Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars79
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2013
Going for the same realism-bound feel of the Bourne thrillers, The Expatriate does itself few favours, as it's a nice little thriller in its own right but it can't live up to the comparisons.
When Eckhart's 'consultant' finds out that the security firm he's been working for have vanished from their offices, his alarm bells start ringing. Pretty soon he's discovered that the web of confusion and deceit extends far further than he imagined possible, and he's on the run, reluctantly dragging his teenage daughter with him in an attempt to keep them both alive.
The father-daughter dynamic is fresh and interesting in this type of movie, and the relationship is played well by both actors. The escape plot is also diverse enough to throw in some things we haven't seen often. The villains aren't terribly original, but they do make for a challenging foe, and the climax is satisfying and tense.
Enjoyable and worth seeing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
A cross between Bourne and Taken... but not as good as either.

Nice European locations and feel. But a bit too obvious and clunky to be very entertaining or engaging.

I simply did not care what happened to the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Nothing new in the storyline seen it all before in different variations. Like Aaron Eckhart as an actor and although not the greatest film ever made was quite enjoyable and I will watch it again in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
The file is a little slow, but when it gets going it is a reasonable watch, lots of action and a reasonable plot. It is a well known plot, but my wife and I both enjoyed watching it.,...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Another similar storyline of double cross from the CIA , a daughter who knows nothing of her fathers past. The fathers determination to get answers of who and why and finally retribution
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This has been underrated. What a great film - it's gritty and realistically shot. Giving you that element of actually believing it to be very possible. Wonderful film - give it a go! :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
We enjoyed this film, having just watched another film that was mediocre with one big name thrown in we thought we'd made another boob, but it was surprisingly good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
One of my favourite films, great story, Aaron Eckhart is brilliant in the lead and very believable. Wont describe the plot, that would spoil it but worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Decent action movie has a feel of the Taken movies to it, good story line keeps your interest up to the cop out ending worth a go if not too expensive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
A good cast wasted on something that's been done better many times before. If you want a predictable cookie cutter action thriller its fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)