Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Series.
This is a marvellous guide to the Great Barrier Reef. Visually stunning and presented by Monty Halls, a marine biologist, ex-marine and a diver. The series is delivered in three one hour episodes although they flow into each other seamlessly. We are informed that the Reef is over 2000km. long,created after the ice age meltdown and the only living structure on earth that...
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by ACB (swansea)

versus
15 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by the Narrator
This review refers to the first episode which should explain how various factors (light, seasons, tides and so on) affect the marine life of the reef. There are of course nice images and interesting events (some referred to in a 5-star review), but the treatment of the subject is rather slow and sometimes pointless: so you learn that at night some fishes go to sleep while...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by Bedino Stefano


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
Part of a full series of nature dvds,,,but stunning to watch, and learnt so much from it,,,,well worth adding to any collection of nature dvds :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Save the Reef, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Breathtaking and wonderful. I decided to contribute because these are the documentaries that stick to your mind forever. Highly recommended. Save the Great Barrier Reef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent and evocative account of the wonderful Great Barrier Reef - one of the most marvellous places on the planet - and one of my very favourite destinations. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just had to have my own copy. Fantastic, Blu-Ray quality is stunning, even better than HD TV. Sound as on all Blu-ray's is SO SO
superior to HD TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing quality filming, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the quality of this DVD. The standard of filming is wonderful and the narrator is great too. All in all, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great example of Blu Ray at its best. Quality filming and Monty Halls is, for me, the new David Attenborough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gorgeous and very interesting, 13 May 2013
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal/NorCal/Maui) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The quality of the camera work and the incredible diversity of marine and shore life seen in this BBC video is world class, mostly in the same league as "Planet Earth" (2006) and in some ways better. The sheer profusion of life in the reef with the explosive dazzle of color and the graceful dance and sway of the sea creatures is mesmerizing.

The presentation by Monty Hall who narrates and stars is not the best however. His underwater vocals are garbled and his presence in some places is artificial and forced. He does look the part however, healthy and macho, and he even lives up to his namesake with a bit of slapstick when he gets sand thrown sharply in his face from a green turtle covering her clutch of eggs.

The DVD is 185 minutes long and I hardly noticed the time flying by until I got to the final sixty minutes or so. Here the focus is mostly on the green turtles that lay their eggs in the sands of Raine Island in the reef's Queensland National Park. This part of the show may be a bit unsettling for some viewers especially when some of the turtles can't get back to the sea and die in the hot sun or when the tiger sharks rip apart their corpses when they are later washed out to sea. It is also not fun to watch the baby turtles scrambling over the sand to the ocean only to be snapped up, desperately wriggling in the beak of a Rufous Night Heron.

The video also shows us a bit of the life ashore near the reef including some footage of the mangrove swamps; and there's some history of the reef and how the reef affects the Australian mainland. There are many surprises including tiny pink sea horses a centimeter long, a shrimp and a fish living symbiotically together, and sea snakes that live in the anus of sea cucumbers.

I'm looking forward to watching this again...well except for the last part about the green turtles.

--Dennis Littrell, author of "The World Is Not as We Think It Is"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Barrier Reef DVD, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this on Sky I decided to add it to my collection of wild life dvds. I would recommend this dvd to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monty's Geat Barrier Reef, 10 May 2013
By 
C. A. Hopkins "Tina" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent quality, thoroughly recommended, as with all of Monty's work you feel as if you are there with him wonderful underwater camera work, breath taking corals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very educational, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
Another interesting documentary. I found Monty Halls interesting and informative. it was sad to see the polluted state and the threat to the Barrier Reef- but it was neccessary, and surely more programmes like this will increase awareness of what is happening in the Reef. Having seen the series on TV, I wouldn't want to feel that we are going to lose such an attraction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Barrier Reef [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
12.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews