Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun MMO Shooter
This game seems to have gained some rather unfair comments. Having played this for the last week, there are some bugs that should hopefully have an update to be fixed, but nothing so far in terms of items disappearing etc.

The game play on this is extremely fun and what I like most about it is that missions are still set in the open world. Ie no entering a...
Published on 9 April 2013 by Gareth Evans

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Defiance - the verdict
To beggin with the game was good, I bought it for £40 now looking back was a mistke.. it took a while to download onto my ps3 but it seemed to be worth while. I played the game for a while unlocking guns and a few bits of armour which was kind of enjoyable if you discount the bugs back then. I finally finished the main storyline and after a while it got duller and duller...
Published 21 months ago by Abbe


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun MMO Shooter, 9 April 2013
By 
Gareth Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
This game seems to have gained some rather unfair comments. Having played this for the last week, there are some bugs that should hopefully have an update to be fixed, but nothing so far in terms of items disappearing etc.

The game play on this is extremely fun and what I like most about it is that missions are still set in the open world. Ie no entering a mission and only being on your own or with the people on your team. This means you end up teaming up with random other players to complete objectives and there are usually a few people in the same area as you. Events called Arkfalls are particularly good. Imagin around 50 online gamers in one area taking down giant bugs and breaking open crashed asteroid thingys and then confronted by a massive hellbug, with all 50 people trying to destroy the same monster. And at the end it ranks all the players that took part based on damage dealt (I came 4th last time, sweet). The weapons are fun, but they do need to sort out the customization a bit. And the storyline so far I've found pretty interesting and I'd really like to know more about the world. Hopefully the tv series will be good too.

So to summarize: If you enjoy sci-fi, shooters and mmo games then buy this. Plain and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defiance !!, 2 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
First of all don't listen to the troll GamesMasterForLife & GamessMasterTillIDie he reviews all games 1-star ! And i encourage everyone who can to report him so he cannot keep giving out these false rubbish reviews .

First impressions :

After installing the game i started playing the tutorial and it felt iffy and really different but as i went on and explored with my fellow ark hunters i realized that i was really enjoying it !

Visuals :

The world looks decent enough its not assassins creed 3 or far cry 3 beautiful ! but it holds it's on as the world is huge and full of content .

Story :

I don't really know much up to now but it's seems quite generic which is nothing to complain about as the Gameplay is what really stands out !

Gameplay :

There are 2 races to choose from human & Delphi both which you can customize with faces , hair etc .
The skill tree is very long and detailed every skill serves a purpose and you can really develop to your own playing style which is awesome !

The game plays as a online only mmo fps but in third person , The shooting is smooth i didn't experience any lag during my play time and all the other players where all very helpful .

In conclusion :

After what iv'e played which is around 5 hours or so i can say i plan to keep playing this game , Its alot of fun ! If your a fan of mmo or shooters you will enjoy this unique experience it reminds me alot of starship troopers which is awesome !

I will be updating this review as i go you keep checking in ! The game also ties in to the TV series which releases April 15th on Syfy and it will impact the game in a bunch of unique ways .

Thanks for reading !

UPDATE : After now playing for about 15 hours with and without friends this game gets much better ans you level up and get new equipment , I have now also played quite a few Arkfalls & i can say that there really fun and hard but the reward is well worth it , I played a major Arkfall which took me about 1 hour to complete and it was very challenging .

I have also encountered some annoying bugs none of which really affect the game all that much but i'm hoping they will be patched asap it still is only the 2nd day .

I will still be updating this review so keep checking in thank you and have a nice day !

UPDATE : As iv'e continued to play the story has evolved but into nothing special as you do each story mission it unlocks 2 or 3 side missions which are always the same like : scan this , protect this , kill this which is a shame as they could have put more effort into these don't get me wrong there still a lot of fun .

Pvp : I have played around a lot with the competitive side to defiance and what i can say is it can be very good at times and very bad at others , The reason why is because as all of the loot in the game is random some players are very over powered and you don't always get into a balanced lobby .

World Map : When you first enter the world you will notice how HUGE the world is , As you progress through the story it only gets bigger and really expands .

Social Aspects : MMO'S normally have a lot of social integration like chat , voice chat , party's , squads all that's here but not many people use it , the world still feels empty & it still feels as if your the only one doing anything they could have added some really unique coop features and concepts as that's whats really lacking here and in most MMO'S .

Me : I have been playing for about 40 hours now doing as many Arkfalls and side missions as possible and i have still not discovered the whole map or finished the game there is a lot of content .

Verdict : you can't really go wrong here , For 30£ everyone will find something in this vast world to have fun with , the loot is good , the world is HUGE , the Gameplay is fun & well the story is at all nothing special , there are still quite a few bugs that need fixing which there have been a confirmed patch for on the 15th of April , the social aspects for an MMO are quite disappointing , as you are going through the world you all these people but you still feel as if its only you making a difference , if you like shooters of MMO'S i still highly suggest you pick this up as there is something for everyone .

Thank you for reading my review of Defiance .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb , be patient .graphics could be better though, 2 April 2013
By 
A. Timmins (dudley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
Short review, if you install this wait for the patches and only play for around 10 minutes you WILL be disapointed ! First impression was , the graphics are passable as is the world etc. however i persevered and must say its a really good game. If you are after a game that last around 6 - 10 hours and looks gorgeous go elsewhere , however if you want a huge world to explore and a world where you can just be driving around and decide to mosey over and help a few guys having trouble with aliens / bandits this will suit you down to the ground. btw to get all the trophies will take a long long time.

After all is said and done, once you acclimatise to the average graphics etc it really is quite engrossing.

Old style shooter great fun - massive world map - nice multiplayer options with plenty dlc to come .

The guy who gave this one star obviously either didnt actually play it or didnt give it a good chance.

Just thought i'd extend the review as i have now played for over 100 hours i am around level 1200 and still really enjoying this game - i still have a lot left to do and am also looking forward to the promised dlc ( 5 packs ) for now - i believe they will be making even more , which will extend the game quite nicely - PS: after playing for so long and enjoying it i have changed my vote to 5 stars regardless of graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defiance, 7 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
I think Defiance is a great game it is endless i have spent sixty plus hours so far killing all kind of mutant's and bugs trying to get new gear too ! the game will keep getting better as they keep updating it too and i think there are dlc packs coming out later so if you like killing bugs and a massive multiplayer game this is right up your street so dont hold back and buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Defiance - the verdict, 1 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
To beggin with the game was good, I bought it for £40 now looking back was a mistke.. it took a while to download onto my ps3 but it seemed to be worth while. I played the game for a while unlocking guns and a few bits of armour which was kind of enjoyable if you discount the bugs back then. I finally finished the main storyline and after a while it got duller and duller and I began to dislike the game for a number of reasons:
1. The game had a tacky feel, like a beta sometimes does. It just wasn't professional like a game that big should be. For example things kept glitching and you'd be speaking to a friend one minute and the next they would g silent and then appear on the other side of the map.
2. The good armour (for an dedicated gamer like myself) was extremely hard to get and meant I had to give up on a number of occasions. And was very expensive for the quality once I tried buying something.
3. Say for example you acquired a very good weapon at level 100, after levelling up very quickly as you do in the game the gun became useless and a waste of time buying from the in-game store.
4. The ark hunting was boring and tiresome, you'd shoot at an alien mother for about an hour and immediately get very bored.
5. The player vs player was, although a good concept, annoying because your 'story mode' character that you'd worked hours to get couldn't be used.
6. Although you could make your own character the choice of appearance and armour tended to be the same and ment you could have a unique look or style as originally thought to be.

I am not normally as harsher about video games as this, I love pretty much all games and have done for a while, but this one really was a let down as it looke to be a really good, ground breaking MMO FPS for the console which it eventually turned out not to be. I don't really recommend you buy other than if you like the TV show or something and I give it a 3.5/10.. Sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game for the price, 4 April 2013
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
Fantastic game lots of fun, i played the beta for 8 hours, think borderlands the MMO with more variation in the quests, good story coop is amazing, ether with 4 of your mates your some random guy that shows up in the same location as you, i recommend the ultimate edition like, i got it for 62 pound of here, and a season pass is worth normally what 15-25 quid alone + you get a bag, a statue of a bug in a really nice looking case and a lot of DLC, hope this helps and see you online if you buy it haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, lacks substance, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
This looked to have everything to make a truly epic game, but unfortunately falls down on key areas. Graphics are very ordinary when you compare to alot of New games of late, can understand why though, due to so many people being online at once and the fact the map is huge. The story lacks any emotion and fails to make you feel anything for the characters, which is disappointing considering they made a TV show along side it. The way you have to level the skills and weapons is a little tedious, especially when you find a good gun, which is very difficult on this game, then to find once youve maxed it out, you cant gain any more xp points with it for your character. Then there is the 'Arkfalls' which should be the highlight of the game, which at first were really fun, but once you do a few you realise they are so easy compared to the missions, and the rewards are feeble. In what could of been an awesome game I was truly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, just not sure on how long content will last, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
SNS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
This game won't outshine other games like WoW or GW2, but it is fun and very simply to play and the Arch Fall attacks can be enjoyable.

Pros

- Graphically the game can be very nice.
- The controls (assuming you use an xbox controller) are spot on.
- The FPS action is perfect.
- Quite an impressive main storyline (but as below the quests are basically generic)
- The game links using "mission episodes" to the current running season on TV.
- A unique but interesting skill tree/system.

Cons

- The quests are basically "go kill this" or "go collect this".
- The difficulty can range from mostly easy, to mind numbingly hard when they throw massive elites at you.
- The use of ammo which can run out and you are completely stuffed.
- Only being able to slot two guns (and when ammo runs out you have to go into the menu to choose another).
- When a season ends on TV, they REMOVE the "mission episodes"!
- Character levels are replaced by a different scaling system which is just seems pointless.
- No real distinction between character classes.
- Using a keyboard to play the game is just BAD, as it is designed for a controller.

The cons aren't game breakers though, and the game is a very enjoyable, fun, easy to pick up and play game which is free-to-play. But PLAY IT WITH AN XBOX CONTROLLER if on PC. The UI is simply designed for a controller.

The other concern is how long the content lasts, as it has no real EndGameContent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
R. Lawrence "Gamer" (Grantham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
I've tried a lot of MMOs before in the past, but this one is the best. I could never get over the fact that an MMOs story consists of you going back and forth doing the exactly same thing but with a different skin (or NPC).

My first MMO was City of Heroes, at the time, my computer could barely play it, but that didn't stop me trying it, I was on the free trial, and stopped playing because it required a Monthly subscription. When I pay for a game I expect that to be the last payment required to play the game. But I was wrong.

Not with Defiance though, it's not only a pretty good TV Program, but it's a pretty amazing MMO. It's a free roaming MMO, but you can work on your own or in a Team.
I had some French players running around with me for about an hour, got asome pretty nice gear after beating a load of Ark Falls (play or watch the program and you'll understand that). This game is great for those that want to pass the time and play a game that is basically linked to the Program.

Get this if you want to try a free 2 play MMO, that stands out from others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars got very boring very quickly, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance (PS3) (Video Game)
too much marketing made me buy this, and apr. 8 hours in, this has become repetitive that i traded it in at my next convenience. there is nothing to write home about in this game, no great graphics, sounds or features that make it stand out, and i have played a truck load of better games. sorry if have put you off, but you may find yourself in the same spot...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Defiance (PS3)
Defiance (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£3.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews