Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Especially good for movies away from home
I'm a big fan of XMI's capsule speakers - constant improvement and innovation mean they stay well ahead of similar me-too products and counterfeit copies. It might be an obvious thing tosay but sound quality seems to be genuinely important to the company - there are plenty of other portable speakers where greater emphasis in their design appear to go into looks or...
Published 17 months ago by Richard Hammond

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest quality sound but convenient for portable use
I have to say that the sound quality is not as high as might be expected from the blurb, at least for the kind of music I listen to, namely Renaissance polyphony & Baroque opera. There is that certain 'tinniness' there. As a general rule for portable sound I would prefer to listen to my iPod through a decent set of headphones as the sound quality is superior, but the main...
Published 16 months ago by E. L. Wisty


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Especially good for movies away from home, 2 Jun 2013
By 
Richard Hammond (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm a big fan of XMI's capsule speakers - constant improvement and innovation mean they stay well ahead of similar me-too products and counterfeit copies. It might be an obvious thing tosay but sound quality seems to be genuinely important to the company - there are plenty of other portable speakers where greater emphasis in their design appear to go into looks or packaging. XMI seem capable of producing great looking capsule speakers, packaged and presented nicely but that also sound fantastic.

I was lucky enough to get a set of these stereo mini-capsules as well as one of their bigger stand-alone brothers the X-Mini Uno. It's an interesting comparison: the Uno is a bit heavier and, of course, mono but benefits hugely from it's larger body size and heavier materials. Whereas the set of Duo capsules offer a lovely stereo soundstage and for movies a 'bigger' sound.

In the end, I've found that I'm selecting the Duo speakers for one particular use-case: watching movies on my tablet in hotel rooms. The stereo set up from this very portable pair of speakers really brings life to films watched on small screens. I generally travel with a Microsoft Surface RT, which has a cracking set of built-in stereo speakers but the XMI pair bring a significant upgrade.

The sound is wide, very precisely sound-staged (you can easily place voices or individual instruments and sounds in specific spots between the two pods) and incredibly detailed. Where the sound is less impressive is in bass and lower mid-range. I don't find the sound tinny but that welcome bass punch isn't present. Musically, I much prefer the Uno instead which while still not hammering bass delivers a more rounded and full sound.

It's nice to have the options though.

Finally: the retail package is nice and the included extras in the shape of a protective pouch and multi-purpose cable are very welcome. The speakers themselves are beautifully made in what feel like premium materials. I like the finishing touch of a little sticker in the box too. It's the sort of detail that tells you a lot about how XMI go about things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic sound & market leading sound quality., 25 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. G. W. C. Caines (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XMI X-Mini Max Duo Portable Mini Speakers for iPhone/iPad/iPod/MP3 Player/Laptop - Red (Electronics)
What a sound from these little speakers!! I have had small speakers before. I thought it was time I got some more, I splashed out a little bit more for the extra quality and boy I am glad I did! The sound quality is really there! Great drive from low down to the highest pitch for their size.

Don't get me wrong I have had better sound from larger compound speakers that cost twice as much and have a bigger base response but from considering the size of them they are little power houses!

I bought an extra pair (for work) and buddy jacked them up and WOW what sound!!

You won't be disappointed. Buy right, buy once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic as always, 21 May 2013
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Several years ago I spotted a large number of positive reviews on the original X-mini speakers here on amazon. They had a staggering number of 5 star reviews and page after page of glowing comments. As a man who likes his gadgets, I immediately bought one and, despite such high expectations, was highly impressed by the overall design and sound quality. The day after, I bought another one.

Then, last year.. after several years of service, I had them stolen.

Finally I replaced them with these new X-mini Max and once again I was impressed straight out of the box. Slightly bigger, with a reliable chunkiness to them, they look and feel even better than the originals. Magnetised, so the two conveniently stick together, they fit nicely into the included carrier bag (a slight, but welcome inclusion over the old ones). The cable fits snugly and tightly into the bottom of the device and underpins their overal design quality. They just feel like a quality product.

Then, to the sound. Louder and fuller than the originals, these pack a surprising punch for their size. It's one of those things you need to hear for yourself.. they just put a smile on your face. who would have thought such a small, sleek, cheap speaker could sound so good. Okay, no they won't replace your home cinema system or tower speakers, but as a portable convenience they excel quite considerably. The battery life is long, making these the perfect companion for camping or even just connecting to your laptop and moving around the house.

My only criticisms with this iteration are the lack of a volume switch on the device (far from essential, but a noticeable loss) and the change in charger connection from the original. Maybe there was a functional reason that they changed these two things, but they are the only thing I could possibly pick fault with. In every other way they are perfect.

