Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zombie vampire unicorn invasion.
I come from Fife and this album is spot on. You can barely move for dwarfs battling wizards.
The instrumentals reek of Caslevania old soundtracks but there are historically accurate lyrics to back this up.
I nearly cried.
I must go now there is a dragon laying seige to my casle.
Published 7 months ago by Marc Gilfillan

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-played, but norhing outstanding. Different subject matter (McTolkein?), but some filler songs
Swords and Sorcery set in the Scots county of Fife. Definitely different! Well-played mid-paced power metal, a few good songs: e.g. "The Unicorn Invasion of Dundee" & "Angus McFife" but the quality frequently sinks to just average. Final song "The Epic Rage of Furious Thunder" (the title says it all) tries and fails to be epic, which was a real...
Published 10 months ago by G. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zombie vampire unicorn invasion., 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife (Audio CD)
I come from Fife and this album is spot on. You can barely move for dwarfs battling wizards.
The instrumentals reek of Caslevania old soundtracks but there are historically accurate lyrics to back this up.
I nearly cried.
I must go now there is a dragon laying seige to my casle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent album, if you like Alestorm and/or power metal in general this is great. It has that thing that Alestorm music has, in that it doesn't take itself too seriously, so it is sort of funny as well as great to listen to, which makes it even more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroic Fantasy Power Metal from the creator of Alestorm, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife (Audio CD)
To any fans of Alestorm out there, remember that first time you played an Alestorm song... that feeling returns when you put in Gloryhammer for the first time! A great album! I do however have one slight problem and that is I feel there wasn't enough Epicness given to some parts in the songs but that doesn't hold it back! Just remember that Gloryhammer are not taking themselves seriously and you will enjoy this album better than any other power metal album for the year! If you loved Alestorm and are hoping for album 4 then Gloryhammer will keep you sated until then and before long you'll be chanting along to the songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it soo much, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife (Audio CD)
This album is just brilliant, and great fun. Full of cheese, great lyrics, instrumental epic, and song called Unicorn Invasion of Dundee is just contribution to this great fun album.

If you love cheesy power metal and would like an album to cheer up dreary days, this is the album for you. =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rule 1: You Have One Goal. Be Epic, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife (Audio CD)
The whole power metal scene has been getting a bit stale over the past few years in my opinion. I just dont enjoy bands like Rhapsody (both of them) or Sonata Arctica and never really got into Iced Earth or other bands like Manowar, although i always liked the idea of power metal i just never found the perfect sound. Gloryhammer has the perfect sound. Alestorm fits into the group of bands just getting stale, their first album being the only one i really enjoyed. Im going to be following Gloryhammer a lot closer than Alestorm from now on and they have definately made it to the top of my list of best power metal bands. They just sound so fresh and epic. One of the reviews ive read said that they follow the 101 Rules of Power Metal published on Metal Storm which is a hilarious read: [...]

The singer also auditioned when Dragonforce were looking for a new vocalist so check that audition out on youtube. Its excellent but im glad he ended up doing Gloryhammer instead. Power metal desperately need them.

The limited edition is a very nice digipack with a nice thick and glossy booklet. Theres a funny map that most might not recognise as scotland (the Kingdom of Fife is a real place and its my duty as a scotsman to listen to all scottish metal) with all the landmarks from the songs thrown in along with some gaelic (Dun Eideann is gaelic for Edinburgh). The standard edition artwork is actually the only thing i dont like about this album so thats the main reason i bought the limited edition. The bonus track is excellent as well but a bit short. I would have liked maybe one or two more but every track on the album is excellent anyway so im not bothered. Its well worth the price.

Anyway, this is probably going to be in my top ten albums of 2013 and the best power metal release of the year and one of the best bands to come out of scotland in a long time. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raise Your Sword!, 16 April 2013
By 
Pure666Metal (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Let's be honest here, if you like your power metal, of the epic fantasy type, then there has not been much to shout about for the last few years.
The goldern era of the late 1990's and early 2000, seems to have disappeared long ago.
Even the likes of Rhapsody/Rhapsody of Fire and Luca Turilli's Rhapsody, who you could always seemily rely on for quality Euro-cheese power metal, have come up short in recent years.

I never could get Alestorm's so called humour, they seem like a bad joke to me. Though I do get Spinal Tap and Bad News, Alestorm went right under my radar and into the abyss!

Which brings us nicely to Gloryhammer, the brain child of, yes Alestorm keyboardist Christopher Bowes!
It seems Bowes has been saving his best material for Gloryhammer, throwing every power metal, dungeons and dragons imagery, fantasy lyrics, cheesy song titles into the mix and coming out with this masterpeice.

Yes I did say materpeice, not a term I use often at all.
Everything here seems to fit together, work perfectly and I even bought the digipak for the bonus track, 'Wizards', and I normally avoid those flimsy cardboard sleeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic power metal, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife (Audio CD)
Loved it!Epic power metal in its finest. Reminds of old Rhapsody. Solid production.
They do not re-invent the genre but they stand far above the descending Edguy and other epic bands who are trying to find 'new' sound.
I believe they will take off in their next albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding First Album, 19 Aug 2013
By 
S. Harvie "scotth_1320" (Rep of Alba) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, I'm a fan of Christopher's other band, the mighty Alestorm, but this offering from Gloryhammer is just stunning. An incredible fantasy orientated Power Metal opus. You MUST buy this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geeks will love it, 24 July 2014
By 
Liam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife (Audio CD)
Gloryhammer has highlighted what fantasy is and have multiplied it by 100 fold. There's some great tracks on this album from the explosive 'Unicorn Invasion of Dundee' to the rather catchy 'Magic Dragon' and to the prog/power finish of 'The Epic Rage of Furious Thunder'.

Indeed by just reading the names of these tracks you can get a 'rough' idea of what you'll be receiving. For geeks only, for people who want to slay dragons rather than self-harm themselves.

For fans of 'Rhapsody of Fire' and 'Dragonforce' -- If you want something less melodic and more heavy maybe try 'Manowar' out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just genius...simples., 10 Jun 2014
By 
D. P. Smith "DonDarthVaderington" (Ledbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife (Audio CD)
Having been listening to the likes of Tristania, Within Temptation, Delain, Serenity etc I was looking for something abit more...epic and along comes Gloryhammer. This album is just brilliant with not a single 'weak' song on the album. The album gets off to a great start with the short but superb 'Anstruther's Dark Phrophecy' and continues with the equally excellent 'The Unicorn Invasion of Dundee' (my personal favourite) and so on. It really is an epic album and rather than just have unrelated songs this has a story which the album follows through. The vocals are superb (Thomas L Winkler) and all the members of Gloryhammer chip in (the videos are also amazing).
I was setting up bunk beds with my eleven year old daughter and by the time we had finished she was singing along as well (hopefully a metal head in the making). I just wish I could have listened to this earlier so I could have seen them live.
Obvioulsy being of the brainchild of Alestorm you kind of know what to expect but this is just miles better (in my opinion) than anything Alestorm have done. The melodies are spot on, along with the riffs, drums and keyboards. If you appreciate Metal, of any sort, then 'Gloryhammer: Tales from the Kingdom of Fife' must sit in your collection. My only problem is with such a superb album as this they have a lot to live up to with their second album however I will be following Gloryhammer with interest and can't wait for more to come from this undoubtedly talented band. So without further ado I must leave now, there is hammer of glory I have to find, along with Angus McFife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife
Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife by Gloryhammer (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews