Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern starter cd, look no further!!
An excellent selection of songs. For any "Northern newbies" out there,this is a cd you should start with!! Great price as well.
Published 3 months ago by Nottsoul.

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid (but not outstanding) Northern Soul comp......
I feel the five-star reviews for this compilation are somewhat overstating the case since they are in effect saying this compilation is a classic on the same level as say Aretha's "Lady Soul" or even KENT's own "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" Northern Soul compilation.... obviously absurd. My own rule on KENT's Northern Soul compilations is that those sourced from multiple...
Published 19 months ago by TCH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Northern starter cd, look no further!!, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (MP3 Download)
An excellent selection of songs. For any "Northern newbies" out there,this is a cd you should start with!! Great price as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CD excellent and sounds great, very pleased with the CD. It is Various Artists at their best and very enjoyable. GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection for those wanting a bit more soul, 13 Feb 2013
By 
L. Miller (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't profess to be an expert on Northern Soul. Like many I have steadily built by collection through compilations. My attention to this latest release came from this website - [...] , which gave me an indication of a quality release.

It is a wonderful collection of records but I suspect it will be suited to more serious Northern Soul fans. It's not one full of "Indeed I do" type mainstream songs anyway. That's not to say newbies to the "scene" won't appreciate it, but it is one of those compilations of rare and alternative version of classics so may not have that catchy element.

At the moment, it's also not a bad dent to the pocket either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, 17 May 2013
By 
Christopher Barr (Preston, Lancashire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent cd with rare tracks, by lorraine chandler, willie Kendrick, Michael and Raymond, and the cavaliers, well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have bought hundreds of soul compilations over the years and this is one of the best. Nancy Wilcox and September Jones were new to me, but Im blown away by their tracks here. Special mention also to the original version of Lorraine Chandler's classic "I cant hold on" and the pied pipers players "Thats what love is" - which is actually the instrumental of Eddie Parker's northern stomper "Im gone"
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid (but not outstanding) Northern Soul comp......, 10 Feb 2013
By 
TCH (Cambs, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I feel the five-star reviews for this compilation are somewhat overstating the case since they are in effect saying this compilation is a classic on the same level as say Aretha's "Lady Soul" or even KENT's own "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" Northern Soul compilation.... obviously absurd. My own rule on KENT's Northern Soul compilations is that those sourced from multiple labels are far stronger than those concentrating on a single label/studio (as this one is). That rule holds here that whilst this is a solid "3-star" compilation with excellent sound quality and songs professionally played with expert 'sub-Motwn' arrangements the songs themselves are pretty generic Northern Soul stompers with little variety (especially in tempo) throughout the 60-odd minutes. This lack of variety can be slightly monotonous even for fans of the genre (like myself) --- the better KENT compilations mix things up a bit more by throwing in the odd ballad or bluesier track.

The usual KENT care has gone into the package with comprehensive (if frankly exhausting!) liner notes relating the story of the Pied Piper Production house including snippets of contemporary interviews with surviving players. The sound as usual with KENT is extraordinarily good and it has to be said that considering well over half of these songs are unreleased the quality is actually surprisingly consistent despite the fact there are no lost classics here, almost every track consisting of medium-fast Motown-style rhythms and boilerplate arrangements. The best tracks are by the female singers with September Jones standing out from the pack with the moodier "I'm Coming Home" probably being the pick of the set. Lorraine Chandler, already well known in Northern Soul circles, also contributes very solid material with her "Mend The Broken Pieces Of My Heart" being the pick (again more downbeat in tone than the majority of tracks which makes it stand out). As ever with KENT there'll be a few mystifying choices of which Mike & Ray's "If You Only Knew" is a prime example with 'whitebread-pop' vocals and piffling lyrics over a Motown beat --- simply awful and KENT's statement that this song goes for hundreds of pounds on the collectors circuit just shows how easy it is to part a fool from his money!

Therefore in conclusion: solid enough for keen Northern Soul fans (is there any other type?) but please in no way is this a five-star item by any objective measure --- three-stars is probably a fair rating (ie. good if you like this type of thing but definitely not for the average soul fan; they should get "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" on the same label instead!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detroit soul, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for the well priced item.
Not a bad CD
Some not to my taste but all are different when choosing music, others will like what I do not.

A decent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, it hits the spot, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great collection of stunning soul tracks, primarily of the Northern variety. Brilliant, hardly a dud track. Can't wait until the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOLID DETROIT SOUL!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow! What a fabulous collection of rare sixties Detroit tunes, penned by unknown geniuses of their time, a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors choice, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Lynne Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in rare soul this is for you.Kent as done it again well thought out worth adding to your colection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews