Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Technically accomplished films ever
When you see Bob Hoskins drive into Toon-Town and seamlessly enter a new world of crazed toons and never ending skyscrapers, your hairs will suddenly stand on end. It's a realisation that over 40,000 hand-drawn animation cells, hours and hours of endless acting to imaginary characters, and the back-up of real special effects props have been combined to create one of the...
Published on 9 Dec 2006 by Picard

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing Blu-ray transfer
The film itself is a 5-star, endlessly entertaining, and loving tribute
to the cartoon industry, and the cherished American cartoons-
from Droopy and Mickey Mouse to Woody Woodpecker and Goofy.
The mediocre rating reflects a comparison of the Blu-ray with the
DVD edition:
Who Framed Roger Rabbit (Special Edition) [DVD] [1988]
For the benefit...
Published 11 months ago by Persistent Gardener


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite film ever, 10 May 2005
By A Customer
For as long as i can remember 'who framed rodger rabbit' has been my favourite film! one of the first films i can remember driving my family crazy watching over and over. Although it is an odd mix between animation and comedy it has a hilarious plot and so much going on that all the family can enjoy! really great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roger deserved better!, 25 Mar 2013
By 
R. Jones "rebeld0g" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The movie itself is a keen 5 out of 5, still wonderful and amazing. This review is for the blu ray and quality of the reproduction. The verdict ain't good. Okay, Roger Rabbit is 25 years old, free of any CGI, totally hand-crafted and photographed rather than motion-captured and rendered, and front-heavy on audio. The image transfer is pretty good, with fine details resolving well and generally colours are near-perfect, but the problem is in the dark tones and shadows. They are so distractingly awful that they pull you right out of the movie. At times it is SO bad that it looks like you're watching a photographic negative. This should have been fixed for the blu ray! I compared to the DVD copy and guess what, the DVD was better! Seriously, I feel as though Amblin have fobbed us off a bit here. Boooo. Shame on you - look after this classic movie better please! Fix these problems and try again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 5 Dec 2004
Best animated/live action film ever made! Incidentally, whilst making this film, director Robert Zemeckis was also making Back To The Future.
Think about that next time you go to see a film involving Adam Sandler, Liz Hurley or any of the Wayans brothers. Sadly, i think the glory days of cinema may be behind us. Look at the last 40+ years. The 60's had rock 'n' roll, Woodstock and the sexual revolution, and films such as The Good The Bad & The Ugly. The 70's had the psychedelic fashion explosion, funk, punk and Stax, and people went to see Mean Streets. By the 80's, the music had gone all New Romantic, strip ties were worn with Two-Tone suits, and film fans flocked to see ET, Indiana Jones and Flight Of The Navigator (loved that film as a kid). Into the 90's and the tail end of the rave scene brought with it a new (and somewhat more sinister) drugs revolution which fitted in nicely with the dance music scene, and the emergence of a genre of music that was in no way R'n'B (is Ray Charles back, i used to think), but was merely lazy, formulaeic pop (Memo: Destinys Child is in no way R'n'B in the original sense of the phrase, and they're just the tip of the iceberg). And don't get me started on the 2000's.
So, to summarise this rather heartfelt, and yet meandering, review, my point was that Who Framed Roger Rabbit was made at a time when a film told a story, characters jumped off the screen, when you wanted to go back to the cinema time and again to see the film. WFRR used groundbreaking special effects but, crucially, without these there would have been no film. Unlike today, when it's a case of "how-much-can-we-spend-on-SFX?" (iRobot & LOTR, hang your heads!), back then, time and effort went into making sure that it really did look like Bob Hoskins had a rabbit under his coat. Fantastically imaginative ideas were employed by the crew to make sure that when Roger picked up a cup, it moved as if he really had. This truly was what cinema is all about. Nowadays, entire films (such as Shrek or Finding Nemo) are made on computers. And while i immensely enjoy some of the films Pixar et al have produced, the kid in me still harks back to the days when WFRR?, BTTF, ET, War Games and Indiana Jones entertained us all, and the idea of Will Ferrell getting $10m a movie was, happily, a generation away.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOONS!!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Leigh RybakRajewski (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a milestone in motion picture history, as it is the first attempt at combining animation with live action.
This movie is genius from the casting to the set's.
Be warned, there is a scene that is quite upsetting, as it still upsets me.
But a brilliant movie never the less which everyone will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who Framed Roger Rabbit, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you like animation and cartoons then this one is the movie for you.
A movie for all ages to own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film of the time, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
One of the best films with both love it I can watch it any time now not just at christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant gotta love 80s films., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Orignally released in the 1980s.
A big credit to cartoons everywhere with a mix between toons and real people. Recommended for anyone as I've loved the film for over 8 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ages very well., 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was a great achievement,(and still is) you would believe it was made early 21st century, it really set the benchmark for future films. It is potentially a fun watch for any age group, the story line in my opinion isn't great but makes sense, considering the films about toon characters living in a world among real people. (so its not going to be the most realistic film ever)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a grandchild as a gift., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't as successful as I'd hoped. Product is fine but unlike other DVD's that have been watched over and over, this one, not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not watched it yet but I know we will love it and so will the grandchildren look forward to watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbc78baec)

This product

Who Framed Roger Rabbit [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Who Framed Roger Rabbit [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Bob Hoskins (Blu-ray - 2013)
5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews