Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest account
The first chapter of the book opens directly in the middle of a hard arrest and sets the scene for the rest of the book. Before the book goes back to reflect on how (I assume) the author came to be part of the SAS in a very short but candid manner. After that the book jumps into discrete missions that try to explain some of the weapon systems being used and information...
Published 23 months ago by Brian J. Clarke

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
This could have been a great book,however the abysmal spelling and grammar issues completely ruined the experience. It was like reading an essay written by a 12 year old boy about what they did on their summer holiday.
Published 20 months ago by Craig Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Afgan Heat; SAS Operations in Afghanistan., 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
It is a great shame, because the author probably has a good story to tell, but this book is so badly written that try as I might, I couldn't struggle beyond chapter 3. There are numerous spelling mistakes, sentences are transposed or simply muddled up. Why on earth didn't he get someone to proof read it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comments on book, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
I thought this an excellent read as it gave you an insight into the SAS's involvement in Afghanistan in all three books, and it was really interesting. Although I read these books on my kindle and when I was on my breaks @ work, it was one of those books that you couldn't put down & that's why I gave it 5 stars. I'd recommend these books 2 anyone that's interested in this sort of thing. So thank you Steve for showing me what everyone went through in Afghanistan, I salute you, & am proud of all of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decidedly poor. Proof reader wants shooting., 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
The book is so bad that I spent more time trying to get rid of all trace of it from my Kindle system in case anyone stole the device and thought I was really stupid.

The story was not bad as a group of shorts loosely tied together with fine thread (a very knotty thread)

I cant make my mind up if this was voice typed and not checked as the errors (many...oh so many) are not all spelling or grammar but similar sounding words such as "out" instead of "our" or "know" vice "known" etc.

Written by a soldier, I am sure of that, although they are made to do Key Skills in reading etc. nowadays, I know as I am from the clan. I have read all stories in this book somewhere else and written by adults and far better written too.

I am puzzled as there are some good 5 star reviews... God bless family, publishers and the Army Cadet Force for those.

Sack the proof readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SAS at their best, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
As others have remarked, the proof reading left a great deal to be desired,but look past that and you could literally be there with the lads in the 'Stan. Highly dangerous was and is the work the boys do. And you're right there with them. Real action behind enemy lines,with certain death facing them at all times. No gung ho stuff but it demonstrates just what our special forces get up to. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book would of been so much better if it wasn`t for all the bad grammar and spelling mistakes. The author obviously didn`t bother with a proof reader.
He blows his own trumpet far too much and waffles on endlessly about minute detail of various bits of kit.
could of been such a good read with just a bit of effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a real disappointment, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
A poor look into an exclusive world. The stories featured have no real gusto and don't entice you to want to read more. A shambles not worth paying for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
Too many mistakes to be believe able and reads like it was written on the back of bad Internet research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a real look into SAS affairs, 14 May 2013
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
Afghan Heat is a thrilling insight into the art of modern combat in recent times, it gives the reader a real and informative look into the operations that the SAS are involved in. Exciting storytelling sheds some light onto some of the issues that are often overlooked by many people that aren't directly in contact with such affairs, in a way that the common non-military affiliated person can understand. The book really shows you what the elite soldiers of today's high standards are all really about. Definitely a good read if you are a military enthusiast or just someone who wants to know a little more about what really goes on without relying on constant misconstrued media stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story, 3 May 2013
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
I have been obsessed with the SAS since watching a documentary with my dad. I bought this book for him but read it first. It a really good account in my opinion of the experience of being in Afghanistan and I would definitely recommend it. Its one of those that hard to put down because its filled with so much action, its a very believable book. I have much respect for the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of action, really enjoyed, 26 April 2013
This review is from: Afghan Heat: SAS Operations in Afganistan: War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
To be honest read around 30 similar book to this, but somehow this book has catch my attention from the beginning. When you start read it, you have a feeling, you are part of the team, and you join them on day daily base life. I guess its coming from a first hand experience. Chapter by chapter you find how many challenge they have to go across to reach they success, and give a slight hint to the reader what is mean "be part of the SAS". I been in the army for over 10 years, and what i normally pick is the source of the story. In this book i was happy to see, how the true facts and missions been explained without any c..rap. It based on true story, and pure honesty. I really appreciate the effort of the author put put this great book together, as i think we need many more similar books to give peoples real experience. Highly Recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews