Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly enjoyable
This is thoroughly entertaining and well written Fourth Doctor adventure. The pacing and tone are pitched just right for this type of short novella. The plot is a little basic but it does exactly what it needs to within the confines of its length. The storyline feels as if it would comfortably fit within the middle years of Tom Baker's tenure. It is most closely...
Published 16 months ago by Alaran

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor or Tree Surgeon?
Pretty faithful to Tom Baker and Louise Jameson, but the story is a bit facile and the resolution is just too `And with a single bound they were free!'
Published 8 months ago by Number Six


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly enjoyable, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
This is thoroughly entertaining and well written Fourth Doctor adventure. The pacing and tone are pitched just right for this type of short novella. The plot is a little basic but it does exactly what it needs to within the confines of its length. The storyline feels as if it would comfortably fit within the middle years of Tom Baker's tenure. It is most closely reminiscent of `The Face of Evil' in so much that it deals with negative consequences of the Doctor's actions after he has left somewhere. This idea isn't featured that often in Doctor Who so it is still interesting enough to revisit.

The characterisation of the Fourth Doctor is consistently good; occasionally you can almost hear Tom Baker delivering the line. Leela is also portrayed fairly well. She comes across as Leela in her early days with the Doctor. Her characterisation in this novella is probably closest to that of `The Face of Evil' and she has a similar role. The other characters are all a bit shallow and incidental however. Ven begins the story seeming to be a promising character but then becomes quite side lined and Rastibon is pretty stereotypical. But the story is really based around the Doctor and Leela and much of the text is devoted to them.

Vegetable based monsters are quite few in Doctor Who, thus the Heligan can't help but be reminiscent of the Krynoids. The whole thing is an intriguing concept though and it is a shame the word count didn't allow for a longer look at the Heligan.

There is also a nice and non-intrusive sense of humour that runs throughout the story. References to bow ties and quarries easily bring a smile. And there is a nice little twist with the Doctor's statue.

This is another utterly enjoyable short story in this range; it's just a shame there wasn't a bit more K-9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite so far, 26 April 2013
By 
Mr. E. A. Hulse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Great story, full of Tom Baker and Leela. I liked the terraforming trees very much. It had the feel of the early science fiction stories in the 1960s that my father used to collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another strong instalment in this anniversary series of e-shorts, 23 April 2013
By 
V. Dunstan "vivdunstan" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Just finished the Roots of Evil and thoroughly enjoyed that. It was told largely from Leela's perspective, which meant that her character was if anything more fully fleshed out and recognisable than the Fourth Doctor's. But both characters were faithful, and the exciting plot fitted the short format well. Nice sense of jeopardy created as well. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great outing for the fourth Doctor and Leela, 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
When the fourth doctor takes Leela to a wooden space station-essentially a giant tree-the tree wakes and seeks revenge against the Doctor.

Great little book. The characterisation was spot on in this book. Lines were perfect for the Doctor and Leela.

A nice surprise along the way helps give it a boost just when it needs it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor or Tree Surgeon?, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Pretty faithful to Tom Baker and Louise Jameson, but the story is a bit facile and the resolution is just too `And with a single bound they were free!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Trees Company (geddit?), 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Reeve has managed to bring the grinning loon that is the Fourth Doctor to life in this short story though his need to reference the Eleventh Doctor wasn't really needed as I thought the precursor events were much more Sixth Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Actually works as a short story, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
None of this series of books would get many stars if they were judged alone.
They all have the same problem, in that they are far too short and the stories tend not to take this into account.

There is often a very good set up, with lots of clever ideas, but then no time to explore them and the ending seems perfunctory.

If you only have 40ish pages then the story shouldn't have ambitions to be a novel and it should work better within it's limits.

So the rating I'm giving are just a comparison within this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent intro to the 4th Dr, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this short story. Not having watched any of the orginal Dr Who, it was a good way for me to get aquainted with the 4th Dr before the big 50th anniversary. It seemed a little on the shorter side compared to the first 3 books but it did not seem rushed and it still managed to contain enough action and suspense to satisfy me. I wont say too much because I don't want to spoil anything but there is a bit of a twist in there that I did really enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed it.
I am buying them as they come out, once i started reading it just couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The WHO: My (re)Generation, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil: Fourth Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable 4th Doctor story with knowing nods to stories from the era, in particular Face of Evil. Could have done with more of the Doctor himself, but hey it 's a short story. Leela was just as I remember her from the show and the Target books. This was clearly written by a fan and someone who loves the show. My hat and multicoloured scarf are off to you, Mr Reeve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews