Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid release on Blu-Ray for Moore's first bond outing
I'm making my way through all the recent Bond on Blu-Ray releases, and strangely enough as I move through the franchise from the oldest (Dr.No), the image quality seems to be very slowly deteriorating. That's not to say that the image is poor; it is in fact excellent, but Dr.No's was astonishing and is over a decade older. The colours appear a Little muted compared to the...
Published on 14 Feb 2009 by K. O'Leary

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't play
It's difficult to say much about this product as it simply doesn't play on my Blu Ray player. A couple of other Bond movies don't play either, but all of the other Blu Rays I have seem to be perfectly okay.
Sorry, you asked my opinion, and I have even had two copies of "Live And Let Die", neither of which worked.
I am contacting Sony, the Blu Ray...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Alfred A. Blackler


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid release on Blu-Ray for Moore's first bond outing, 14 Feb 2009
By 
K. O'Leary (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm making my way through all the recent Bond on Blu-Ray releases, and strangely enough as I move through the franchise from the oldest (Dr.No), the image quality seems to be very slowly deteriorating. That's not to say that the image is poor; it is in fact excellent, but Dr.No's was astonishing and is over a decade older. The colours appear a Little muted compared to the earlier films, and the picture is more grainy, particularly in the garish red walls of Mr. Big's Fillet of Soul hideout. However, there is plenty of detail in the close-ups of the actors faces, and the materials of the clothing are rendered so well you could almost feel them. In general it is still a great improvement over the Ultimate Edition DVD (and that was pretty good for a start off).

The sound however seems to be improving as I move through the series (apart from a little dip for From Russia With Love), and for the first time Live and Let Die has a properly working surround treatment to my ears. There is real activity in the LF channel, with explosions now having real impact, and there is some decent use of the rear speakers as well, with only a few occasions sounding a little contrived (the birdsong in the Bayou scene for example). Effects steering is also very believable. The score is delivered beautifully, with plenty of audible detail particularly in the percussion, it also swells nicely into the rears to envelope you as you watch. I did notice however that in a couple of scenes the music drops into mono (the boat race just before the disruption of the wedding for example), this is pretty noticeable and sounds a little strange.

I didn't experience the worryingly long loading times I had with the earlier Bond films, which is an improvement. The extras appear to be identical to the Ultimate Editions, although the major docs have been bumped to HD which is nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A personal favourite, 30 Jan 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I may be biased because this was the first Bond film I saw, and the film that introduced me to the full cinema experience, but I rate this as the best Bond movie. With a new lead, all concerned seem to be trying that little bit harder, the style of the film is pitched just right - not too much humour to outweigh the sense of menace, and the speedboat chase must rate as one of the top action sequences of the series - wild, yet still not quite implausible, which is one of the problems with the more recent films - constantly out to outdo themselves until the stunts are so ridiculous that all credibility is lost. Also the bad guys with their sinister voodoo scarecrows add a chilling touch that few of these films have. all this and the priceless Sheriff JW Pepper... stop reading this rubbish and just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Moore Bond, 6 Sep 2007
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It's a little hard for me to be totally unbiased when reviewing this as this was the first Bond film I ever saw and is one of the reasons I became such an avid fan of the entire series.

But you know what, I can't help loving this film.

I know the list of complaints by others is a long one, but I think this is a fantastic film.

Roger Moore is no Sean Connery but he's clealy having the time of his life in the role of Bond. Yaphet Kotto is excellent as Kananga/Mr Big and Baron Samedi is another memorable villain. The opening funeral sequence has stuck with me for life and the Crocodile sequence is another great Bond moment.

I can certainly see the side of the argument that says this is a dated movie that hasn't aged well, but if I hadn't been so drawn to this film when I first saw it, I wouldn't be the Bond fan that I am today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Bond, it's good to see you again, 31 July 2006
Roger Moore's tenure as James Bond lasted from 1973 to 1985, during which time the Bond series turned more towards a comic style and Bond became more known for one-liners than for being a spy and assassin. Some of Moore's films were, on the other hand, much more balanced with regars to humour. Live And Let Die is my favourite Roger Moore James Bond film. Although much of Ian Fleming's novel is abandoned, the film still carries a Fleming-esque flavour. This is in part due to the Caribbean setting. Filmed in Fleming's beloved Jamaica, LALD is Moore's first effort as Bond and he is most convincing as Ian Fleming's secret agent. He is a little more ruthless here, and although he has some tongue in cheek dialogue, it doesn't go overboard. The only time the comic side of the picture gets out of hand is when Clifton James is on screen hamming it up as Sheriff J.W Pepper. Also the death of the villain, Kananga is very far fetched, and doesn't look convincing on screen.

The film's strongest points are probably the score and the henchmen. The score was composed by Beatles producer George Martin and really gives the film an interesting. The title song is used as the main action theme and Martin also composed some other good themes which appear regularly in the score. As much as I am a fan of John Barry, I'm not convinced that he could have done a better job than Martin on this film. In fact, I can barely imagine the picture with a more traditional Barry score.

The villain's henchmen are excellent. Tee Hee, a tall sadist armed with a mechanical hook. Baron Samedi, a voodoo priest with a wonderful sadistic laugh. Whisper, an overweight, almost mute henchman. The villain himself is Dr. Kananga, a politician who also operates as a Harlem gangster. The plot revolves around heroin, and Kananga's efforts to gain the monopoly in the heroin trade.

The DVD itself is very good. I didn't own the Special Edition, but I really like this Ultimate Edition. Although, looking at which features were present on the previous release. I'm not sure whether it would be worth buying this if you already have the previous version. But if, like me, you only had the VHS previously, this is a must buy. The library of extra features is rather good. The usual 'Making Of' documentary, narrated as always by Patrick Macnee. Also, worth looking at is the 'Bond 1973' documentary. Another behind the scenes look at LALD, but not as good as the Patrick Macnee one. Also of interest is the Bond circa 1964 piece, showing Roger Moore appearing as 007 in a 1964 TV program. It is a very nice comic piece between Bond and his Russian female counterpart, both just trying to have a holiday, but enable to shake off their suspicions about each other.

Overall, this is one of my favourite Bond films and an equally good DVD release. One thing that puzzles me though, why did they put a picture of Roger Moore in Octopussy on the label of Disc 1. He barely looks like the same person that he did in LALD, as the pic was taken a decade later. Oh well, a minor slip, but it cerainly doesn't ruin this very good DVD set. Go on, buy it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roger Moore's first and one of his best, 15 Jan 2004
In his first entrance as James Bond, Moore delves into the more humourous aspect of 007. He still manages to retain the suave and sex appeal which made Connery famous but brings something new to the role. The title song by Paul McCartney is excellently written and is played throughout the film. The DVD has some fabulous extras including the famous TV advert featuring Moore instructing us to 'drink a pinta milk a day' as one of the TV spots as well as the usual collectors booklet with in depth information about the film itself. Overall a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent upgrade for Roger Moore's entertaining Bond debut, 3 Nov 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live And Let Die [DVD] (DVD)
Fondly remembered by many as Moore's best effort, you have to be in the right mood to see this today and willing to make a mental trip back in time to the early 70s when it was made. It's probably dated more than almost any other Bond film - even bearing in mind that the seventies was the decade that fashion forgot, the sideburns and flares on display here are pretty vicious and, as the first film since Dr No to enter Bond's flat, it is deeply distressing to note that he is a slave to Formica and has chicken-shaped pate moulds on the wall. As swell as being the first Bond film since Goldfinger not to be shot in 2.35:1 widescreen, more significantly it also marks the point at which the series started imitating other trends rather than setting them - in this case blaxploitation pictures, which is quite an achievement you're your hero is white. Beyond its voodoo trappings little of the plot of Ian Fleming's novel survives as Shaft - sorry, Bond - takes on the drug-pushing president of a small island in Jamaica, but it's certainly one of the most action-packed of the series and never outstays its welcome the way some later efforts would.

Taking barely 11 minutes to get into some serious raised eyebrow action, there is perhaps a bit too much of Simon Templar in Moore's performance, but there is also a harder edge to his Bond that was soon smoothed away. He has a very cynical attitude towards Jane Seymour's virginal Solitaire), using her callously as bait. In a way it's a blessing that the film was not tailored specifically for Moore as later efforts would be, relying more on his rarely tapped abilities as an actor than his star persona. It doesn't hurt that director Guy Hamilton visibly raises his game from his lazy helming of Diamonds Are Forever.

This also shows the first sign of breaking up set pieces to add throwaway visual gags. This frequently detracts from the nifty and still very impressive speedboat chase, possibly the best sustained action sequence in the series until the free-running chase in Casino Royale, as Clifton James does his Deputy Dawg impersonation while the odd bit of slapstick comedy removes much of the threat. At times it is hard to tell which lines are meant to be funny and which ones aren't. "Great disguise, Bond - white face in Harlem" is pretty obviously the former, but surely the unintentional dialogue high point has to be Tony Award-winning Shakespearian actor Yaphet Kotto - curiously seeming to give three performances, starting out as Marlon Brando before easing into the genial villainy - uttering the immortal "Names is for tombstones, baby. Take him out and waste him."

The extras from the original single-disc DVD release are all retained for this repackaged Ultimate Edition 2-disc set - including the documentary with amazing outtakes of the alligator stunt going wrong that prove that the filmmakers used real gators - as well as some welcome new additions. The 1964 extract from Millicent Martin's TV show with a young Moore sending up James Bond is fun, and there's an intriguing 1973 documentary shot on the set. The print may be a damaged mixture of faded color and black and white footage, but the content more than compensates, from Moore quipping "If Guy Hamilton thinks I'm doing that again, he can get the other feller back, I'm telling you" to the depressing sign of the times that even then the film industry was still partially segregated, with the Black Stuntmen's Association having to prove that you didn't need blacked-up white stuntmen to double for black actors. The trailers are among the best of the series, promising 'More excitement, more action, more danger and more - much more - Roger Moore.' Better still, the legendary Milk Marketing Board commercial that was so cruelly undermined by Moore's entertaining account of filming, Roger Moore as James Bond 007 (A Pan original), is also included, featuring much manufactured footage of the cast downing pints of milk after dangerous stunts!

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent upgrade for Roger Moore's entertaining Bond debut, 12 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Fondly remembered by many as Moore's best effort, you have to be in the right mood to see this today and willing to make a mental trip back in time to the early 70s when it was made. It's probably dated more than almost any other Bond film - even bearing in mind that the seventies was the decade that fashion forgot, the sideburns and flares on display here are pretty vicious and, as the first film since Dr No to enter Bond's flat, it is deeply distressing to note that he is a slave to Formica and has chicken-shaped pate moulds on the wall. As swell as being the first Bond film since Goldfinger not to be shot in 2.35:1 widescreen, more significantly it also marks the point at which the series started imitating other trends rather than setting them - in this case blaxploitation pictures, which is quite an achievement you're your hero is white. Beyond its voodoo trappings little of the plot of Ian Fleming's novel survives as Shaft - sorry, Bond - takes on the drug-pushing president of a small island in Jamaica, but it's certainly one of the most action-packed of the series and never outstays its welcome the way some later efforts would.

Taking barely 11 minutes to get into some serious raised eyebrow action, there is perhaps a bit too much of Simon Templar in Moore's performance, but there is also a harder edge to his Bond that was soon smoothed away. He has a very cynical attitude towards Jane Seymour's virginal Solitaire), using her callously as bait. In a way it's a blessing that the film was not tailored specifically for Moore as later efforts would be, relying more on his rarely tapped abilities as an actor than his star persona. It doesn't hurt that director Guy Hamilton visibly raises his game from his lazy helming of Diamonds Are Forever.

This also shows the first sign of breaking up set pieces to add throwaway visual gags. This frequently detracts from the nifty and still very impressive speedboat chase, possibly the best sustained action sequence in the series until the free-running chase in Casino Royale, as Clifton James does his Deputy Dawg impersonation while the odd bit of slapstick comedy removes much of the threat. At times it is hard to tell which lines are meant to be funny and which ones aren't. "Great disguise, Bond - white face in Harlem" is pretty obviously the former, but surely the unintentional dialogue high point has to be Tony Award-winning Shakespearian actor Yaphet Kotto - curiously seeming to give three performances, starting out as Marlon Brando before easing into the genial villainy - uttering the immortal "Names is for tombstones, baby. Take him out and waste him."

The extras from the original DVD release are all retained - including the documentary with amazing outtakes of the alligator stunt going wrong that prove that the filmmakers used real gators - as well as some welcome new additions. The 1964 extract from Millicent Martin's TV show with a young Moore sending up James Bond is fun, and there's an intriguing 1973 documentary shot on the set. The print may be a damaged mixture of faded color and black and white footage, but the content more than compensates, from Moore quipping "If Guy Hamilton thinks I'm doing that again, he can get the other feller back, I'm telling you" to the depressing sign of the times that even then the film industry was still partially segregated, with the Black Stuntmen's Association having to prove that you didn't need blacked-up white stuntmen to double for black actors. The trailers are among the best of the series, promising 'More excitement, more action, more danger and more - much more - Roger Moore.' Better still, the legendary Milk Marketing Board commercial that was so cruelly undermined by Moore's entertaining account of filming Roger Moore as James Bond, is also included, featuring much manufactured footage of the cast downing pints of milk after dangerous stunts!

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 8 Dec 2007
By 
My personal favourite Bond Movie (largely because of nostalgia) and along with Moonraker, the most bizarre outing for the secret agent. Where Moonraker failed though, Live And Let Die succeeds. There are good set pieces, fights, girls, funny moments (not as over the top as they would become) and unusually for a Bond film, it is actually quite scary in parts, especially for the younger viewer.

When Bond is sent to America to investigate the deaths of several British Agents, his search leads him to Mr Big, a Harlem crime lord. With further investigation, Bond finds a drug-smuggling link between Mr Big, and Dr. Kananga, a mysterious man from a Caribbean island. Bond flies to Kananga's island to stop the massive Heroin dealing. There he meets the beautiful Solitaire played wonderfully by Jane Seymour, a virgin who has been enslaved by Kananga as her mystical powers bring him success. Bond soon finds himself entwined in voodoo forces he can barely fight, and struggles to complete his mission.

Plenty of stunts and action sequences, chases and humour make this an instant Bond classic, but the characters and performances of Yaphet Kotto and his various goons make it one of the best. Tee Hee is mysterious, Whisper is memorable, and Baron Samedi is a strong Villain as he seems to be immortal. This marks the appearance of Sheriif GW, and his comic escapades which are either annoying or very funny depending on your point of view. Moore gives a good performance, bringing the series in a different direction, and Seymour is one of the most beautiful Bond girls. There are many memorable moments, including the famous train fight, and Kananga's explosive end. Probably the most scary Bond film so far, in fact there has not been another one like it, and when i was young it was always the one i most looked forward to seeing. There are flaws- it does have more slapstick humour than previous outings and Bond does not seem as tragic or cold a character as before.

The features, like all of the Ultimate Editions are excellent, along with impressive picture and sound restoration work. There are trailers, documentaries, and an interestin early sight of Moore as Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more updated and a better bond., 16 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this bond entry marks a major turning point in more ways than one.

roger moore replacing sean connery is the obvious factor, but "live and let die" is a vastly more modern bond film than any of the previous ones. fashion, film sets, settings are all a big improvement. this was the first of many to be like this and so much the better for it.

despite popular opinion, i have never rated sean connery as being a particular good bond; he is over-rated, his wardrobe is downright boring but he simply does not have the personality to pull it off.

even his last bond film "diamonds are forever" is old-fashioned and hasn't dated well at all.

where as, roger moore easily has these qualities. true, he may not have the muscle of connery, but moore's easy going charm makes up for this.

"live and let die" has a couple of classic moments which are amongst my personal favourites; the boat chase sequence, the escape from the alligator farm and the scene where bond rescues solitaire from the voodoo worshippers.

it is julius w. harris as tee-hee that stands out as the best villain, where as roger moore is already well settled in the bond role. last but not least, the soundtrack is one of the best i've ever had; i can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE! Best Bond Ever., 14 Dec 2008
By 
K. Maiden "K.L.M." (Glasgow U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live And Let Die [DVD] (DVD)
I would just like to say that Live And Let Die is in my mind the best of the entire series. It has all the ingredients of a bond movie great bond girls (solitare) action and stunts (the crocodile island stuff) and in my eyes the best bond in R. Moore. All in all a great movie to be seen time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live and Let Die [Blu-ray] [1973]
Live and Let Die [Blu-ray] [1973] by Guy Hamilton (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews