Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 August 2007
I put off buying this book for about a year (I waited until the second installment was published to buy them together) as I thought that this publication would add little to my knowledge and understanding of the battle. How wrong I was. By focusing on this one northern section of the battle, Steven Zaloga actually puts the whole battle into much clearer focus than any other account I've read.

The problem with most other accounts on the battle is that Kampfgruppe Peiper and Bastogne get the lions share of the attention. Whilst this account does cover KG Peiper, it puts it with the context of all the other operations by 6th SS Panzer Army.In most accounts, the emphasis is on the collapse of US Army units in the earily days of the assault. Here, we get to understand and apprecaite the success that the US enjoyed against the bulk of the SS Panzer Divisions and why the 5th Panzer Army to the South was so much more successful in its breakthrough.

Quite simily, re-focusing anyway from those well known and well worked elements of the battle has made for an excellent book with something new to say on a familiar subject.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
This is an excellent concise overview. The text is very well researched and attempts to present a balanced view. The ebook edition offers zooming in on pictures, which is great. Unfortunately the fantastic high quality maps are chopped up into parts which make them almost completely useless. If this were corrected, that would be worth a fifth star.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Its an osprey publication. well known for the quality of there publications. full of information. and a good reference if you are interested in military history.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
A well written summary of the Northern part of this battle. Well laid out and informative, I am happy to add this to my collection of WWII history books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Brilliant book to take on a holiday to the area. Good guide to where to go with the history.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
This book is a good source of information when you actually visit the area in the northern part of the Ardennes. The things I particularly liked were the 3D maps, the background information of the commanders and armies and the actual routes of the Battle of the Bulge/Northern shoulder. I certainly recommend it to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
American view of the ardennes offensive much better books out there but for 99 pence one can't complain too much, what I like about osprey titles is the photography and art work of the battle ,the maps are fine but on separate pages because of the kindle format which is annoying .adequate book for a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A very good Osprey book and a very good overview of the Bulge bar Bastogne.

By splitting the focus in two attention can be given to the northern shoulder and here I learned quite a few new things.

The focus of the German attack was in the north with two Panzer armies, the 5 Panzer Army and the 6 Panzer Army. It becomes crystal clear reading the book how hopeless the German cause was, the units, some of fearsome reputation were skeletons of their former selves, fleshed up with green recruits. Little fuel or ammo the attack could only be the dream of a mad man clutching straws.

The action is described down to company level and tells he story of the GI infantry man and Armoured Combat Commands facing off against their enemy.

It was a senseless slaughter as so many others in so many wars.

The story is told in a very direct and accessable manner and is easily among Zaloga's best titles in the series. I found that he clear description and over all view added to my understanding of events. I had even read a bit about the 82nd Airborne before and here to I found the book rather interesting since it puts the main events a little ahead of their involvement and even Monty comes out a little better.

Recommended all the way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Book arrived later than expected delivery. Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Interesting but it's been well covered before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)