen this film ever look and I have watched it many times. Films like this is the reason I invested in a region free player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars both versions the scariest ever., 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a restoration of both versions of Black Sabbath. Mario Bava remains the master. Boris Karloff will never die. This is one of his greatest roles. An important piece of horror cinema history, do not pass this one by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different era, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Once again, as previously stated in my other reviews, I seen this film when I was little but the memory is still haunting and lingers on, hence when it is available in Blu-ray I have no hesitation but to add this Mario Bava's trilogy film to my collection. The transfer is ok taking into account that this film is over 40 year old! The film looked dated, however the 2 main features Wurdulak and The Drop of Water are watchable and atmospheric. Brilliant for its time. I may be wrong but I could have sworn that a scene when Boris Karloff was walking in the surreal countryside carrying 3 decapitated heads(in Wurdulak)is missing! Maybe my childhood memory is playing tricks, then maybe there was such a scene. And don't forget you get 3 dics in the package. Only negative point is the art cover .......... cheap and awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region-Free Or Region "A" Availability?, 12 Jun 2013
By 
R. Spreitzer "Spence" (West Palm Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am very impressed with what video review sites have said about the Arrow presentations of both Black Sabbath and Black Sunday, and they are first-rate transfers, along with a generous amount of extras. Now, if only those of us in the States can get these fine titles from Arrow in a region-free release, as apparently they have some region-free titles in their catalog. I e-mailed Arrow with no response on that query. Would consider investing in a region-free blu-ray player, but there are but few that I need a player of that sort for Region "B" locked as is Black Sabbath. Will hope that this will perhaps be carried by a US distributor that offers that in our region code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of horrors, 22 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Mario Bava's entry in the Cormanesque compilation horror stakes, The Three Faces of Fear aka Black Sabbath suffers the format's common problem - the variable quality of the individual stories. In this case, in the Italian cut at least, that's somewhat exacerbated by having the best of the three in the middle of the picture, leaving it somewhat anticlimactic. The stories' heritage isn't in doubt, based on stories by Chekhov, Tolstoy and Maupassant, but neither opener The Telephone, about a woman harassed by phone calls that may be from the lover she betrayed to the police, or A Drop of Water, about a nurse who finds herself terrorized by her imagination after stealing a ring from a dead woman she laid out, offer much in the way of surprise or chills. Neither, it's true, does the central and longest story, The Wurdalak, yet that tale of a family gradually picked off by vampires cursed to drink the blood of those they love most in the world is executed with enough panache, striking visuals and unexpected nastiness (a child is the first to die) to keep you intrigued even though you know exactly where it's going. A dubbed Boris Karloff provides the star power for this sequence as well as the introduction and epilogue, which features an initially inept shot that turns into a truly delightful in-joke by the time the end credit is ready to appear (the new intros he filmed for the US version of the film are not included on Anchor Bay's DVD of the original Italian version, although they can be glimpsed in the disc's US trailer, part of an actionably misleading US advertising campaign that included a poster of a headless horseman that doesn't appear in either version of the film!).

Thankfully Arrow's UK Region B-locked Blu-ray/DVD combo offers a much more definitive package, with beautifully remastered transfers of the original Italian and re-edited US versions (the US version rearranging the order to climax with Karloff's Wurdalak), audio commentary by Tim Lucas, a useful half-hour comparison of the two versions and, on the accompanying DVD versions only, an interview with co-star turned exploitation movie producer Mark Damon and a selection of trailers and TV spots for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath Fails to Live up to the Hype, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I believe Mario Bava is one of the most important directors to have ever graced film- and as far as I am concerned Boris Karloff is the numero uno when it comes to horror icon- even greater than Peter Cushing. And I adore horror films and all films from this time period- easily over what we have to endure with now. So just so you know, I am not criticising Black Sabbath because I need gore or torture porn, I am criticising it because in my opinion, having watched and owned thousands of horror films- Black Sabbath doesn't quite cut it.

We have 3 stories here, all introduced delightfully by Boris Karloff. The first is called The Telephone- great plot in which a woman keeps receiving threatening phone calls- and that is it. A very bland segment- though the light used in this is incredibly rich giving almost a Disneyesque quality to the story. Poor story though.

The Drop of Water is more like it- a little chilling in places and this segment is by far the best of the three. I would have thought that when this was released the dead corpse would have terrified cinemagoers. Now, this isn't really the case, but it's a good enough story- though I couldn't help thinking that the dead corpse was a dead ringer for Steve Buscemi.

The final story depending on what version you have watched is The Wurdalak- a great premise and a Hammeresque gothic vampire segment. Though the acting isn't really there- only Karloff stands out here- what an actor he was. And I'm afraid the story drags on at least ten minutes too long.

All in all I found Black Sabbath to be competent enough- but hardly a classic. Dead of Night is better and though Amicus certainly had hit and misses with their anthologie series, they had a couple namely, Asylum and Tales from the Crypt, that would put Black Sabbath to bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sabbath [Blu-ray]
Black Sabbath [Blu-ray] by Mario Bava (Blu-ray - 2013)
11.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews