Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must Buy for any Star Trek fan
Received Stat Trek the Next Generation season 3 on blu-ray, and what can I say?

This is truly breathtaking! They have done amazing job remastering on the epesodes and I would go as far to say that each epesode is like watching a movie. Also the sound quality again is truly astonishing especially if you can play it on a 5.1 sound system.

Anybody who...
Published 14 months ago by MR S R HOINCA

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking and Sounding Dated
The BluRay transfer is not quite as impressive as TOS sets but that may be owing to the relative visual blandness of TNG. The most vivid visual aspect is Troi`s red lipstick! The tinny 80s music also hasn't aged well and sounds just cheap today. It's actually quite distracting at times. Some good stories in this set but when the focus is not on Picard, TNG loses dramatic...
Published 11 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must Buy for any Star Trek fan, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
Received Stat Trek the Next Generation season 3 on blu-ray, and what can I say?

This is truly breathtaking! They have done amazing job remastering on the epesodes and I would go as far to say that each epesode is like watching a movie. Also the sound quality again is truly astonishing especially if you can play it on a 5.1 sound system.

Anybody who is a Star Trek fan, this is a MUST buy as its like watching these classic episodes again, as though you have never seen them before. Yesterday's enterprise, best of both worlds. What more can I say......... If you liked season 1 or 2 on blu-ray then you find that they have hit the ball out the park with season 3. Buy this today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent re-mastering job., 3 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
Can't fault this. The quality of the pictures, and sound make it look like it was produced only yesterday.

One thing I've noted though in other comments, is the 'Complaint' that ST TNG isn't in 16:9 format. The reason is really quite simple; the shows were produced in the 4:3 era 1987...and the productions of the day 'framed' the shots with this very much in mind, as it was the 'Standard' of the day.

The other element is that when actually shooting the programmes, scenes involving close-ups, medium shots, master wide shots are lit for every shot. Often on the edge of frame the lighting Cameraman, will have placed lights, go-bo's, and reflectors literally just out of the picture...so the original camera negative often has some of these items in what's known as the 'over-scan' part of the frame. So to transfer the Camera Negs into 16:9 would reveal this equipment on the edge of the shots.

While it's possible to 're-frame' 4:3 into 16:9, the trade-off is to lose part of the original 4:3 image. Far better to see the shot as originally intended, and you'll forget it's 4:3 within a few minutes anyway.

Enjoy this Show for it's content, and picture/sound quality. CBS Digital have done an amazing job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
Thought it would not be worth buying this on blu-ray as it was filmed before this technology was even thought of but I was wrong. The picture quality is fantastic and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each blu-ray release gets better and better, 30 April 2013
By 
Gordon Mckay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
First of all, I hope that you completely ignore the reviews that had been put up months before the season was released. I don't think some people understand just how much work is involved in not just getting TNG to blu-ray, but getting TNG to blu-ray in an exceptional standard that it deserves. You need to remember that NOT ONLY is this the first time something of this scale has been attempted with a Star Trek series, but this is the first time something like this has been attempted on ANY series. If this works, and proves to be successful then it will herald the start to getting other TV shows you love to blu-ray. If you ever do see SG1 from start to finish in High Def - it will be due to TNG.

In regards to season 3 - I'm sure if you're willing to pay 50+ on a single season then you don't need someone to tell you about season 3 being the beginning of TNG becoming one of the greatest TV shows of all time. What I can tell you though, is that this is so far the best High Definition transfer out of all 3 seasons. Gone is much of the grain you could see on the black/dark colours on season 2. Now there may well be technical reasons to this, and the grain may actually technically be better - I don't know. All I do know is that I have a 42" 1080p tv and it looks absolutely glorious.

If you are a fan of TNG, and want to see it in HD - you need to own this.

If you are new to Star Trek, or you have recently been converted by the newer movies - season 3 is the season for you to start with. While I still do love seasons 1 and 2; season 3 onwards is just something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Next Generation takes off!, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
If you want to start the Next Generation with the pilot 'Encounter at Farpoint', you'll see a great pilot. Unfortunately followed by 2 seasons of variable quality with probably more weak episodes than classics. Of course there are some stand outs but overall it's not very consistent.

But season 3 is where it all changes - so many quality episodes that stand repeat viewing. It's the start of a 4 season run of quality that only starts to dip in its final 7th season when the writers, producers and actors were already gearing up for the Generations movie.

The blu ray quality is outstanding. Compared to the old grain laden fuzzy DVDs, the picture quality is excellent, definitely worth the quite steep price of the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 is great, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
The stories start getting better from this season. Dr. Crusher returns to the "Enterprise" in this season and things seem to settle down. The special features are good in this season too. The blu-ray picture is superb and the sound quality is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not So Hazey Now!!, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Paul Wilcox (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
I loved Next Gen on it's first run and even bought the vhs (then dvd) as they came out. Coming in to the noughties I have come to dislike anything with the tv haze which most 80's/early 90's shows started to exhibit, New Twilight Zone a prime example. So I found rewatching ST:TNG offputting.

I was sceptical when Next Gen went to blu-ray and first tried the taster sent and was most impressed with the clean up. Season Three is when Riker has a beard (fair enough he started that in season 2), and uniforms had collars (it's suprising how the early jump suits date the show (imo)). It's also said this is where Next Gen began.

I don't quite agree. Fair enough season 1 is mixed but season 2 is a lot stronger than some make out. Maybe it's over familiarity that I think some episodes aren't as strong as first thought in this season. Either way it's a show that kept me happy in my bedsit days and still does now with the massively improved clean up making it look like a show of the 21st century.

Plenty of Extras

Interesting to see David Rappaport's interpretation in The Most Toys. Personally I thought it was quite a poor performance, yet tragic circumstances stopped this performance airing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, dynamic... all of the above.., 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
Truly exceptional picture remastering and audio. Fantastic visual effects, lovingly restored/recreated planets and visual etc. This literally looks as good as something like Game of Thrones, i.e. something shot last month, never mind 23 years ago (and counting). The colours and clarity, the wonderful look of everything... I can't fault the set one bit. I haven't bought the other season sets yet but I am ordering them now on the strength of this. I know that season 2 apparently had some 'problems' due to CBS outsourcing the restoration of s2 but if it's even 70% of what this set is that will still be some feat.

Extras? not only does it cull all of the video interviews and documentaries from the old DVD version of this in SD which I also incidentally owned, but we have fantastic new HD extras such as a writers round table which is both entertaining and informative with 4 of the key players in the success of season 3. Then there's a fantastic 3-part documentary, the gag reel, the infamous Rappaport scenes, and all new audio commentaries. If you're a fan of TNG this is a must buy. If you're not, this is a must buy anyway, it is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
CBS have done an amazing job remastering another season of this legendary series. They have gone back to the original 35mm camera negatives and given each and every episode lots of care and attention to ensure it sparkles in full 1080p HD. Some great episodes in this season and the remastering makes them look better that ever. It looks amazing, like it was shot yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989] (Blu-ray)
CBS have done a great job transferring the original film to blu-ray (not from video as was used on television). Well worth the price.
Still, doesn't make the episode about Troi's mother any less irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [1989]
22.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews