Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.41
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2013
I've read this series (3 at the time of writing this) as I've always loved 'Space Opera' and this at least delivers on that score. The series is in a similar style to EE 'Doc' Smith, especially the Skylark series. In general I feel that the author would benefit from collaboration with a good editor. I don't know if he had someone proof-read the stories first, but some glaring typo's and grammatical errors (which very nearly caused me to stop reading the first book) could have been easily avoided.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I have now read books 1 & 2 and i first must say i'm going to continue reading the series too the end. While the story has a solid premise and in most cases, good character development, there are issues. To be able to read and enjoy sci-fi a person needs a healthy imagination but i found the leaps between encountering bigger and badder enemies a little rushed, plus the miraculous discoveries on improved technology was really hard to overcome. I think if the author had spaced these out in to more of a space opera the leaps wouldn't be so hard.

Overall, if you can overcome the above the book is a fun read and a good way to pass time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
white ships. black ships. green ships each subsequent civilization discovered more powerful and dangerous than the last. genetically enhanced superhumans with great power. Royalty being elected? all falling in love with each other almost instantaneously. a whole planet renaming itself because a women innocently helps the hero. Maudlin mushy mawkish sloppy nonsense. and all done before.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
A bit fast in places but looking forward to book 2 and see how the Union plans to deal with the threats to humanity. Sad to see Frey and And I die at end but waiting to see what Ian meant when he said he was still with them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
This book is hard to put down. The suspense is held from the first page to the last. The ending leaves so much unanswered that you need to get the next book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Great Story, BUT absolutely terrible proof reading. Some really basic grammar errors. Could do much better myself. I hope the next book is much better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Really enjoyed this book great pace action and humour. Thrilling from start to finish. Couldn't put it down excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
This is the first sci-fi book l have read in 15 years and it kept me turning the pages for hours. I will be reading the next book in th he serious.

It's well worth the time and cost for this book! Try it!

And enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Excellent, Enthralling, would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
A different attack in writing this story. But as usual a very good, nay, billiant read. Look forward to more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.