A must have gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mini speakers - such a nifty design, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm building up a bit of a portfolio of portable speakers but I've got a real soft spot for the X minis which have been my travelling companions for years now as they are so compact and make watching a film on your laptop in a hotel room a far more enjoyable experience. I also like being able to listen to music without always using my earphone so they've been great for that too.

Pros

- As always great design on these with magnets to keep them together for travel and storage
- Each unit has its own stowaway cable and another cable to link them for stereo effect which is
- Super compact and portable with travel pouch provided
- Stereo effect is good for watching films on laptop
- Holds charge well

Cons

- Sound is a little tinny but an improvement over the last version I have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little speakers., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sound quality is good. Very compact and perfect for whilst out. I brought mine so that I could watch movies on my iPad with my partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A definite worth upgrade from my previous x mini. It provides stereo sound with much clearer mids at high volumes. Incredibly loud .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Little Travel Speakers, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buy them immediately!
Im the type of person that reads a million reviews before taking the plunge and buying a product.
Well, with these little bad boys, there is no need, You truly wont be disappointed.
They say that big is beautiful but in this case, small is perfectly formed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good speaker but no better than many, 21 July 2013
By 
Archbold Jake "Archie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Had this been on the market 2 years ago, most reviews would, if not rapturous, been very complimentary about this product.

Only one speaker was received for review not the two mentioned) but ultimately this did not prevent a proper review being undertaken.

To cut to the chase, and dong a blind test, I asked 2 people to let me know which individual mini-speakers gave the best sound using an mp3 player, an mp4 player and a laptop PC. Neither person expressed any preference, suggesting that

(a) second rate sound emanating from a laptop or other players is never likely to be improved substantially by the use of better speakers of this type

(b) the quality of speakers has now improved generally to the point where one is unlikely to be substantially than another

In any event, pure performance aside, the use of the speakers is largely a matter of taste as to the use of the knobs/connections, charging etc. The instructions were very good and easy to understand and the product looked attractive.

If you are in the market for mini-speakers, you should look at these very closely as you will not be disappointed with performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good thing in a small package!, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These speakers are adorably tiny, measuring only around 5cm tall when they're not expanded, and their rounded shape along with the metallic tint to the plastic makes them look great. But they're not just cute novelty items like a lot of mini speakers; these ones emit a seriously impressive sound.

You can use the speakers either individually for a mono output or together for stereo. If you only want to use one then you can connect a single speaker to your ipod/laptop/phone/etc using just the tiny wire that folds into the base of each speaker, so it's simple and there's no excess cable. One speaker gives a great sound by itself, with music sounding clear and with a reasonable amount of bass. Using both speakers together requires the longer cable which connects the two speakers and then connects them to the device; the length of the cable allows you to place the speakers almost a metre away from each other, but if you want the speakers near each other then you have to put up with the rather long cable muddled around them (the cable also includes the USB for charging, so it's kind of unattractive, but it's not a huge problem). The combined sound of the speakers is excellent, and could easily fill a medium sized room, or a decent sized space outside. The stereo effect is something that most portable speakers don't have and it makes a real difference. The bass is very good, and acoustic or piano tracks sound really lovely too. I don't think you can have many complaints about the sound, as for speakers this size in this price range you couldn't expect anything better.

The speakers come with their own travel bag, and they have rechargable batteries which can be charged using either your laptop/computer via the USB cable (provided) or your standard electrical socket using a USB adaptor plug (not provided, but available very cheaply). The accompanying leaflet professes that the batteries will provide up to 18 hours playback time, though I haven't tested that out myself!

I'd recommend these speakers if you want something that actually gives a decent, non-tinny sound and is both good-looking and portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Uno, but cheaper, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've tried many of these little mini speakers - most of them produce a reasonable sound considering their small sizes. Often they are of a generic design, made in China and renamed for the European market; most of the time they are made as cheaply as possible and last only a short time before faults develop.

This little pair of speakers is great - they feel solid and heavy for their size, and the improved sound produced reflects this. They each have a rechargeable battery inside, which lasts about 3 hours when played loudly - and they are surprisingly loud.

You can improve the power and quality of the speakers by using them in conjunction with a portable amplifier like the FiiO E7, or simply connect further speakers in a short of daisy chain.

The only reservation I have a not them is the relative profusion of cables - a rather long one with an integrated volume control extends from the headphone socket before splitting into two and leading to each of the speakers, thus achieving stereo sound. I've got used to bluetooth speakers that have no wires at all, and it feels rather irritating having it lying around.

Things aren't too bad though, because you can use each one of these separately - each has a short headphone lead that stores in the base of the speaker.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews