Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Chorus of Approval!, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Jeff W (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
I received my copy of Laylam yesterday, and have played it a few times in the car and have to say it really grows on you. I'm very familiar with the work of Eliza Carthy and Bella Hardy through their solo work, The Imagined Village and The Life of Birds with David Rotheray, so I knew pretty much what to expect, and was not disappointed. I have heard little or none of the music of Lucy Farrell or Kate Young, and was pleasantly surprised. The album is varied, Chickens in The Garden gave me a chuckle, other highlights include Dewdrop, June is the Coldest Month, and 100 years, which has a rustic, eastern European/Romany feel to it. All in all, highly recommended. I'll defo be looking out for future solo work from messrs. Farrell and Young!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as expected, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Peter Geall (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
Supergroups ( even of the Folk variety) are always worth caution but this does not disappoint. A varied set which has great dynamic range and an interesting choice of material including trad songs Americana and a Peggy Lee number. The album hangs together very well as the moods shift until the lovely finale . There is a continued sense of fun but there are no short cuts or filler. If you know and like the members individual work then you'll have an idea of what to expect. The playing and singing are top class and deserve a wide audience. PS the current tour is also worth catching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
This is a really good album. Eliza Carthy, Bella Hardy, Lucy Farrell and Kate Young are all outstanding singers and folk violinists but I wasn't sure what to expect when they got together. The result turns out to be absolutely terrific - musically rich, respectful of the material while giving it an individual treatment and above all immensely engaging and enjoyable.

There is a varied selection of stuff here: traditional songs from both sides of the Atlantic and some really unexpected things like Why Don't You Do Right - Peggy Lee's hit from the 40s which I think is just sensational. Throughout the album the arrangements are excellent, varied and not always as you would expect: some of Dewdrop sounds as though it might be a rather radical string quartet by an adventurous modern composer, for example. Much of it, though, contains beautiful harmony and fabulous singing with the four distinctive voices combining beautifully. This is combined with the four fiddles in various combinations - sometimes all playing richly together, sometimes just a single plucked string and almost everything in between. There is top-class musicianship here and it goes to make a really enjoyable album as well as one which has the quality to last for many years of listening. I love it.

Folk music is in the hands of many excellent musicians at the moment, and these are four of the best of them performing wonderfully together. Laylam is a real gem in my view, and very warmly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 young folky fiddler girls have fun singing & playing together, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
I am familiar with 3 of these performers through previous solo recordings and seeing them live in concert,but had not come across Kate Young before. Northumbrian Piper Kathryn Tickell apparently suggested they might try playing together, and despite fears of a female folk supergroup collaboration, overall it seems a very democratic ensemble that definitely sound like they are having fun together. Each artist is responsible for bringing 3 tracks each to the album,and some of the tracks selected are not all traditional folk staples, for example a cover of Patsy Cline's classic Walking After Midnight is included. All of the girls play fiddle, and there are some nice vocal harmonies, with the deeper voice of Eliza Carthy clearly standing out. I am sure that live in performance they will be a great spectacle. This is an enjoyable and pleasant album, overall very good but perhaps not outstanding. It seems an inspired moment in time, a fortuitous coming together, whether it will be a one off recording or the first of many we will have to wait and see. I see they are going to be playing live at a variety of venues over the coming months, and I am sure they will be a good group to see in concert. My favourite tracks so far are June is the Coldest Month of the Year and Chickens in the Garden chosen by Liza, and Walking After Midnight chosen by Bella. There is not a duff track here, they are all accomplished performers who are supportive and egg each other on to good effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Fiddle, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
I bought this album on spec without hearing a track as it features three of my favourite performers. Technically it is very good but I've yet to find the one outstanding track that usually lurks within the list. It's quite an eclectic selection of songs and tunes with each artiste bringing their own touch of individuality to the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Listening, 10 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
Good voices, good music, good lyrics. If you like listening to any of these artists, then having them all together is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
four well established artists in the folk world singing some really nice songs. Loved the music ,especially the fiddle playing .Singing was really good too . I also like the fact it had quite a few really happy songs .Some folk CDs can be quite depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great one off CD, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
Saw the girls at David Hall,South Pertherton.They were wonderful and full interactive with the audience.
They have now gone seperate ways,but any of them are worth seeing on own.
This at the moment is a one off CD with great music from each of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, fun and moving, 26 Sep 2013
By 
John Cook (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laylam (Audio CD)
Looked for Eliza Carthy at the recent Stopover at Lewes, and it turned out to be Ley Lam playing a free gig outside the Union Music Store.
Despite only 3 of the girls being present, I loved the performance and bought the CD. Haven't stopped playing it. Charming, fun and moving, depending on the track.
If you like violins and harmonies you'll love this - you don't have to be a folk buff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Four Fiddling Females, 17 July 2013
By 
G. J. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laylam (MP3 Download)
These girls don't half know how to belt out a tune!

Great Stuff for fans of any of the four who get together here for an impromptu good time session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laylam
Laylam by Carthy Hardy Farrell Young
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews