Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book
Fifth book in the series and a great read from page to page! Can't wait for the next book in the series.
Published 14 months ago by Brian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Where?
Call it a prejudice, but I prefer my Doctor Who stories to have the Doctor in them! This is a study of small-town American life, and then at the end the Doctor just turns up and explains everything. No tension, no drama.
Published 9 months ago by Number Six


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Where?, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Call it a prejudice, but I prefer my Doctor Who stories to have the Doctor in them! This is a study of small-town American life, and then at the end the Doctor just turns up and explains everything. No tension, no drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small town America, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
The Fifth Doctor's short is very reminiscent of the Tenth Doctor episode 'Blink' in that he doesn't appear until late in the story which works well in this WWII tale of small town America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Brian (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Fifth book in the series and a great read from page to page! Can't wait for the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
I have loved these new short stories, a must read for any doctor who fan. If you like the old books you will love this series. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just not the Dr, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Kevin (Rotherham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Kept waiting for the Doctor spring into action but seemed to stay in background till near the end good but not the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is this is fantastic, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Another fantastic book from this 50th anniversary series.In fact my second favourite so far. Wanted to read more about this doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Isn't the man in the cricket clothes meant to the main character here?, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Christopher Long "Phone Monkey" (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
These Dr Who short stories are starting to confuse me. The first one was okay. The second one showed promise. The third one was fun. Then came the fourth one came and you got to watch an icon of classic Brit TV sci fi fall flat on his face. I was hoping this one would pick things back up. Only the Dr is a background character here in a story that is a tangled knot of school book mortality, cheesy evil aliens and an almost pointless McGuffin. Although, now, I can see the point of these short stories. I've ended up buying a full novel for each of the Doctors to ease my frustration. All this time I thought I was reading short stories it turns out I was having mind games playing on me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little story, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. E. A. Hulse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the gentle touch of this story. It felt like a celebration of the warmth of the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa characters. Thanks for this Mr Ness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brave Hearts, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Oh, this is gloriously brave. In the anniversary year of Doctor Who, the original chapbook in this series featuring the 5th Doctor... barely has the 5th Doctor in at all. And it works. This is a wonderful little book. Set in wartime Maine, we have the story of two outsiders (an African American girl and a German Jewish boy) who have formed an unlikely friendship. It's about discrimination and mindless hate, and also about the sort of humanity that can endure and prosper through it. When Doctor Who is good, it takes big and complex things (like the Second World War), cuts to their core, and presents them in microcosm. And this is very good indeed.

As for the Doctor himself, he turns up every now and again, but the children are the primary characters, sitting on the edge of one of his adventures. It's not in any way a workable model for the show - nobody would want the series to do this every week - but it's the sort of experiment that the format lends itself to every now and again. Charming and memorable, you should give this to your kids to read because it's about real things they'll recognise, then read it yourself straight after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tip of the Tongue, 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Tip Of The Tongue: Fifth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Another interesting and enjoyable tale in this anniversary series though the Doctor and his companion have very little to do throughout most of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews