Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Enlightenment adventure
Wendy Moore's speciality is telling the stories of eighteenth-century individuals whose lives almost defy belief. Her great gift for this is here undiminished. I think I enjoyed `How to Create the Perfect Wife' even more than her previous books, `Wedlock' and `The Knife Man', and I'm a big fan of both. I've wanted to find out more about Thomas Day's bizarre...
Published 18 months ago by L. Syson

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going
I'm not sure what review made me buy this book. It's more of a non-fiction read with huge amounts of cross referencing. It still lies by my bedside and will hopefully get more interesting later in the story??
Published 12 months ago by MargiP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Enlightenment adventure, 7 Feb 2013
By 
L. Syson (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wendy Moore's speciality is telling the stories of eighteenth-century individuals whose lives almost defy belief. Her great gift for this is here undiminished. I think I enjoyed `How to Create the Perfect Wife' even more than her previous books, `Wedlock' and `The Knife Man', and I'm a big fan of both. I've wanted to find out more about Thomas Day's bizarre wife-creation experiment ever since first encountering the story in Jenny Uglow's `The Lunar Men'. It certainly proved a tale worth exploring, and Moore is a most convincing companion on the journey. She has unearthed plenty of fascinating detail, and uses it unerringly both in the service of her narrative and to throw wider light on a period of history that's still full of surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, intelligent, entertaining, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Wife in the North (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
I loved How to Create the Perfect Wife. It is a thoroughly researched, entertaining, intelligent, absorbing story about a strange man doing a very strange thing. I have no idea how long it took Wendy Moore to research but the detail is astonishing and carries you along into the world of the book. I didn't like Day, I wasn't supposed to. I found it hard to understand why those around him found him so impressive. I loved reading about him though. It made me think, and wonder and question which is always a good thing. Strongly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good story, and anyone who likes to learn something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'How would he ever obtain the woman of his dreams? Then out of the pit of his despair came a bold and daring plan...', 14 Mar 2013
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The story of Thomas Day, writer, law student and man of property. His great longing was for marriage - but he had stringent demands:

'Day wanted a life-long partner who would be just as clever, well-read and witty as his brilliant male friends. He craved a lover with whom he could discourse on politics, philosophy and literature as freely as he could in male company. He desired a companion who would be physically as tough as he was...For all his apparently egalitarian views on education, Day wanted his future spouse to suppress her natural intelligence and subvert her acquired learning in deference to his views and desires...She would regard Day as her master, her teacher and her superior.'

Not surprisingly, his two early attachments to wealthy young ladies were both terminated (by them.) Day then conceived a plot: he would abduct two twelve year old girls from an orphanage and train them up for the position of wife - the better of the two would be selected. One blonde and one auburn came to live under his care; he provided academic learning, expected them to perform all household duties and even tried to 'toughen them up' by firing pistols nearby and dropping hot wax on their shoulders. Following the teachings of his idol, Rousseau, Day sought a perfectly natural and unspoilt woman.

How his experiment succeeded is told in this immensely readable work, in which other notable persons of the era such as Maria Edgeworth and John Constable also feature. If this happened today, it would be on the front page of the Sunday papers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The search for the perfect submissive wife....., 22 Jan 2014
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I was intrigued when I read a review of this book - I had never heard of Thomas Day's bizarre experiment to ensure that he had a wife who matched all his needs. This is a fascinating book which is obviously the result of meticulous research of 18th century documents.

After a couple of disastrous relationships Thomas Day was inspired by Rousseau's educational theories to create his perfect partner. Apparent from the start are the contradictions in Day's approach. He decided to take two young girls from an orphanage and train them to be compliant, loyal, strong and willing to live a life of simplicity. He furthered expected his chosen partner to be able to discuss philosophical ideas with him, engage in intelligent conversation, spurn all decoration and vanity and run a household without servants. While Day was an advocate for the abolition of slavery and later a supporter of American independence he seemed quite oblivious to the fact that his charges from the orphanage were treated as chattels with no rights of their own. It is odder still that so many of his friends (well educated people in the Age of Enlightenment) who seemed willing to be complicit in his experiment. Some of the things to which one girl in particular was subjected can only be described as abuse and if carried out today could well lead to a prison sentence.

