Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Experience
Defiance is a great, very extensive game.
I have spent a fair bit of time playing it and I haven't encountered any problems, just been enjoying the whole experience of it. I've not noticed any major lagging, just some slight instances during the arkfall events (which are very fun with lots of people participating) but its nothing game-breaking

It is a very...
Published 20 months ago by Alexander

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More patches than a pirates convention
Nice box shame about the game!Have had nothing but glitch after glitch with sound and vision when involved with multiple players,the weapon system is far too complicated and long winded as is the menu management making the actual gameplay dull.The EGO voice I suspect is on a lot of gamers death list banal and repetitious is the nicest comment on that.ELsewhere comparisons...
Published 19 months ago by Anthony Toole


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Experience, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Defiance is a great, very extensive game.
I have spent a fair bit of time playing it and I haven't encountered any problems, just been enjoying the whole experience of it. I've not noticed any major lagging, just some slight instances during the arkfall events (which are very fun with lots of people participating) but its nothing game-breaking

It is a very solid game, been improved loads since the beta (especially the AI) the mechanics of the game work very well and it's also good to already see a big fanbase playing the game, hopeflly meaning the game will have a good future. Trion are also bringing out patches periodically to help the game along and they've done a great job so far with noticable fixes and the promise of plenty of future DLC.

The Ultimate edition is very good for the price, everything is of good quality, the soundtrack is excellent and the bag it comes with is a good size for plenty of storage if you were to use it.
The only thind i'd mention is about the statue, as it is not attached to the base which is slightly disappointing, however, it is still of good quality.

So overall, the quality of the whole package is great and worth buying. It looks to be a game that'll keep on going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More patches than a pirates convention, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Nice box shame about the game!Have had nothing but glitch after glitch with sound and vision when involved with multiple players,the weapon system is far too complicated and long winded as is the menu management making the actual gameplay dull.The EGO voice I suspect is on a lot of gamers death list banal and repetitious is the nicest comment on that.ELsewhere comparisons to BOrderlands have been made its nothing like it or as playable.Played Defiance for 10'000kills so have given it a fair go but it has not got any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooter MMO's are the future, 8 April 2013
By 
Stuart Burns "S2ubu" (Shrewsbury UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I was on the Beta for this product and thought it was brilliant. It turns out that the majority of the problems were already fixed by that time but we soldiered on anyway.

Now the full game is released it goes far beyonds my expectations. The game world is HUGE, bigger than both Fallout and Skyrim, and bigger than Borderlands, to which is follows similar cues. Special skills per class, lots of different weapons (although in Defiance they are customisable) and whole host of outfits and headgear, the characterisation itself is brilliant.

When you get into the full game, the scale hits you. When you go to your first Arkfall and join hundreds of other players it can be a little daunting (and as mentioned before Laggy) but this does not detract from a brilliant game. you have the choice of teaming up, creating clans, completing daily or weekly jobs forthe different factions or just involving yourself with the worlds random events.

Too much to list that is good with only some lag in HUGE events and some lip syncing and pop up issues as bad, this is a game that all shooter AND RPG fans should rush out to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 16 Sep 2013
By 
G. Claxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Very repetitive. The map is massive but the missions are all very similar.
Tried my hardest to like it but just got very bored of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game!!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Fantastic game lots of fun, i played the beta for 8 hours, think borderlands the MMO with more variation in the quests, good story coop is amazing, ether with 4 of your mates your some random guy that shows up in the same location as you, i recommend the ultimate edition like, i got it for 62 pound of here, and a season pass is worth normally what 15-25 quid alone + you get a bag, a statue of a bug in a really nice looking case and a lot of DLC, hope this helps and see you online if you buy it haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate experience, 5 April 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
After a few days playing iv seen enough to know this is a great game. Admittedly a few lagging issues made the arkfalls (local group events) unpleasant. But everything seems alot smoother now, any issues have been fixed faster than some paid subscription games....
This ticks all the boxes for me it is open world sandbox style. Co-op matches, massive multiplayer vs matches with vehicle's. Lots of guns all with different modding capability. All loot found in PVE can be used in PVP so its a level playing field.

There are daily challenges that give you reputation with factions. With the rep points along with in game currency rare weapons and mods are available for purchase. If you are patient & willing to grind it will reward ya's.

I really recommend this edition as it has a season pass included worth around 20quid. Also an in game paid for currency worth a tenner. With this u can buy outfits & boosts. Not to mention the high grade collectors edition bundle.

So if you fancy a new gaming experience look no further....

Defiance the TV series starts 16th of april @ 9pm on syfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELENT!!! ALOT ASWOME!!! 5 STARS!!!, 7 April 2014
By 
Devil_Max (Albufeira - Algarve) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
ALL OF THIS IS EXCELENT! ALL ASWOME! 5 STARS!!! PERFECT!!! WOW YEAHHH!!! THE PRICE SO ASWOME!! THANK YOU VERY MUTCH! CYA NEXT TIME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great collectors edition, 19 Mar 2014
By 
S. L. Ross "Grizzle61" (Caboolture Q.L.D) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
game play is awesome and this collectors edition is worth the money, you would not be let down. so enjoy the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas, lazy dev work., 6 Oct 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
First the physical side of the product and the extras.

+ The Hellbug statue is very cool, it isn't actually attached to the stand though so beware of that, it holds still on it very well though. Is a good size figurine.
+ The Messenger bag is well made and a good size, I've actually been using it out and about a lot, it can take a good amount of wear and tear and show no problems.
+ Artbook is fine, nothing special, not bad.
- The soundtrack isn't something I'd personally ever want to listen to (and I can enjoy video game soundtracks), the postcards and VBI contract are nice little things if you mad for the series but I'll probably put them in a box somewhere and never see them again.

+ Season Pass. At time of writing this review the PS3 Ultimate edition is £25, that is the price of the season pass alone from PS store. The value speaks for itself. However the first DLC was delayed many times and when it arrived it offered little content, most of the content could be accessed by players with no season pass. Don't expect Borderlands level of DLC support with this.
+ 1200 Bits, these are actually worth a fair amount, but they do not go far in game. Still, a nice bonus.
+ The extra inventory is nice (no bank in game so you carry -everything- and must scrap or sell items for more room)
- The other digital rewards are mostly petty things that you would never miss if never had them.

Now onto the game itself. I'll be brief.

+ The gameplay while not being triple A quality keeps you wanting to play, it is just fun.
+ The loot system and challenges will keep you wanting to complete them all and get the rewards, as well as level up weapons and find the best combination of mods for them.
+ The perk system offers 4 main abilties and lots of tweaks to those, as well as stand alone benefits.
+ No subscription fee, buy the game, play forever (until servers one day get shut down)
- The most anti-social MMO ever. Pretty much nobody chats, text or mic. You can try joining a clan but player count is so low even in that barely anyone to speak to aside from a few regulars. The game plays more like a single player game in a world with other players in it. You can solo the entire storyline and 95% of the game.
- Lots of technically issues including disconnections often and hard freezes of the PS3, really bad ones sometimes where need hold power button down for 20 seconds to make PS3 reset.
- Several things in the game like co-op maps require 4 players to start, even during peak hours sometimes you can be waiting in queue for a good 30 minutes just to start one. Several PVP modes are impossible to start because cannot reach the required number of players for it. Trion did fix one of these modes by drastically reducing the number, but others still remain almost impossible to play for weeks sometimes.
- PVP is horribly imbalanced with certain weapons that require no skill to use being extremely effective.
- Enemy variety.
- Poor graphics

If you're a fan of the show you might get slightly more fun out of it, but overall Defiance is a disappointing game. The gameplay and loot system and challenges make you want to play it, everything else drives you away.

If you're looking for a huge timesink, this will provide you one and you'll find some fun with it, for the current price I'd say it is worth it mainly because of the physical items, but you won't enjoy every moment of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars save your money!, 12 Sep 2013
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Let me start by saying I was an alpha tester for this game!!
I will say it is fun to play but a long term mmo i dont think so i got bored before i hit EGO of 2500 theres 4 pvp maps...4 and ones new! Once you've done the story theres now much to do but grind pvp or replay the story.
most of the bugs where still there the last time i played which was when the first dlc came out and that was crap and you have to pay for it voice chat on ps3 sucks soo bad!!(Still)
The dev's must live in the clouds as they think this is a great game reminds me of the over hyped HAZE!
If you must get it buy second hand.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3)
Defiance: Ultimate Edition (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£36.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews