Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars125
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£6.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2014
Great movie. But how many more releases?!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
For Your Eyes Only has to rank as the worst Bond movie ever made. Well maybe not, i reserve that for Skyfall but its down there.
Its full of all the old cold war cliches you can imagine. The whole Russians and Americans theme is tedious beyond belief, more so than the post 911 Al CIA'da bogeyman fantasy. Moore looks old and tired at 54 and has a ridiculous nympho girl athlete that barely knows him throwing herself at him at ever opportunity and its cringeworthy. The opening scene in the helicopter is a good start but it rapidly goes down hill from there. The ski slope scenes add a little thrill but the underwater sequences which are always tedious get even more so with the quest for some nuclear device which looks like some plastic lego toy!

The only saving graces are the gorgeous Carole Bouquet who is probably the sexiest and brainiest Bond girl there's been and the movie score which is a rather nice effort from Sheena Easton and a hit at the time. Bond is about ridiculous OTT themes as in Spy Who Loved Me and Moonraker (which is the best Bond movie ever imo) and hi tech gadgetry coupled with an evil villain. The trouble is with FYEO there is no theme or gadgetry nor evil villain, only many crooks running around like schoolboys not sure what they're supposed to do. Not once was i on the edge of my seat and the wooden caricatures of Maggie and Denis Thatcher at the end is laughable at best. Epic fail.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
Good old James, the wife, s favourite
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
After the grandiose, big budget "Spy Who Loved Me" and the spectacularly over the top "Moonraker" it was clear that James Bond needed a reality check as the 1980s dawned - the result was "For Your Eyes Only".
One of the more underrated Bond films, i think, this is the one where Roger Moore got serious for once and is all the better for it. Although there are elements of Moore-esque humour in the opening sequence, FYEO quickly settles down into a gripping adventure where gags and gadgets are kept to a minimum. The action has something for everyone, from ski chases in the Alps to underwater skirmishes, and the scene where Bond nearly comes a cropper while rock climbing is a vertigo inducing classic.
Moore's leaner, meaner 007 can be seen when he tips one of the baddies' cars over a cliff edge; rather than go for cheap laughs with a droll one-liner he does the deed silently and ruthlessly. Impressive stuff. Other elements which make FYEO a success are the supporting cast of Topol and Julian Glover, Carole Bouquet's terrific Bond girl and an above average theme song. Most credit however, must go to Moore himself for suppressing his light hearted instincts and giving his best screen performance since "The Man Who Haunted Himself".
Although not a huge hit by Bondian standards "For Your Eyes Only" was a breath of fresh air for purists who'd longed for a return to the realism of the early films.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Bought as a present excellent value
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
Very plesased up to the normal standard of you company. Very impressed with the service I will you again has skyfall been released yet as I collect all the dvd.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
quality items and quick delivery
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Great movie, fast dispatching, and good condition. Can recommend.
Great that it has Danish subtitles, since i'm from DK. I totally liked it.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
You can watch Bond movies forever, they are great, but are bluray disc's worth it, i'me not so sure.
It arrived on time and was well packaged.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
For fans of the real Bond (Roger Moore) this is a must have. I was bought this as a present and it exeeded my hopes. The quality is amazing, I don't fully understand how they produce such clarity when it clearly wasn't filmed with HD cameras???? It's better than some modern movies I have on Blu Ray filmed in HD. Another review says the sound isn't good... I didn't have the same problem but I played it through a 5:1 cinema system and it was better than being in the cinema.. This is so good I watched all the geeky stuff, deleted scenes etc. straight away. If you buy this you'll love it.
22 comments2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.