The arrogance of Thomas Day seemed to be limitless - it is quite amazing that he ever found anyone to share his life. When the London Foundling Hospital decided to improve the lives of their charges by introducing music lessons Day objected vociferously. Music lessons for poor children would lead to continental airs and graces!

How to Create the Perfect Wife is a very entertaining and informative read which left me wanting to know more about Georgian society and in particular the Lunar Society. Wendy Moore recounts how Day's friend Richard Edgeworth offered his services to the city of Lyons (for free) and set about developing an ambitious engineering project to reclaim land by changing the direction of the river Rhône. I now want to find out more about this venture.

The story is exceptionally well told and in parts reads more like a novel than non-fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find out about the secret lives of the literati in England during the Georgian period., 14 April 2014
By 
Dr. B. Prynn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create the Perfect Wife (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. It as as good as the writer's previous book - 'Wedlock' - which I also loved. The story is extraordinary, and the research meticulous. Anyone interested in the Georgian period, in bringing up children and/or in information about the Foundling Hospital, would enjoy the book. What is most extraordinary about the story, is that apparently it was well-known until the beginning of the twentieth century, when it disappeared from public knowledge. The life of Sabrina, the centre of the book, was also extraordinary and ultimately fulfilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create the Perfect Wife (Kindle Edition)
Another fascinating book from Wendy Moore.So well researched and readable.Have recommended it to my family and friends. All the while you are reading it you have to keep telling yourself that it is true! Not quite so gripping as The Knife Man or Wedlock but nevertheless worth reading.What will her next book be about ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another sure winner, 1 July 2013
By 
Archie (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having thoroughly enjoyed Wendy Moore's previous books,'The Knife Man' and 'Wedlock', I began 'How to Create the Perfect Wife' with some anticipation. I was not disappointed. This is the most extraordinary tale told in Wendy Moore's now familiar gripping manner. The cast of 18th century characters includes the paranoid anglophobe Jean-Jacques Rousseau; the irrepressible Charles Edgeworth, whose inventions include a sail-powered carriage and a turnip-cutting machine; and serial gambler and all-round dissolute John Bicknell. The main story revolves around Thomas Day, a wealthy eccentric, and his attempts to bully and brainwash a young orphan girl into becoming the wife of his dreams. But dominating them all is the powerless foundling Sabrina and her refusal to be cowed. Great story-telling backed by copious research and thoughtful analysis is Wendy Moore's trademark. Roll on the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating social history, 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: How to Create the Perfect Wife (Kindle Edition)
In the mid-eighteenth century, Thomas Day was a minor public figure, so a lot of letters survive by and about him and his circle. He is all but forgotten as an author and philanthropist, but it is an incident in his personal life that is the focus of this biography.

In his early twenties, Day became convinced that he would never find a suitable wife, so he took two young girls from a foundling hospital and set about educating him to meet his strange demands. He made a generous donation to the hospital, so the girls were in effect bought by him. This didn't take place in isolation and the author is excellent in showing how Day (and many of his friends) were influenced by Rousseau. She is also very entertaining on the character traits that made women reluctant to marry Day, despite his large fortune.

It isn't the author's fault, but the second half of the book suffers in comparison to the first. It is just as meticulously researched and is always interesting, but nothing that happened to Day in the later part of his life is as compelling as the wife-training experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overview on the early Eighteenth Century, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book expecting some kind of silly novel, instead of which it turned out to be a fascinating overview of the early eighteenth century. It revealed shocking conditions of poverty and deprivation in Britain, as well as being a highly interesting description of the so-called gentry, and its ways of life. I found the descriptions of, and the many interconnections between, people who are famous even today, highly informative.
Not a literary work, but certainly an innovative approach, and thought-provoking. It led me to go back and take a hard look at Britain's situation at that time, its hugely divided social classes, and the immigration policies of those in power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect wife, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create the Perfect Wife (Kindle Edition)
Couldn`t put it down! A wonderful account of Day`s search for a wife of his own creating.A very strange man. Aspergers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Create the Perfect Wife
£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews