Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!
Got this as a birthday present. It is the best drama series the BBC has ever produced. The exclusive episode at the end of series 5 DVD gives me hope but little expectation. Great admirer of the Beeb but nul point for cancelling this!
Published 22 months ago by AMBLING ALP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love this series and I have had to get a ...
disc 1 of season 2 doesn't work as it has no menu, so buyer beware. I love this series and I have had to get a refund on this and will order the dvd set instead.
Published 7 months ago by labyrinth queen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Got this as a birthday present. It is the best drama series the BBC has ever produced. The exclusive episode at the end of series 5 DVD gives me hope but little expectation. Great admirer of the Beeb but nul point for cancelling this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly The Best Thing The BBC Has Ever Done, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Michael May "mikemayuk" (Worksop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
"A vampire, a ghost and a werewolf, all sharing a house," said the continuity announcer. "Predictable, lukewarm comedy relying heavily on slapstick and sight-gags", I thought, so gave it a miss.

What a first-rate idiot.

I can't recommend this highly enough. There are plenty of reasons not to like it - there's gore, it's about the supernatural, it starts off in Bristol - but the scripting is among the best I have ever encountered. These are people you can understand, believe in, love and mourn for, hate, love again and experience the whole gamut of human involvement with.

It's better than Buffy.
It's better than Angel.
It's better than Life on Mars and it's better than Ashes to Ashes.

It's short - just 37 episodes across five series - but the quality of the scripting is top of the line. No corners are ever cut, no inconsistencies allowed to creep in, no unexpected character traits tolerated. This is the story of a real - family? - of non-humans trying to scratch out their simple existences in a too-human world - failing, succeeding, failing again and ultimately ... hell, isn't that every last one of us? That's what makes it so good.

Oh, and it's better than Firefly and Dollhouse. Really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD], 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
one of the best British TV series made! when I was first told about this show I thought 'what a werewolf,ghost and vampire living together that will be a load of rubbish' but I gave it a try and loved it, it's so well written and a fantastic cast buy it you wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beingh Human blu ray box set, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
Kazzabeee (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had to buy this once I heard it had come to an end on BBC3 - shame on you BBC for cutting short such a brilliant show! At least I can watch all my favourite characters in glorious HD on my blu ray player. One of the best programmes ever made by the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars being human, 30 May 2013
Just brilliantly funny. No more words can describe really. Devastated that it has finished. Every character is complex and I was rooting for the werewolf on many occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic !, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Can't understand just how few people seem to have watched the series. No point in providing a plot summary. You couldn't make it up!? But somehow it's almost believable,.... dark, comic and just a great watch. You don't have to be into the whole vampire / werewolf thing to enjoy this either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Become Human, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot rate this show highly enough! From the very human and relatable characters, to the humour that punctuates through the sometimes sombre mood! From beginning to end this has been a show that can make you laugh, cry and hide - sometimes all at the same time! You will be missed but it was one hell of a ride.

I have previously owned the first few series in HD and there is no reason to believe this box set won't maintain the same picture and audio quality. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love this series and I have had to get a ..., 14 Aug. 2014
disc 1 of season 2 doesn't work as it has no menu, so buyer beware. I love this series and I have had to get a refund on this and will order the dvd set instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
Jeanette Ricketts "yeo" (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Can't fault the box set but the fact that the pilot episode is not available is very disappointing, it's almost as if the first episode begins in mid air with Annie telling how they all meet up appears to have been a rushed addition to try and make it make sense, if that makes sense !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it cant be over!!, 13 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot recommended this series highly enough, from the start its been witty, charming, poignant, and a bit scary with dark humour throughout!-The characters became those that you really care about. George, Annie and Mitchell were a brilliant team and a huge miss to the show when they left. However the story of Hal, Alex and Tom deserved to be continued! I also grew to love these characters, and im hoping that with THAT ending that the door is now open if the BBC change their minds and renew this show! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD]
Being Human - Series 1-5 Boxset [DVD] by Daniel O'Hara (DVD - 2013)
£27.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews