Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than taken 2
Now firstly this film has nothing new to add to the Bourne, Taken films.

But saying that the way this film plays out is fantastic and a it is a very good action/thriller film.

Aaron Eckhart is fantastic as the main star in this movie, working in an office for the government, goes to get some papers that he has left behind, with his teenage daughter,...
Published 18 months ago by keith01

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taken template with budget thrills
Set in Belgium, Aaron Eckhart (Battle: Los Angeles) stars as high-tech engineer Ben Logan, who arrives to work one day to find the office he works in vacated & everyone gone. As he delves deeper into the matter, a pair of his work associates try to eliminate him & his estranged daughter Amy (Liana Liberato -Trust) so the pair go on the run. As it turns out, Logan is...
Published 17 months ago by Jules


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Above average thriller, 17 Aug 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
This film is set in Belgium, the European Community's heart of darkness, but the bad guys as usual turn out to be an American Corporation and the CIA.
Aaron Eckhart plays the expatriate who works for a security company testing the efficiency of their systems. One morning he comes in for work and the company has disappeared. With his daughter he travels to the head office in Brussles to find that they deny all knowledge of him or his workplace. By now of course the alarm bells are ringing anmd before you know it a former colleague tries to kill him.
Of course we soon discover that this expatriate is an ex-CIA wet ops operative and it all gets very exciting.
I'm pleased to say that the director avoids the obvious device of a big set piece car chase and goes for a more realistic and gritty storyline in the vein of the Bourne films.
Aaron Eckhart makes a plausible action hero and it all makes for an enjoyable thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Film, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
The price was right, an enjoyable film but not one that I would want to see over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good film, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really well made action film. Aaron Eckhart played a great part. hope to see more such films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about this one!It did not stick out like some other stories., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a film,though rated highly by the press,falls short of expectation. there are more tense thrillers about!This film is entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this one, 30 Jun 2013
By 
M. Dyer "Maureen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
We enjoyed this film, having just watched another film that was mediocre with one big name thrown in we thought we'd made another boob, but it was surprisingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Expatriate, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
Another similar storyline of double cross from the CIA , a daughter who knows nothing of her fathers past. The fathers determination to get answers of who and why and finally retribution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Great But Quite Enjoyable., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing new in the storyline seen it all before in different variations. Like Aaron Eckhart as an actor and although not the greatest film ever made was quite enjoyable and I will watch it again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Expatriate.. 3 and a half stars.., 27 May 2013
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
I've noticed people say this isn't as good as Taken and the Bourne movies, but this didn't have the budget they did for starters. (It's better than Taken 2)
The story is good, the action is good.
I loved that he wasn't a super spy who was practically invincible he was all bloody and beaten, you only saw that at the end of taken and we didn't see it in the Bourne movies really (I love the trilogy but don't include Legacy).
I would advise people to give it a try, don't expect miracles, but just enjoy the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good movie!, 18 May 2013
By 
Mr. Pc Marlow "Sci-fi geek" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
This has been underrated. What a great film - it's gritty and realistically shot. Giving you that element of actually believing it to be very possible. Wonderful film - give it a go! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expatriate [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this and loved it as i like taken and this is not the same as taken as people have been saying this is a different story as this film about a mans life turned upside by those he trusted i wont spoil for those who wish to see it but for me the story and action were great and even my dad enjoyed and he is very hard to please when it to these sorts of films as he likes taken and after watching this he was impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Expatriate [DVD]
The Expatriate [DVD] by Philipp Stölzl (DVD - 2013)
£5.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews