Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the way it is
I read a lot of medical memoirs as my other half is a doctor. he always says that the most unusual and difficult part of home visits, especially at night, is that you don't just speak to a single patient (and perhaps a spouse or parent) as you tend to do in your surgery. When you are in someone's home at night you tend to face the patient's whole family - who are by...
Published 17 months ago by Chris Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER DOCTOR ONE.
A bit boring in places, but it is still very readable, myself I would have put a lot more content into it to make it that bit more spicy but not sexy.
Published 1 month ago by the good old boy.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the way it is, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Chris Miller (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of medical memoirs as my other half is a doctor. he always says that the most unusual and difficult part of home visits, especially at night, is that you don't just speak to a single patient (and perhaps a spouse or parent) as you tend to do in your surgery. When you are in someone's home at night you tend to face the patient's whole family - who are by definition very worried and emotional. throw in the fact that you are probably seeing patients you have not met before and may not have much information about them and he says home visits can be even more challenging. these diaries really gave me a taste of that confusion which I liked. They also show that people (especially parents and carers) are often far more emotional and worried at night than they might be in the day - and that this is an extra challenge for new doctors to deal with. as usual, though, I like the fact that doctors (and nurses) tend to have senses of humour (even if they are not always very politically correct) - and while I had heard it before the story about the dog will always make me smile!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Call-Out, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
At a time when the medical profession is under fire from all sides with failing hospitals, long waits for an out of hours visit or for a an appointment to see your GP this book is a timely reminder that seeing a doctor is a two way process. We have a right to medical treatment round the clock but we also have a responsibility not to call a doctor for trivial reasons.

Everyone should also have the responsibility not to be totally stupid but many don't seem to take that particular responsibility very seriously. The cases the author writes about will shock you, make you laugh and even make you cry. Hopefully they will also make you think about the way you deal with the medical profession.

One man had used his girlfriend's hair removing wax but had totally ignored the instructions with the result that he'd peeled off a good proportion of the skin under his arms. Drug addicts expect tranquilisers to counteract the effects of the illicit drugs they've taken - not to speak of a free taxi home.

There are also the people who are nearing the end of their lives who need more pain relief to see them through the dark watches of the night. The worried parents who fear their children may be seriously ill and the mental patients - care in the community - who do not know which way is up and who may harm themselves or others.

When you next use the out of hours doctor service and it takes a while for them to visit you stop and think about the other people who may need attention more urgently than you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
An extremely accurate depiction of life as an out of hours GP. Alex Rudd clearly has his finger on the pulse of how to keep the reader interested. I was moved by many of his accounts and then grateful for the light relief provided by his most amusing anecdotes. Throwing in the light political slant for provoking thought makes for an extremely well balanced book which should have wide appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
great book, very easy to read would recommend to anyone whether they are in the medical profession or not. would read again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but too short, 21 April 2013
By 
SNBKT (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book but found it a bit short. Hopefully the author will write a second book which is longer .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable., 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
I was pleased to read a story about doctors where the writer actually liked the patients and wasn't jaded yet. I felt he had the right amount of compassion to balance the hardness needed to deal with the more demanding aspect of society.

I have read a lot of books about doctors and this one made a nice change from the usual moans about the PCT and the NHS.

Nice to hear about the doctor patient aspect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London call out, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
An interesting insight into the lives of those out of hours drs, we come to depend on once our doctors surgery is closed. The book is one that you don't want to put down, I have enjoyed reading it plus an added excerpt from another book is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite sized chapters, 18 Mar 2013
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
A great read, some funny stories and if you enjoyed 'confessions of a GP' then this is similar and just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
Another good medical read really quick and easy to read and an eye opener of what happens at night in London. Loved the story about the guy with the hair removal cream and the stories about the dogs!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER DOCTOR ONE., 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Call-Out: Confessions Of A Doctor In The Capital (Kindle Edition)
A bit boring in places, but it is still very readable, myself I would have put a lot more content into it to make it that bit more spicy but not sexy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews