Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident evil returns to it's horror roots.
A lot of people have commented on how the Resident Evil series has shifted towards a more action orientated approach in recent years, some long time fans were quite disappointed that Resident Evil 5 was more of a linear shooter, than a survival horror game and that Resident Evil 6 was trying to be too Hollywood and had to many QTEs. Well it looks like Capcom have listened...
Published 14 months ago by D. A. Tremlett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil All At Sea
Resident Evil Revelations is one of the smaller titles to come out between the main players in the Resident Evil canon. As such very little was expected of it, but it does manage to capture something of the exploratory haunted house feel of the early Resident Evil games. Some of the more recent games have been more like Call of Duty than survival horror but here you are...
Published 1 month ago by Neil Lennon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil Revelations, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
Does not disappoint! All I would expect from a Resident Evil, game plenty to do and to kill, good gameplay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Abyss-mal., 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
When I heard that Resident Evil Revelations took the series back to its survival horror roots,I was somewhat cautious, but looking forward to see just how they managed to do this. In short; they didn't!

If you have played the games 4, 5, and 6, then by now you know the score. You take control of an essentially super human military trained killing machine with more than enough guns and ammunition to comfortably see you through such circumstances for at least the next few years. The game is littered with characters you couldn't care less about, and that includes the likes of Jill Valentine and Chris Redfield. I found myself hoping that, just to mix things up, they would kill off one of the series long running protagonists. How about it Chris?.... Jill?..... Would somebody else like to offer?

Nothing in this games takes it back to the "survival horror" roots they claim it to. Occasionally you may see a room that somewhat resembles, or gives a nod to something of the mansions interior from the original Resident Evil. You may get a key with an etching, or emblem on it, and have to track back for 5minutes to get to that specific door. But other than that, it's just the same old tired formula from the recent entries to the series. Even the creature design is lackluster at best.

To really take this series back to its survival horror roots, they need to start afresh. Scrap the BSAA storylines, government agents, and the current character set list. Even if it's just for one game. How about taking control of just a regular guy or woman for a change and not some super soldier government official? Bring guns and ammunition down to a bare minimum and bring in some up-close, heavy handed, melee combat. And no, I do not mean slashing wildly with a knife like you already can do. How about less frequent, but much tougher, smarter enemies? A room full of staggering, slow, enemies you have seen a million times does not create a tense atmosphere! Especially when you can stand 20meters away and headshot every single one of them without any danger.

I gave it 3 stars for fun because it's better than 5 and 6, plus Raid Mode is more fun than the main game. But that's not saying much at all. Overall it gets a 2 out of 5 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
bought this game for my partner he likes resident evil and was very satisfied with it. was a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Horror Returns, 28 May 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
Although I thoroughly enjoyed Resident Evil 5 and 6, the thing that made them feel less "Resident Evil" was the fact that they were moving away from being survival horror - something that made the series great in the first place - and became more of an action-orientated series, perhaps because of the popularity of the movie series of the same name. Whatever the reason, the fans weren't happy. So Capcom went and did the best thing that they could and scrapped the annoying QTE's and released a proper return to form survival horror - Resident Evil Revelations.

I don't own a Nintendo 3DS (and don't intend on getting one) so missed this one the first time round when it was released on this handheld last year, so I am very pleased that they have re-released this on consoles in HD. The story is great, bridging the gap between Resident Evil 5 and 6, and the setting is so much better than I thought it'd be - the cruise ship, where the game is mainly based, has a very similar lay-out to the mansion from the Resident Evil remake on the GameCube, so had a nice nostalgic feel to it. Other areas include an Artic-like stage early on and various locations on a destroyed exotic island. Chris and Jill return with their new partners, Jessica and Parker. Something I don't quite understand though is why there is no split-screen co-op option during the campaign, as your partner is there in every chapter and I thought the co-op modes in Resident Evil 5 and 6 were one of the best things about them. Not a massive issue but a bit of a missed opportunity.

The visuals and sound are fantastic and I couldn't believe this had been converted from a handheld game. Controls work well enough and anyone familiar with the over-the-shoulder view from Resident Evils 4-6 should have no trouble (although there is strangely no Run button?). The new scanning device is a good idea that makes the player actually explore the rooms more to discover extra items (ammo, health, hand prints) if they want to stand a chance of surviving. And best of all, this game is scary! The sense of `what's behind that door?!' and things jumping out from the darkness make a welcome return, and this is the first time in about 10 years I've felt like this when playing this series. The bosses are hard too so there's a guaranteed challenge on this game.

Raid Mode is good fun and can be played solo or with a friend (or a random) over PSN. This mainly involves selecting a character to level up, kitting them out and then re-exploring sections from the campaign with waves of enemies (generally at a higher level then you) and then getting to the end of the stage. I've spent a few hours on this mode and it really is more addictive than it sounds. Just a shame (again) that there's no split-screen co-op.

Overall I'm really impressed with this release and I'm so happy the series has gone back to its survival horror roots again. I just hope that Capcom take note with how happy we all are with this style and run with it again soon. I definitely recommend this game highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you long for the old days..., 3 Jun 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
Before I begin, let's see if we're on the same page. Resi 1 - 3 and Code Veronica are, in my opinion, the only true Resident Evil games. Sure, 4 was fun, but let's be honest, it could have gone by any other name and we'd all be none the wiser. 5 was an abomination, and six was... indescribable. Resident Evil has lost it's way, and if like me, you hate action and yearn for dusty corridors, exploration and sinister music as you hunt for that helmet key which will open up that previously inaccessible yet intriguing new area, then lately you'll have faced disappointment after disappointment as Capcom churned out yet another QTE heavy shooter, with ridiculous, hulking supermutant giants packing otherworldly strength and tentacles coming out of their heads. Yawn.

What I enjoyed about Resident Evil back in the day, were things like the slow pace, creepy tidbits of journals scattered here and there and the odd perfectly placed enemy lurking in the last place you'd expect; or the exact place you'd expect built up to nerve shredding tension thanks to the music and creepy, claustrophobic locations.

I'm pleased to tell you - the good old days have almost returned. Resident Evil Revelations is the most `Resident Evil' game since Code Veronica. It feels like the game Resi 4 should have been; a true sequel, combining next gen power with all the old franchise staples. Some of the moments will genuinely take you back, and you'll feel right at home, just like back in the day slowly making your way around the mansion in the original Resi.

Now don't get me wrong before you get too excited - you can still see the influence from the likes of Resident Evil 4, 5, and sadly 6 on occasion. Early in the game you'll play as Chris, fending off an onslaught of wolves which is pointless and too much of a nod to 6. There have been a couple of action heavy scenes which will take you out of the original Resi vibe now and then, but here's the good news about them - they are done well, and doable - not frustratingly repetitive like Resi 6 or persistent like 5; rather the difficulty seems to have been well considered and implemented to feel just about right.

It almost feels as though Capcom demoted whatever team was behind the recent franchise incarnations, and relegated them to petty victories - there is a lovely, melodic piano score between game scenes taken from the original games which is beautiful and haunting to listen to, however it quickly gets broken up by a rousing orchestral blast of excitement - clearly the influence of those pesky Resi 6 people. They just can't leave it alone.

It isn't a perfect return to form; but when Revelations hits the right notes, it sings. It's the old days again, sitting with your PS1 in a darkened room, fretting over what's around the next corner. You still have a forced buddy in this game who shares the adventure with you, but guess what - during the sections you're left alone, it's genuinely terrifying. In the context of Revelations, it works. Of course I would rather do the whole thing alone, but having a partner works fairly well n Revelations - it just could have been so much better without, as you'll find out on the rare occasion you get to go it alone.

The Queen Zenobia, a gigantic luxury cruise liner adrift in the ocean is a wonderful setting for the game, very much in the fashion of the mansion from 1, or the police station from 2. Creaking, rusty corridors, deserted living quarters and thunderous, stormy seas crashing outside of the windows adds so much to the game, you'll wonder how on earth the franchise ever lost it's way - Capcom clearly still have it; that they can make a Resi game of this calibre is truly encouraging.

So the burning question is - should you buy it? Are you like me, and you miss the old Resi days? If you find yourself in agreement as you read this - then yes, I recommend it heartily. It's not perfect and has it's fair share of flaws but it's right up there with the old Resi games for me; and I'll tell you something else - if Revelations had have been filled with zombies instead of monsters, this would be getting a nine out of ten.

Almost Capcom, almost. A solo adventure next, filled with zombies, light on the action and less cinematics please, and you'll have won all us old fans back over. I can't wait for the next Resi game; and it's been many years since I've thought that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's back!, 22 Aug 2013
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
Resident Evil Revelations is great! After the disappointment of RE6, I was thinking that the series was headed in the wrong direction permanently, but Revelations has slightly reassured me. It's not ambitious in what it sets out to do, but by keeping things simple it provides a very acceptable RE experience

First thing to note is that this is a port from a hand-held console game, so it's not up there with the crystal clear graphics of 5 and 6, however it looks perfectly acceptable to me. It certainly looks a lot better than I was worried about. The best thing about it is that it is something of a return to the very first game, as the main action is all set within one single location - a large abandoned cruise ship. What this means is that the entire map cannot be opened up at first, but by gradual completing of stages or finding of the now famous "shaped-keys", various locked areas that you encounter early on are returned to much later in the game, which to me gives a nice feeling of completion.

The story sees Jill Valentine and a new partner named Parker coming aboard the empty, adrift cruise ship the Queen Zenobia. Of course it's not really empty - something horrible has happened and the ship is teeming with monsters! As the pair explore the ship they encounter all types of obstacles that need to be surmounted, and nasty creatures that need to be dispatched. All the staples of the series are here - finding gradually more powerful weapons, finding the aforementioned keys, double crossing characters, sequences set against a countdown, the lot.

The game plays borrows some elements from the later releases though, The game nearly always has you playing as one of a pair - although your partner is purely AI controlled and seemingly indestructible like in RE6 - but with one difference: they can't harm anything! Any shooting or attacking they do has no effect. I found this out when one one occasion I decided to let Parker clear up a room with one remaining monster in it as I wanted to save ammo - well he shot away at it for almost 5 minutes and the darned thing never got any closer to death. So basically the partner is just there for show. However I didn't mind so much because I wanted to be the one in control.

As I said, the graphics are pretty good, particularly if this is scaled up from a handheld game. Maybe a little low on detail, everything looks a bit "smoothed off", but it really wasn't a drawback at all. Oh, and some fights are HARD! Unlike RE6 where everything was too easy, in RER, wait until you reach the battle on the Promenade Deck with the infected "Comms Officer" (you'll know the bit when it happens!). That fight is tough, and there are others like it. Which is a good thing.

Things that perk up the game a bit more are the chapters where you play as other people. At certain points in the game you are suddenly whisked out fo the Queen Zenobia and playing as Chris Redfield on a snowy mountain, or Parker in a shiny skyscraper office! This is confusing as you have a totally different weapon set so it's difficult to manage your inventory when they keep switching you around. And some of the stages are flashbacks! However these sections add variety if nothing else.

There's still more - you can upgrade weapons with spare parts, simple but fun, and theres a special "Raid Mode" (outside of the main game completely) where you basically just battle through sections that get harder and harder, gaining better and better equipment and abilities. A bit mindless, and similar to (but not quite as good as )"The Mercenaries" from earlier games.

So to sum up, I enjoyed this. Far from being a filler game to cash in on the series' reputation, this is a genuinely worthwhile addition to the franchise. Finally something that feels like the original Resident Evil again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Resident Evil 6 Should've Been., 26 May 2013
By 
Kyle (Portadown) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
The annoying aspect of this game is that it was released on a handheld console first making it a port to the PS3/360/PC.

This is what Resident Evil 6 should've been like.

Gameplay - It's very well done, over the shoulder view but not hard to get used to and its very smooth. No real issues.

Controls - Near perfected for the series, being able to shoot and walk either forward or backward is so helpful and less irritating!

Graphics - Beautiful crisp HD graphics, coupled with the atmosphere it makes a really pretty game! Not forgetting this is a port they have really done well.

Story - I'm not going to lie, it isn't the best but I'm glad to be playing as Jill Valentine again, the other characters don't have much development however.

Sound - The atmosphere is spot on, excellent music and sounds make the survival horror element stand out in this game.

In short I have to say I really did enjoy this more than RE6, it has more of a survival horror element which in my opinion RE6 severely lacked!

Would have been 5* if it was originally intended to be a console game in the first place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, 23 Jun 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
It is quite typical for Nintendo to get one or two games that completely fly in the face of their standard cheery output. Nothing wrong with cheery, of course, but Resident Evil: Revelations stands out like a decaying thumb on the 3DS when surrounded by the all too predictable Mario remakes, rehashes and cash-ins. Indeed, when I owned a 3DS Resident Evil: Revelations was one of the very few reasons I had for owning one. So, when I sold said hand-held, I did so with sadness, thinking I might never get to see the rest of this excellent title, having only played the first few hours. I wouldn't miss Mario, Luigi, Link or anyone else, but Resident Evil I would. Happily, RE is back where it belongs - on grown up consoles with an audience who actually deserve some old skool Resident Evil. Yes, deserve, because it waas they who made RE a success in the first place.

Like many others, the huge numbers of whom Capcom are seemingly oblivious, I sorely miss the days of the first three Resident Evils on the Playstation, and Code Veronica on Dreamcast. And what the hell had Nintendo or their entourage of cuteness enthusiasts ever done to deserve Remake and RE Zero on the Gamecube? It was, and is, plain wrong. Then the years began to roll by and RE got progressively less and less like RE and more and more like Die Hard with monsters. Capcom increasingly lost their way. RE4 was good, but not Resident Evil. RE5 was okay, but not Resident Evil. RE6... you get the picture. In RE6 Leon Kennedy is back! Err... but that's not Leon, it's just some guy with the same name. The real Leon, like Jill, Chris and Claire, prowls and hobbles around the barren corridors and deserted streets of Raccoon City, popping off shots against slowly lumbering zombies and associated monstrosities. What he and his allies don't do is fly kick mutations in the face while delivering snappy one-liners.

But now we have a safe refuge away from all of that inappropriate brashness and trashiness. Once more we can amble down hallways listening out for telltale signs of the undead, while a creepy ambient soundtrack ramps up the foreboding. And it's not on a tiny screen with your face reflecting back at you, either. Will Capcom take any notice of how glad we are to have OUR Resident Evil back, or will RE7 continue to be just another average action game with monsters in? Sadly, I predict the latter. Still, we will have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to survival horror!, 1 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
Wow, one word that describes this amazing game. Well done capcom you have well and truly made it back to survival horror at its best. I got this game today and am only on chapter 3 and let me tell you, it is by far the most thrilling, fear inducing game I've played so far. I am a huge resident evil fan, and was really dissapointed with resident evil 5 and 6, but capcom have really pulled themselves back with resident evil revelations. The graphics are smooth and clear, the controls are brilliant, the only gripe I have is the lack of ammo in the game lol just kidding, i know the game is all about surviving. I love the new enemies, especially the ooze, disgusting doesn't cover the description. All in all, this is a great game and well worth any die hard resident evil fans adding this to there collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best resident Evil since 4/cv, 27 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) (Video Game)
Ive read and heard alot of people complaining about how slow this game is...(news flash)...the game is suppost to be slow to add atmosphere, its not over the top like res 5-6 were, imo this is the best res game since res 4 cos its back the the old ways of finding keys and running around solving puzzles etc and backtracking.

Dont go by the demo as its only the 3rd mission and its pretty short, and for the love of god! dont go by reviews, IGN gave this a 6.5 but yet they gave the 3ds version an 8.5??? but yet they complained about stuff that was in the 3ds version? isnt it the same game? (confusing)

id say if you are a resident evil fan and want to experience the thrills and fun you had when you played 0-4/cv then pick this up and you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil Revelations (PS3)
Resident Evil Revelations (PS3) by Capcom (PlayStation 3)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews