Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't make my mistake.
I drunkenly pre-ordered this album a few months ago after listening through all the biffy albums during a rather inspiring evening. I saw two options, one which appeared to come with a bonus dvd, and one which cost a few quid less. Not thinking any more of it i spontaneously pre-ordered the cheaper of the two options. Some months later the album arrives and i'm excited to...
Published 20 months ago by Iain

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing
The band i love are clearly no more. The first three albums are insanely good. Puzzle is pretty good and then the slide starts. This isn't Biffy as i know them. Its a pop record. In fact it's worse, it's a Fall Out Boy Album.

Its not the worst thing i've ever heard, but its not the best either. You can stick it on in the backround and it's completley...
Published 20 months ago by P.J.


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't make my mistake., 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opposites (Audio CD)
I drunkenly pre-ordered this album a few months ago after listening through all the biffy albums during a rather inspiring evening. I saw two options, one which appeared to come with a bonus dvd, and one which cost a few quid less. Not thinking any more of it i spontaneously pre-ordered the cheaper of the two options. Some months later the album arrives and i'm excited to listen to it at last. Then i discover that only one disc exists, and only 14 tracks when i had been led to believe it would be a double album, with 20 tracks across two discs. I put this down to a last minute decision on the bands part and continued listening to the album. Several songs in and i'm loving it. And then the beauty that is Biblical gives way to the crashing of Stingin' Belle and something just doesn't quite feel right. These two songs just don't flow into each other at all, and the juxtaposition of these two totally different styles is off-putting. It leaves a bad taste...in my ears. Then i read up about the album and discover that there were two different releases, a double album and a single disc edition with just 14 tracks. I ask myself why? Why is there the option to miss out on 6 tracks, and in the process not hear either disc of the album as the band originally intended? There has to be some rational explanation for this, but searching the internet has not revealed anything. I have cheated myself out of the experience of listening to this album for the first time, and have yet to hear the 6 tracks that were not included in this edition. After getting myself psyched up for this album for months, i feel like i'm missing out big time. I will be selling this edition and with the money i will buy the 2 disc edition that i thought i was buying many months ago. I will not listen to this album until the correct unmolested edition arrives.

Don't get me wrong i'm massively impressed with what i've heard, i'm just ticked off that i heard some songs out of context. In the history of double albums i am struggling to think of any reason why cutting it down would make it better. The Wall would not be better if it were just 14 songs, it would feel altogether less substantial, the journey the music takes you on would be stunted and less effective. Maybe Stadium Arcadium had some filler, but cutting out a third of the songs would ruin the flow of the album, and i liked that the two discs had a completely different feel. Sign o the times by Prince...actually i'll stop right there.

I'm mostly annoyed that i foolishly bought the wrong edition when drunk after a night of listening to the previous albums, but in a big way i'm enraged that this single disc edition even exists. DO NOT BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Opposites [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Quite simply this is one of the most well thought out and performed rock album since muse origin in 2002, i honestly believe this will go on in years to come as a truly classic double rock album and there arnt to many of them around.
Biffy will never be able to top this epic sounding lp and will have to strip down a bit for the next album.It is though one of if not the best, most catchy straight forward rock albums i have ever heard, i still prefer the first three albums but in saying that this has been on my stereo for two months now i can't seem to stop listening and trust me that's a good thing.buy it buy it buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful...., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opposites [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
....doesn't sound as original as previous release, but it's growing on me!! DVD fun and a window into the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God I'm bored...., 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opposites [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
...of the first 3 album brigade! Aye ok, we get that you were there from the start, I started listening with Infinity Land so I'm clearly not as big a fan as some of you! Obviously Biffy have changed. The Beatles Please Please Me is hardly the same as The White Album. Bands have to change and yeah, Biffy might have gone more commercial but that has meant success and money for them. What kind of idiot would not want success and money for their hard work? This is a great album. Typically for me I never really listen to albums from start to finish but I do with Opposites. I can't wait to hear it live on April 1st in Glasgow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to this absurdly loud!, 28 Jan 2013
By 
mutlien "NT" (Warrington, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opposites [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Seconds after the thud on the doormat, the packaging was ripped open, the shrinkwrap torn off and CD inserted to a mammoth HI-FI system.....Different People started with it's massive church organ and the familiar tones of Mr Simon Neil chimed throughout the room. And then all hell breaks loose. What an opening tune! It kinda reminds me of a Scottish Jig when those guitars kick in and it had me smiling and thinking about just how far Biffy have come in the last few years.

To take on, write and record a double album is no mean feat and the boys have outdone themselves as track after track delivers. The single Black Chandelier has such a great hook and the following track Sounds Like Balloons lifts us even higher. There is barely room to breathe until Opposites calms proceedings....

I won't continue with the track by track - I'll leave that for you to discover and you'll thank me all the more for it.

Opposites is one of the best albums I've heard in the last few years - the production is slick, the experimental instruments (Kazoos! Bagpipes! Tap dancers! Trumpets! etc!!) work really well.

On the first few listens my standout tracks have to be - Different People, A Girl and his Cat, Skylight and Victory over the sun - this will change constantly with such a wide scope of music to get through.

Play it loud and play it proud. Biffy, you have shown us the moon and I damn well will touch it! Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic but a bit unsurprising., 28 Jan 2013
By 
J. B. Hunter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Opposites [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Biffy seem to be treading water slightly with this offering. It's all technically great and there's no bad songs it's just a bit safe and predictable if you've followed Biffy for 12 years like I have. I seriously think it's time they move away from gggarth as producer. Most songs have the same 'feel' and motifs are over repeated.

Bens drumming is as solid and precise as ever but lacks his usual character somehow. Can't put my finger on it. Perhaps it's just over compressed like all modern music. It's all a bit too dense and dare I say formulaic production wise although there IS a crazy amount of things/noises going on in the background.

Of course there are the radio friendly unit shifters as we've come to expect from the more commercially minded Biffy but there was always enough on the previous albums to satisfy Biffy's 'older' fans. One song called "Pocket" sounds like Tom Petty, perhaps America MOR has influenced them more than they realise and it's a bit "cringe".

Anyway nothing bad on here, nothing offensive just more of the same from a band I consider as one of the most imaginitive and adventurous bands out there. Highlights are "Modern Magic Formula" and most of second 'side' such as "Victory over the Sun", "Spanish Radio" "Skylight" just enough to get it to 4 stars although it is close.

Perhaps it just suffers from being a double album. I'm not a great fan as sometimes it can just be too much.

Definitely to be listened to loud I think as some of the finer points could be missed.

DISCLAIMER Compared to other bands this is still a 5 star album but compared to Biffy's other albums it doesn't move them further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic album, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opposites [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
i have all of the previous albums , which got better & better . but this takes it to a new level. it a true classic , a double album with 20 massive & brilliant tunes, not one filler, i could not even pick one out !!full of great anthems. opposites will become a classic if there is any justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing, 25 Feb 2013
By 
P.J. (birmingham, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opposites [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
The band i love are clearly no more. The first three albums are insanely good. Puzzle is pretty good and then the slide starts. This isn't Biffy as i know them. Its a pop record. In fact it's worse, it's a Fall Out Boy Album.

Its not the worst thing i've ever heard, but its not the best either. You can stick it on in the backround and it's completley inoffensive but if you pick any song off either cd and then play some kinda wixxard, justboy, liberate the illiterate, bodies in flight or man of his appaling stature, to name but a few of a great many, right after and you'll hear the difference. This doesn't rock. There is no dynamic shift volume wise between the loud and the quiet thus deadening any impact. The song structures which were once scattershot and deliciously all over the place are now predictable and dull.

Biffy have now become just another band. Like the Kings of Leon and several others of that ilk, three great records and then descent into radio friendly inoffensive dullards whereupon it becomes impossible to differentate between the songs because they substituted rock for blandness, ticket sales and safety.

I won't knock anyone for liking this, that's their call and i'm not that guy, but for me, not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl Copy - Bad sound and squeaky, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Opposites [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Can't fault the album itself as have other copies of it and it's brilliant

However the presentation of the vinyls are great but sadly they sqeak a lot sound pretty bad not authentic and they are very large feeling very compressed inside my record player which plays every other record under the sun fine!

Lovely gift but let down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opposites (Audio CD)
Love this album, full of great songs from a great band, would definately reccommend to all my friends, spot on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews